big orange

Bedok Central

Hi everyone,

I am at BLK 220A add me to the family tree :D

what your view is Mine is 97m^2 (94m^2 + 3m^2 baywindows area)

Is $3K - $5K for flooring ok?

any idea the difference for tiles

- homogenous

- ceramic

is there such thing as homogenous ceramic?

hi lovelee, i made my selection on da 23 apr..

hi lazurite, da timeframe is abt 1.5mths.. kinda fast which i din expect..

u can always go to myhdbpage to chk if your HLE has been approved..

once approve, u will receive your ltr within da nex 3-5 days..

aniwae, hope u are in time :)

Thanks thanks Mocchi for the response!

I've actually booked the unit with a valid HLE (kiasu rite?)

So I gather that the ltr should be at my doorstep pretty soon :notti:

Speaking of loan, I'm comtemplating 90% loan over 30 years. (got badly wiped by the stock market :curse: )

No sure if that's the "in" thing these days? Anyone care to share your thoughts?

lazurite: What I heard from my friends is that even if you were to take a 30 years loan, if somewhere down the road, you 'strike it rich', or feel that you're more financially stable to pay off more per instalment and decide that you want to pay off in cash and shorten the loan period, it's still possible. And HDB actually will pro-rate the interest for you. So actually, even if you take a 30 years loan, there's always the option of shortening.

But I'm not sure for vice versa if there's a penalty. Do call up HDB loan department to double-check with them on this ruling as I've only heard from a friend. Not too sure if it's true.

But I think if it's done in such a way, no harm taking the 30 years loan first. My advice is always this, be comfortable with your instalment. Don't let yourself be the slave of the home loan.

I know undeniably, it's tough coz we still have to pay instalments every month. But imagine if you are paying off more than you can chew every month, you find yourself having to stick on to your job even if it means that it sucks big time or that it's unbearable. And when retrenchment comes, you worry until you lose sleep.

So make sure you have it all thought through that you're totally comfortable. That's how I feel.

Speaking of loan, I'm comtemplating 90% loan over 30 years. (got badly wiped by the stock market :curse: )

No sure if that's the "in" thing these days? Anyone care to share your thoughts?

I'm taking 90% loan too, how much do u have to pay for every mth?

Edited by lovelee

I'm taking 90% loan too, how much do u have to pay for every mth?

With 90% loan, i've done a simple projection with the calculator on HDB website and the sum comes up to about $1.5k.

And this sum will be matched almost to my monthly contribution to CPF, very tight. Plus renovation....

Seems like I'm going to be a slave very soon......very bad feeling having a loan on the shoulder :(

cacky, I'm also looking into mortgage insurance in case something goes wrong instead of striking rich.

With all these constraints, I have started to moonlight recently.

Still not sure this is the right thing to do as it is very uncomfortable to get into this situation.

It will be good if the monthly house repayment do not need to top up cash.

It will even be better if the monthly repayment can be settled by 1 person cpf.

Talking about early capital repayment, the current unit im buying. Agent tell me negative sale including imputed interest, although i payin COV. Im wondering if he sell off earlier then he no need to pay the additional interest mah.

Need to check with you guys..say i loan 4 30years for tis unit (say 300k loan + interest $100k), after 10 years i selling it off, how does HDB calculate it ah.

With 90% loan, i've done a simple projection with the calculator on HDB website and the sum comes up to about $1.5k.

And this sum will be matched almost to my monthly contribution to CPF, very tight. Plus renovation....

Seems like I'm going to be a slave very soon......very bad feeling having a loan on the shoulder :(

cacky, I'm also looking into mortgage insurance in case something goes wrong instead of striking rich.

With all these constraints, I have started to moonlight recently.

Still not sure this is the right thing to do as it is very uncomfortable to get into this situation.

hi lazurite,

i can understand ur situation.me gg for 90% loan too and maybe moonlighting as well to cover up the reno expenses..plus dying with student loans.

hw come ur mthly installment is 1,5k? issit you bought the 5rm?

lazurite: I totally understand how you feel. With housing loan and renovations will take up another sum of money. Even more so for us as we're holding our customary end of this year. It's like all coming at one shot. In times like this, you start wondering how the rest of the Singaporeans cope??? I mean, not everyone gets to bring home a 5 to 6k salary back per mth (if both combined still possible) but not everyone gets to have that kinda highly paid job.

And then for those who opt to buy resale gotta top up a lot of cash for COV, you'd wonder where they find this kinda money? I'm one of those kids who ever since I started working, every month when I have leftover money, I'd give it to my parents and hardly any savings for myself, which is sad. The good thing is, my hubby can save very well. And I am ever grateful for that. That being said, the whole thing is gonna take a large chunk of our savings. And then after all this, you'll wonder ... where got money to have kids???

Baby bonus is not gonna go a long way. That's why in Singapore, people are never cash rich, merely asset rich. That being said, most of the assets belong to the banks anyway!!!

666: I agree with you on your thinking about monthly housing loan not needing to top up with cash and also if monthly repayment can be settled with 1 person's CPF. But that however, is the ideal situation. In today's situation, whereby a case of flat demands exceed supply, when you actually have applied for a flat and have one ready on your hands, it's hard to give it up. Even more so one that can get the keys so soon. My hubby and I took on this flat despite all odds (low floor, expensive etc) becoz we know what we want and that is a roof over our head fast. We cannot foresee ourselves living with our parents even after we have kids.

I believe those of us who have actually applied for Bedok Central have thought it really thoroughly coz the price of the flat sure don't come cheap. And we just do the best we can to get by. Guess it all boils down to priorities in your life, what is important? Quality of life? Have a roof for the kids? etc

To Everyone: Anyone knows ... once we get the keys, will HDB impose a certain period of time which we will have to start renovating? Or can we leave it vacant until we're comfortable with starting?

Yes agreed with you. Ideal situation..

Like for my resale unit, me & my wife paying 50-50 each month thru our cpf. payin ard 650-700 per mth each. Wiping out nearly 3/4 of our cpf.

Im as worried as u guys too..say one of us lost our job or worse..both..then cialat liao.

To Everyone: Anyone knows ... once we get the keys, will HDB impose a certain period of time which we will have to start renovating? Or can we leave it vacant until we're comfortable with starting?
For my case which is SERS, the grace period given is 4 calendar months from the date of keys taking. You can obtain the grace period for your unit direct from HDB tel: 1800-8663066

Found more info on home renovation by

LAYOUT_R1_C1.GIF: The 8 Commandments and Renovation Pointers Edited by DSA

For my case which is SERS, the grace period given is 4 calendar months from the date of keys taking. You can obtain the grace period for your unit direct from HDB tel: 1800-8663066

Thanks DSA. Just to clarify on one more point. 4 months meaning any time within this 4 months you gotta start renovating, but does it mean you need to complete renovation within these 4 months???

what your view is Mine is 97m^2 (94m^2 + 3m^2 baywindows area)
My unit is 97 m² as well. Do not like that bay window ledge area at all; it is cumbersome against design & decor.

What's worst is that it costs extra $1000 per m² and more to render it useful such as laying a panel on it to function as a desktop.

Is $3K - $5K for flooring ok?
You can refer to the quotation posted here.

3.00 MASONRY & FLOORING WORKS

3.01 Supply & lay 600mm X 600mm China polished homogeneous floor tiles ****/dining hall & household shelter c/w Teakwood timber skirting $ 1 ,950.00

3.02 Supply & lay laminate flooring at 3 nos bedrooms c/w Teakwood timber skirting (Supreme, cement screeding will be done by HDB contractor) $ 2 ,385.00

any idea the difference for tiles

- homogenous

- ceramic

is there such thing as homogenous ceramic?

Ceramic tiles

Porcelain Tiles FAQs

Homogeneous / Porcelain

Porcelain tile or Ceramic Tile

Edited by DSA

Thanks DSA. Just to clarify on one more point. 4 months meaning any time within this 4 months you gotta start renovating, but does it mean you need to complete renovation within these 4 months???
You're most welcomed, cacky! :good:

SERS flats owners are required to surrender their SERS flats within 4 months from the date of keys taking of the new replacement flat.

The 4 months is for renovating the new replacement flat, vacate the SERS flat & surrender the SERS flat to the Government. Mighty short if u ask me.

The grace period duration is likely to be different for 1st time flat buyers. Perhaps there is no date line at all for you as you are not required to surrender any flat to HDB! Come to think of it the latter is strongly likely to be the fact.

Thus I strongly advise you call HDB's Sales Hotline: 1800 8663066 or email them since you are overseas I read.

Edited by DSA

Okie doke DSA! Thanks for the info. We'll most likely check with HDB once we collect the keys. Now haven't even received letter to sign lease agreement. Just being kiasu lah. :P