Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 (edited) Having read many renovation works here, thought I share - especially for those that have to design their own TV console, as how to have a nice piece with a good wire management. Basically, we are one that just can't stand the sight of many wires. When we were constructing our TV console, our ID guided us through and told us that it will make not much cost difference [or no difference] for an added wire management feature. It is how we guide the carpenter with the proper instructions. Foremost important is to decide your power points and get the electrician to fix them first. Have consideration for SCV and telephone socket too [in case you are taking up MIO]. These points, as we want them, are to be hidden inside the console. Once these points are installed/fixed, get the carpenter to come down, for design and measurement, and to make sure the console will hide them. Guide the carpenter where you want to have the flip-open. The top of the console is designed with a flip-open with 'mo-hair' at one end: Behind our TV: End Result: Edited May 26, 2009 by Reiki Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Very useful info and pictures for the console. I can get the ideas and convey to my carpenter Thanks for sharing! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Hi Reiki, Wow, this is very useful. I am also clueless on designing such carpentry. You just gave me some idea. Thanks!!! Im trying to picture how the powerpoint and scv point look inside. Are they resting vertical/ horizontal? And since all your appliances are inside the tv console, how do you use the remote control on them? Open the flaps each time? If its not too much a hassle, can share the inside of your tv console? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Very useful info and pictures for the console. I can get the ideas and convey to my carpenter Thanks for sharing! familyof4, you don't need that if you have feature wall Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
country club 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Hi Reiki, any extra charge for doing that? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Very useful info and pictures for the console. I can get the ideas and convey to my carpenter Thanks for sharing! familyof4, you don't need that if you have feature wall I believe such wire management can also be incorporated with feature wall. When we have a tv console, together with the feature wall, there will be some electrical gadgets placed on top of the console. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 familyof4, you don't need that if you have feature wall my MBR tv console dun have a feature wall one thing I am quite curious...will it make putting the plug in very difficult? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Im trying to picture how the powerpoint and scv point look inside. Are they resting vertical/ horizontal? And since all your appliances are inside the tv console, how do you use the remote control on them? Open the flaps each time? If its not too much a hassle, can share the inside of your tv console? I dont have a specific picture to show the scv point and telephone socket. However, they are installed as in the picture: And, this is the TV Console in our MBR: With all the wires coming out of the mohair flip-open: The remote control can still work when we just have the door open at this angle: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Hi Reiki, any extra charge for doing that? No, there was no extra charge for us as we did alot of joinery works with one carpenter. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 will it make putting the plug in very difficult? With all the opening at the right places, it is not difficult. Except, perhaps, when switching on and off the power which we need to open/close the cabinet door. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 (edited) Part Two - Wire Management for TV Console When constructing a suspended console, it is also useful to have a hole [inside the console] for wires to come out to reach, say, the subwoofer. In our case, as we have LED light and acrylic under the suspended console, we opt to have a hole by the side. (Hole for wires at left of pic) A removable plank [where the books are] covers all the switches and hides the wires: Edited May 26, 2009 by Reiki Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 i tot the hiding is rather ingenious n ahem... extreme... so what is the most extreme an OCD person (perhaps like u) will do to their home?? pls enlighten.. v willing to learn from Master! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 i tot the hiding is rather ingenious n ahem... extreme... so what is the most extreme an OCD person (perhaps like u) will do to their home?? pls enlighten.. v willing to learn from Master! Alamak u .. LOL, just becos i said u iron yr spread sheet everyday, u gotta pose such a difficult and tricky question hor. most extreme? hmm, lasik the eyes and make them to see everything neat and nice? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Alamak u .. LOL, just becos i said u iron yr spread sheet everyday, u gotta pose such a difficult and tricky question hor. most extreme? hmm, lasik the eyes and make them to see everything neat and nice? haha... tricky meh? chey lasik! i tot u will label all ur undies! haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Wow I love the way the wires are hidden! Reiki, thanks for sharing.. I'll save the pictures for later... if I ever get to reno again. ehheheh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites