sophia 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 Considering a wine chiller....anyone has one? recommendation? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 Depends on how hard core you are. If you are the occasional drinker than a small 15 bottles one will do. Think cost around $100+. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sophia 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 Depends on how hard core you are. If you are the occasional drinker than a small 15 bottles one will do. Think cost around $100+. We are thinking of one that can hold 24 bottles. Cost about $400. Any recommendations? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 EF? my family has been using it for 2 years now still ok but not sure whats the electricity consumption Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahjane 2 Report post Posted June 8, 2008 may i ask if i did not have a wine chiller, can i keep the bottles in cool cabinet? the bottles should be lie down or stand up?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted June 8, 2008 Wine are best stored in a dry, dark and cool place. I used to put them under my bed! If your bottle is corked, then you should store them lying down to keep the cork moist. If the cork becomes dry, it will allow air to go into the bottle and spoil the wine. But if your bottle has a plastic cork or screwcap, then dun need lah. Can store it any way that is convenient for you... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahjane 2 Report post Posted June 9, 2008 Wine are best stored in a dry, dark and cool place. I used to put them under my bed! If your bottle is corked, then you should store them lying down to keep the cork moist. If the cork becomes dry, it will allow air to go into the bottle and spoil the wine. But if your bottle has a plastic cork or screwcap, then dun need lah. Can store it any way that is convenient for you... thanks thanks, i will go back to check whether they plastic cork or wooden chip cork. What is the purpose of wine chiller...the wine will be chill and ready to drink anytime i wan?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mscorby 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2008 ahjane, wine chiller besides serving the purpose of chilling your wine so that it's ready to drink anytime also serves a much more important function of storing and protecting your wines properly so that they reach their full potential. proper wine storage requires that the wine be kept at around 10 degrees celsius with minimal fluctuations in temperature, at humudity levels of about 70% or higher, in dark areas, as well as areas that is free of vibration. All these conditions serve to allow your wines to mature properly and to ensure no degradation of the quality. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wuga98 0 Report post Posted July 3, 2008 do you know who carries the brand "eurocave" in SG? crystal? Thanks ahjane, wine chiller besides serving the purpose of chilling your wine so that it's ready to drink anytime also serves a much more important function of storing and protecting your wines properly so that they reach their full potential. proper wine storage requires that the wine be kept at around 10 degrees celsius with minimal fluctuations in temperature, at humudity levels of about 70% or higher, in dark areas, as well as areas that is free of vibration. All these conditions serve to allow your wines to mature properly and to ensure no degradation of the quality. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahjane 2 Report post Posted July 22, 2008 recently at harvey norman, i saw a small wine chiller cabinet which can hold 10 bottles. only left display set selling at about $159 or less. Cant remember the brand. Cabinet is quite light. still consider cos it is a display set. but i susposed it would be a used display set as compared to tv which is played in the shop. maybe hor maybe hor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ogre 0 Report post Posted July 24, 2008 hi all, i am looking for a wine chiller also. initially was looking at the dual temperature type cos can store white and red wine together. but most dual temperature one is very big. do not want a too big one. so was thinking of buying a normal one for red wine. white wine can store in the fridge. i intended to customise my kitchen cabinet to place my wine chiller just below the kitchen top. sort of like flush with the kitchen bottom cabinet. any good recommendation for such chiller? any idea what should i look out for and dimension. thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wuga98 0 Report post Posted July 24, 2008 (edited) I have 2 chillers, the bigger one in the Home shelter, and the smaller one below my bar counter top, the last time i measure mine, it's something like ~H850mm. Do select the model first and then get the dimensions for customization. some popular brand, europace, kadeka, EF .... etc If you want dual temp, that is going to cost you and the other thing is that if the capacity is small, it does not make sense to have 2 temp. One tip is to place your white on the lowest shelf of your chiller, cold air settles, thus it will be colder on your lower shelves. Hope this helps. hi all, i am looking for a wine chiller also. initially was looking at the dual temperature type cos can store white and red wine together. but most dual temperature one is very big. do not want a too big one. so was thinking of buying a normal one for red wine. white wine can store in the fridge. i intended to customise my kitchen cabinet to place my wine chiller just below the kitchen top. sort of like flush with the kitchen bottom cabinet. any good recommendation for such chiller? any idea what should i look out for and dimension. thanks. Edited July 24, 2008 by wuga98 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ogre 0 Report post Posted July 24, 2008 hi wuga08, thank you for the information. as for the chiller below the counter top. is there any consideration we need to take? like is there going to be a problem that the door of the chiller won't be able to open once fitted in? cos i'm thinking that the cabinet door might block the chiller door and prevent it from open out fully. care to share what make and brand is your chiller you are current using? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wuga98 0 Report post Posted July 24, 2008 (edited) sorry, i may have mistaken how you want to place your chiller, Mine is not inside the cabinet. I actually left an empty space under the corian top and push in the chiller, like a fridge. I would suggest you do not put this inside a cabinet as it can get quite hot, chiller is really a small fridge something to consider when you look for chillers; 1. anti UV glass door 2. layered glass for anti condensation 3. odour filters 4. Humidity boxes rule of thumb, #1 is the most important. layer glass, depends on individual, if you don't like condensation on the glass, you may want layered glass. The rest, good to have. Some people is also particular about the shelves design and angle, again it depends on what types of wine you are keeping. If you are the new world lover, where they use more metal cap, then this is not important at all. If you have a lot of wine in corks and worried about it drying up, then...you may want to watch the slope of the shelves. Again, many of these do not kill the wine, sometimes may just create some inconvenience. hi wuga08, thank you for the information. as for the chiller below the counter top. is there any consideration we need to take? like is there going to be a problem that the door of the chiller won't be able to open once fitted in? cos i'm thinking that the cabinet door might block the chiller door and prevent it from open out fully. care to share what make and brand is your chiller you are current using? Edited July 24, 2008 by wuga98 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ogre 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2008 hi wuga98, thank you very much. you really help to clear alot of my doubts. i am actually thinking of building something like this. at least it clear some of the space on the cabinet top. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites