worldangel 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Super nice house...very impressive reno. For a second I thought it was an unit in condo...the reno makes te house looks so big and spacious! Especially love the living room, mbr toilet and the balcony. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 haha... tricky meh? chey lasik! i tot u will label all ur undies! haha LOL, hwah, u win liow Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Wow I love the way the wires are hidden! Reiki, thanks for sharing.. I'll save the pictures for later... if I ever get to reno again. ehheheh Hehe, it's my pleasure. Just thought it is an interesting idea. It derived from our detailed ID. Btw, have a question for you, pink. Understand that you are getting the access balcony. Say, if such a unit is sold [with owner already purchased this area], will the new buyer have this access balcony too? Or the buyer needs to buy it from HDB too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Super nice house...very impressive reno. For a second I thought it was an unit in condo...the reno makes te house looks so big and spacious! Especially love the living room, mbr toilet and the balcony. Thanks for the compliment, worldangel. Hehe, and i like your username! We tried to make the place simple during renovation, with objective to make it bright and spacious. Hehe, yup we kinda like the open MBR toilet concept. But, err, it makes it difficult when there are guests in the house. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Hehe, it's my pleasure. Just thought it is an interesting idea. It derived from our detailed ID. Btw, have a question for you, pink. Understand that you are getting the access balcony. Say, if such a unit is sold [with owner already purchased this area], will the new buyer have this access balcony too? Or the buyer needs to buy it from HDB too? Hi Reiki, We are going to purchase our recess also. My understanding is, when you do the purchase for the recess area, HDB will require the owner to shift those electricity box etc to outside the flat. And the owner will then 'enclose' the area of their purchase, building gates / wall at the boundary. And when the owner sell their flat next time, the purchase will include the recess area already. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Hi Reiki, We are going to purchase our recess also. My understanding is, when you do the purchase for the recess area, HDB will require the owner to shift those electricity box etc to outside the flat. And the owner will then 'enclose' the area of their purchase, building gates / wall at the boundary. And when the owner sell their flat next time, the purchase will include the recess area already. Thanks for the info, Rasp. Hope you'll get the recess area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
charemme 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 (edited) Hi Reiki, I got a repurchased flat from HDB. previous owner also buy over part of the recess area (flat is a corridor , not corner unit) and reconstructed and combine two 3-rm unit into 1. Therefore, when i took over the hse, HDB label its as a 5-room, and it include the recess area. I'm literally crying in the office when im read abt Ruby from your blog, as im have 2 dogs myself.. I can feel the pain you felt. But im sure Ruby is blessed to have you and hubby for loving her Btw, i notice your flooring has gt no skirtings, and its really nicer with skirtings. Someone told with skirtings is better to avoid gaps. Is it True?? Edited May 29, 2009 by charemme Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Charemme, 01. Many thanks to update me abt recess area. This info is actually meant for a friend who is on the look-out for resale flat. 02. Ruby's departure still saddens us. Nonetheless, life must go on. How old are your dogs and what breed are they eh? 03. We wanted to achieve a cleanlined environment for the house. Our ID, who is also an architect, also suggested that we do away with skirting. Here is what I wrote in my blog about floor skirtings: Floor skirtings are laid for a purpose. Basically, it is about concealing wires or pipes. Overtime, it has become a decoration to line tiles, or wood, along the base of the wall. It is, supposedly, to give a clean curve to hide the difference materials of the floor and the wall. It is about concealing the gaps from the floor edge and the wall. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. For us, to go without skirtings gives a sense of a clean look - a floor is a floor and a wall is a wall. However, the finished work of the floor tiles is crucial. As there is nothing to conceal the gap to the wall, extra precision is required The full content Here Regards. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
charemme 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2009 Yes i feel the same when my 10yr old rabbit pass away, and i just told myself that he is awaiting for me somewhere. Someday, we will be reunited...and i feel better. I have two dogs, age 3 and 2. A MS and a cross breed (papillion/JRT) see their pictures here. http://im-char.blogspot.com/2009/03/fashion-show-sequel.html Is it only applicable for timber flooring. I was told yesterday tats is for timble flooring and not for laminates. Maybe for my next hse reno .. hehe The skirtingless effect makes the floor looks bigger too as there is no boundry! You house does have the 'WOW' effect!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted June 1, 2009 Cute furbabies! Somehow, the effect without skirting gives that feeling - "no boundary". I believe it is possible for laminate. Just that, the last piece joining the wall must not have groove. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted June 1, 2009 For those who are free this weekend, and looking for such items: There will be a Scanpan Warehouse Sales on 6th and 7th June, 10 am to 5pm. The address is 49 Jalan Pemimpin, #01-05 APS Building. Featured products include 70% off for display units. Major participating brands such as GE, Smeg, Transtherm, Nakamichi, Vintec and Cuizino with products ranging from Branded Audio, Ovens, Fridges, Hobs, Hoods, Wine cabinets, Cooking/kitchen accessories, etc will also be on offer with price up to 70% off. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
worldangel 0 Report post Posted June 1, 2009 Thanks for the info, will be going! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bon07 1 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 I believe such wire management can also be incorporated with feature wall. When we have a tv console, together with the feature wall, there will be some electrical gadgets placed on top of the console. very useful info! thanks! i totally agree. i have a feature wall but i am gonna incorporate this idea onto my tv console cos i will be putting a digital photo frame and mabye my phone or a CPU box on the tv console... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2009 very useful info! thanks! Hehehe, and thank you you too. Hmm, perhaps, I should do another installment - how to conceal wires [and switches] with wardrobe design. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2009 Hehe, it's my pleasure. Just thought it is an interesting idea. It derived from our detailed ID. Btw, have a question for you, pink. Understand that you are getting the access balcony. Say, if such a unit is sold [with owner already purchased this area], will the new buyer have this access balcony too? Or the buyer needs to buy it from HDB too? Alamak I missed out on this post. Delayed reply.... lol If the previous owner has already purchased the access balcony, the new buyer will buy the house with the access balcony. Which means when the valuers come they will take into account the access balcony and increase the valuation a little. The access is now considered part of the house permanently. What happens when you buy the access is that they tear up the old mortgage and rewrite a new one completely, adding in that extra space. Which means my house, originally at 122sqm, will now be 129 (or is 130) and will be advertised and valued at that new area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites