big orange

Bedok Central

Toking about air con, does anyone heard about this company nature cool?

Had anyone engage them before? Please PM me if you all have any dealing with them. :deal:

I was planning to buy a ME System 3 non inverter. :notti:

Anyone also looking for non-inventer aircon? :dunno:

For your info, please choose a R410A Air-con Refrigerant. Heard from some shops is that R22 is going to be obsolute. So next time if spoilt very hard to service. :unsure:

Was looking for good IDs thru the web & accidentally came across this forum...Im a proud owner of a unit in 220B...Gotten my keys 2 mths ago...anyone got any gd ID to recommend?thks alot in advance :yamseng:

Actually depends on your intention?

After going through the ID packages, I kind of regrad certain things. For example, in the begining I think most people want to put $x dollars and have a dream home of our own. You want this and that and so on. However, practicality sinks in along the way and I would have preferred a minimal ID and then do more custom work.

If you want good ID as in terms of design, layout, space planning, color matching etc I encountered one good one.

If you want 'trustworthy' ID in terms of ISO standard, workmanship, no fuzz etc, my current ID (can come see my place when half done, started yesterday)

So what is your expectations? Or got no ideas at all what you want? (Like what we gone through B-)

Even after a long & overdrawn systematic research, evaluation, shortlisting & selection process, the HR I selected is still far from excellent. Let this renovation process be over!!!

Edited by DSA

Toking about air con, does anyone heard about this company nature cool?

Had anyone engage them before? Please PM me if you all have any dealing with them. :deal:

My HR's air-con supplier is formerly from Nature Cool. And he uses Armaflex insulation.

Anyone also looking for non-inventer aircon? :dunno:
Me! I'm selecting Toshiba System 3 RAS-3M20S2AX + 3 x RAS-M10SKPX. RAS-3M20S2AX has the highest COP after LG, Daikin according to NEA's Database of Registered Goods. And the height of the compressor is less than the height of the air-con window! So Toshiba has surpassed all my criteria except one. It uses R22 refrigerant gas.

For your info, please choose a R410A Air-con Refrigerant. Heard from some shops is that R22 is going to be obsolute. So next time if spoilt very hard to service. :unsure:
Refrigerant 410A was developed to replace refrigerant 22 because R-22 is being phased out due to its ozone depletion potential. R-410A has no ozone depletion potential but does have a higher global warming potential. However, according to experts, the global warming potential using R-410A should be lower overall because of its higher efficiency, enabling reduced power plant emissions.

Air conditioning manufacturers will no longer be allowed to sell R22 equipment as of January 1, 2010. From 2010 only recycled or saved stocks of R22 can be used. It will no longer be manufactured. In the aftermarket service business, the allocation rights for producers who manufacture R22 will be cut each year making the remaining R22 supply potentially smaller than the service demand for the product. This could make R22 scarce in the future, and drive prices to consumers higher. This is one of the cost concerns to home owners who adopt air-con systems which circulates R22 in their copper pipes.

I only know of Mitsubishi Electric uses R410A in their non-inverter air-con system. Because it uses hard alkyl benzene (HAB) oil & specially developed high-efficiency oil separator & optimum distribution of heat exchangers to prevent oil stagnation.

Edited by DSA

Was looking for good IDs thru the web & accidentally came across this forum...Im a proud owner of a unit in 220B...Gotten my keys 2 mths ago...anyone got any gd ID to recommend?thks alot in advance :yamseng:

Hi 47th! Welcome to Linear Green community. I have added your nick to the family tree in the 1st post of this thread. Enjoy your stay and knows your neighbor! haha... :)

Feel happy for all of you! ...

Edited by big orange

Wow Spidey,

U so fast got yr id liao.. and tiles almost done.. fast sia.. that time u still searching for IDs(2 weeks ago?).. veri efficient.. haha

Enjoy yr reno.. :yamseng:

Thanks yoko! reason being fast is that i need to move in by 3Aug even if reno is not completed yet (ie: kitchen cabinet and wardrobe). My lease with my current flat will expire 4Aug. My ID assured me that it will be in a move in condition.

Hi Spidey,

Can I ask roughly what time you will be at your house on Sunday?

Perhaps I can go take a look tiles... kee

Haha, tot I may miss out any info or lobangs... therefore I went to read all 34pages...

Have you manage to source for ID?

Probably after lunch, PM me your contact so I can let you know the timing. My ID said that the floor (tiles) are now covered with papers to protect it from people walking and renovation works. So I am not sure if I am able to show it. Anyway, my ID was really good. They even have an offer of free hood and hob (Hobz brand) if your reno cost is $20K, free sys 3 aircon for $30K. PM me if you're interested.

Thanks yoko! reason being fast is that i need to move in by 3Aug even if reno is not completed yet (ie: kitchen cabinet and wardrobe). My lease with my current flat will expire 4Aug.

ic.. kinda of rush.. but wif a gd id i think everything will be in safe hand.. :notti:

btw.. just went to BSC to report more fault(notice there is a metal growth under one of my bedroom door...maybe u guys can check it out..).. the lady told me that they had extended the date on h/o and t/o to HDB to Nxt year Jan 2009.. so no worries for those haven got their keys.. :)

For those who love watching reality singing talent competitions, Bedok have its very own Bedok Superstar 2008.

A talent competition targeted at youths aged 15 to 40 years old, in search of the next big singing sensation or superstar in Bedok Constituency! This July, there will be something for everyone for residents of Bedok GRC & Joo Chiat SMC. At Bedok Superstar, residents can look forward to an evening of great fun and camaraderie with friends and family. Besides soaking up the exciting atmosphere of talented contestants crooning their best songs on stage, residents can also look forward to a carnival featuring various ethnic food, game stalls and kiddy rides, as well as a lucky draw with attractive prizes to be won!

Finals: 26 July 5pm to 10pm @ Blk 15, Bedok Neighbourhood Park, across New Upper Changi Road from Linear Green Blk 221B.

bedokneighbourhoodparkne9.jpg

I just realised that we never talked food in this thread! Like where to find nice food around Linear Green.

ASTONS EXPRESS

Bedok North St 1 Blk 205 #01-357 Stall 2

(Kopitiam Coffeeshop)

Tel: 6443 8058

1100-2200hrs

BOTAK JONES

Blk 412 Bedok North Ave 2

Singapore 460412

Phone / Fax: 62439225

Everyday 11:30 am till 10:00 pm (last orders)

Brewski Jones 11:30 am till 10:00 pm

il Piccolo (Bedok North)

霖霖素食煮炒

华记鱿鱼

Blk 16 Bedok South Road #01-193

5.30pm – 8pm (OFF on Monday)

日式小厨

Blk 16 Bedok South Road #01-195

Hill Street Char Kway Teow

Block 16 Bedok South Road #01-187

OFF on Monday

eBlackboard

Blk 25 Bedok South Road

南南家咖哩

Blk 204 Bedok North, 11am – 9.30pm

Angie The Choice (Bedok)

Blk 204, Bedok North Street 1 #01-427

Munchy Donut (Bedok Central)

Blk 208, New Upper Changi Road #01-663

Chin Lee Restaurant 深利美食馆

Blk 115 Bedok North Road #01-285

Hon Ni Kitchen

Blk 216 Bedok North Street 1 Market And Food Centre (closed for upgrading till 31 Dec 2008)

#01-76

肉脞面

Blk 511 Bedok North Street 3 #01-10

5pm – 1am

华记鱿鱼

Blk 16 Bedok South Road #01-193

5.30pm – 8pm (OFF on Monday)

Hideout Cafe

Block 84 Bedok North Street 4

#01-45

And of course Blk 85 for supper!!!

Edited by DSA

Hi guys, just wanna check with you all. I'm kinda tussled between hiring an ID or a contractor coz we really intend to keep our renovations simple, no need for fancy dandy stuff.

If that's the case, would a contractor probably be better? And if so, anyone has any recommendations for good contractors? Coz from what I've been researching here, it's mostly ID companies, unless I've not been checking correctly.

my aircon contractor mentioned that till now only ME has come out with procedure to change from R22 to R410A. I took it with a pinch of salt. As the deadline draws closer, surely the other brands will also start to come out with similar procedures. Even not, the aircon service pple will know of a way, either proper or non-proper.

Was thinking of buying a tank of R22 and keep it in storeroom as backup :notti:

Hi guys, just wanna check with you all. I'm kinda tussled between hiring an ID or a contractor coz we really intend to keep our renovations simple, no need for fancy dandy stuff.
cacky, what renovation works do u intend to specify? My list of renovation works is bare minimal - no false ceilings, no cornices, no downlights, no WIW, no custom build wardrobe or shoe cabinets. Even without these made it into a 4 full page list. Well, perhaps it's too da.rn detailed - Many IDs didn't revert. Not sure which put them off: the sheer amount of devil in the details I specified or the minimal amount of renovation works required which directly impact the potential amount of commission they can earn. Probably the latter I reckon.

If that's the case, would a contractor probably be better? And if so, anyone has any recommendations for good contractors? Coz from what I've been researching here, it's mostly ID companies, unless I've not been checking correctly.
The single biggest difference between ID firms & RC is the design element, followed by the incremental cost. But some ids are able to provide quotations lower than contractors. Even many id firms started out as renovation contractors.

Therefore the ID firm must be able to:-

1. Create ***** concepts & corresponding theme which delights the client for your flat.
  2. Provide space planning & the corresponding furniture layout plan
  3. Present realistic full colour perspective drawings on all carpentry works, which the client can use to compare with the final product
  4. provide advice on the selection of lights, furniture & accessories.
If u don't need these services, then you can consider opting for a vastly experienced RC. For those who want their house to look good, go for an ID but make sure it is one who can provide design concepts & themes based on your preferences which must be communicated to the ID - Design first, reasonable price later. Do not go on price alone. I don't think anyone wanting to buy designer goods based their buying decision on price alone. Then again I am not equating interior design as designer goods, unlike it is designed by Philippe Starck. Regardless whether you engage ID or RC, your house only looks as good as the person providing the lowest level of workmanship in the entire renovation value delivery chain. Thus the ability of the ID/RC to manage & quality control the output of the ground workers is very important. Edited by DSA

I just realised that we never talked food in this thread! Like where to find nice food around Linear Green.

Based on my own taste buds, to add on to the list

Bedok North Blk 416

Jinlong Seafood

Bedok Central

Alisan chai peng

Hollywood ice kachang

Bedok North Blk 511

De gua Mee sua & Steam fish store

DSA: Whoa ... thanks ... that's very good advice there i must say. I'll think through it with my hubby. I mean, a part of me wants to keep things basic but yet I am not sure how good the quality of RCs are to totally pass to them and get them to churn out something i want. And at this point in time, I don't have any good recommendations for RCs yet, so I am hesitant.

Do you people have a joint account with your other half for those "house" charges such as service and conservancy charges (SC/CC)?

I already have 4 bank acc. my wife also..

Is it too many to maintain?

Which bank better for joint?

Also, for monthly reoccurring charges, is it only

1. Telephone bill

2. Electrical & water bill

3. SC & CC?

Any others?

Edited by big orange

IDs can only express their creativity & design concepts when they are given the appropriate space & adequate budget. IDs can also do what RCs do but few RCs can do what ID does. If you can find an experienced ID who can provide all the renovation works you need within your budget and accepts your project, go for an ID. At the end of the day, whether the HR is an ID or a RC, they are still in sales: ID's earnings are based on commission while RC's profit is the difference of your payments and their costs from their subcontractors, unless one go for pure ID firms such as box.id.