redknapp39 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 I think it's possible to get that quote but u must work hard to find that ID/contractor Remember not to compromise quality ya Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Hi, Do you have Andrew contact? Please PM me. No harm getting another quote. I intend to squeeze the ID for all these: 1. Remove partition wall and hack tiles whole house except kitchen 2. Reinstall partition wall (these are gypsum or lightweight walls) 3. Retile those hacked 4. False celing with cove lights whole house 5. Settee chair at dining, 1x8ft wardrobe, 1x 9ft wardrobe, tv console, shelves, cabinets, bed platform, bay window sitting area, more shelves, bathrooms shelves and mirrors, cabinets in living area etc 6. Painting 7. Plumbing 8. Electrical All these for 25K nett. Hope I can find..ahahhaa! i am doing more or less same items like you except for feature wall & console and platform but mine is 3rooms revamp..hack all tiles and reinstate living wall to extend dining area.. and my reno costs now $32K & still counting also met weiken ID before but the price not that fantastic lor, finally met roy and his quote most competitive..thus decided on him.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hellroxy 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Thanx!!! So have u found the ID that u want? Nope.. no luck yet! still looking. You'll be surprise how much these so called ID can make from your 40k. I managed to squeeze one ID for all the above (except electrical) for 27K!! Am I stingy or **** horrible customer or what?!! No...I would say, if you do the real costing of all these materials, it's peanuts to the IDs. Mine is only small unit, about 930sqft (lesser if minus the kitchen). I do not hack solid walls, only those gypsum board partitions...how much work would that be man!....Well I hope I am getting nearer to the right one soon.. i just receive a quote from one of the firms and the ID carelessly gave me the one with the cost on it. He qouted me almost $30k wherelse his cost is only $20k! i thought these ID firms earns like 20% of your reno but obviously not! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redknapp39 0 Report post Posted May 17, 2008 They so clumsy to give u their cost price Just say, if they quote $10K more, that means they will earn ard $5K in commission right. N u spread the work over 2 months, that means they'll earn ard $2.5K per month per house. I feel it's a reasonable pay for a job whereby u put in a lot of time into it n have to burn ur weekends Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redknapp39 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2008 We went to choose our house tiles yest. So fun!!! Chk out my blogspot for pics Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shenxian 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2008 i am doing more or less same items like you except for feature wall & console and platform but mine is 3rooms revamp..hack all tiles and reinstate living wall to extend dining area.. and my reno costs now $32K & still counting also met weiken ID before but the price not that fantastic lor, finally met roy and his quote most competitive..thus decided on him.. Hi babytan, I am still waiting quote from Roy. I hope you getting a good quote from Roy and wish you every best for your up and coming reno. My feature wall is simple, just to make some plain walls with a bit of colors. Not a tv console feature wall. My strategy is to get an ID to include all the items that I wished (at least 90%) and optimize the total price as low as possible becos those usually did not include electrical, bathroom accessories, furnitures, lights etc. Once the total is being calculated, initial 25k will baloon up to 40k. Imagine what will happen if 40k is the reno package excluding those post-items. Die man! Who would want to invest 70-80k to a flat which were being bought for abt less than 500k? If the unit is over 1.5mil, then it is different story la. I am sure if one do not change the carpentry materials, Person A who took up Premium HDB package for a resale 4-room (abt 1000sqft) which cost 17K compared to Person B who get itemised billing for a 2-room condo unit (900sqft) who has to pay 40k will get similar wood materials from the same company. I do not think they will be so nice to give you very high quality of wood and their top specialist carpenters...their workers still the same group with the same skill set and where got company categorize or group their workers by skill set level? Take for example, the wood for wardrobe will still be laminates for the doors, 12mm board for the shelves (if not 15mm), the wardrobe backing usually 9mm board (if you nvr ask for 12mm), and inside finishing usually PVC or polygon, and some laminates doors with ABS trimmings. So to conclude, the 17K package will still be getting the same quality for 40k package. So why pay more for the same items if one can get it for less. In Singapore, the most popular woods is plywood (becos it's one of the lowest cost). Some of them say solid ply (whr got solid ply one.. - ply means ply lor), some are ply as the frame and hollow in middle, then they just laminate it and trim it with ABS finihes. For those cheaper packages, they just reduce the ply and remove the ABS...thats my opinion.. Not all has the luxury to spend the way they like. Most are hard-earned and we as consumers, just want to get our fair deal. If the ID not earning, they will avoid you more than you do.......hehehe...Well I will continue my search for THE ID (just like Indiano Jones and the Lost Kingdom of Crystal ID)...:D Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2008 We went to choose our house tiles yest. So fun!!! Chk out my blogspot for pics think we got the same living room tiles shenxian--> hope you do get your ideal quote..i understand your point of view la and you are right, all our hard earned $$ lor..i am actively reading this forum so as to understand more and try not to be a "robertress" to any ID...hahahah personally why i chose roy partly due to his pricing and also his sincerity and he is a very nice guy if you get to know him more.... me not doing feature wall, just paint different colour on the TV wall can liao, better save the $ & space.. wish you all the best for you reno too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redknapp39 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2008 (edited) Shenxian, Hope u get the ID that u like soon. Anyway, make sure u set up a blog too. Then, we all can kaypoh n see ur house. Babytan, Roy also got tell me u took that tile. Glossy homogeneous tiles dun really have a lot of colours n design. It's always beige, grey, white or black. If want colour n more design, must choose matt. Edited May 19, 2008 by redknapp39 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2008 (edited) Babytan, Roy also got tell me u took that tile. Glossy homogeneous tiles dun really have a lot of colours n design. It's always beige, grey, white or black. If want colour n more design, must choose matt. so confirm we got the same tiles lah..hahah now only hope the effect and workmanship is nice.. i dun like matt leh Edited May 19, 2008 by babytan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shenxian 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2008 think we got the same living room tiles shenxian--> hope you do get your ideal quote..i understand your point of view la and you are right, all our hard earned $$ lor..i am actively reading this forum so as to understand more and try not to be a "robertress" to any ID...hahahah personally why i chose roy partly due to his pricing and also his sincerity and he is a very nice guy if you get to know him more.... me not doing feature wall, just paint different colour on the TV wall can liao, better save the $ & space.. wish you all the best for you reno too haha thanks! We all sure was a "Robert Head" once a while in life but just dun be a BIG 'Robert Head'... I got Roy's quote this morning. Yesterday another ID came to my house. This ID able to fit their Resale HDB package pricing into my condo unit. That's a good start because these packages usually cheaper to start with and get some rebate if we do not accept their free gifts (I dun need the free gifts anyway). From here, I will be able to branch out on the additional items I want especially on the carpentry. This package for 22K includes:- 1. Hack of existing tiles and partitions. 2. Retile whole house with waterproofing in bathrooms and kitchen and ceramic tiles in bathroom and kitchen walls. Homo tiles for the floors. 3. Install 20ft kitchen (exclude solid top. I will upgrade for solid top). As usual they called in solid ply with laminates and ABS trimming and Hettich drawer system (silent close) for the kitchen 4. Install false ceiling in whole house 5. Painting 6. Plumbing 7. Partial electical 8. 3 nyatoh doors with classical feel.. The above exclude a few K rebates. So minus the rebate, I am well below 20k for a start. Then I will use the 4K to do wardrobe, platform bed with bay window sitting&storage and some shelves. Then I will add few more K to get tv console and shelves and a large cabinet in living plus some simple feature walls in 2 rooms and living plus electrical (including spotlights, downlights and cove lights)...wah seh...can go under 30k liao...getting nearer...hehee! One wasteful thing is my kitchen was only 3 years old. It has Blum system with solid top but fortunately Blum tracks can be reused for my new kitchen which was included in the package and I also replaced all switches plate (Clipsal with LED and the newer range of Clipsal Zencelo) by myself under $200 and repainted my whole on my own under S$350 ... Roy's quote looks promising too. These 2 IDs shud be pretty promising on the price but I would thk Roy's will probably hit slightly over 30K. Workmanship shud not be too far the difference but I thk workmanship really really really depends on luck. No ID has high skilled specialized carpenters (where got Senior Carpenter Consultant one) or high skilled specialized tilers (where got Senior Tiler Specialist one)... So beside needing luck not becoming Mr Robert Head, I also need great luck on the tiling and waterproofing. So wish me lots and lots of luck for this reno...haha! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redknapp39 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2008 Power la Shenxian. I'm glad u found 2 IDs that u like. Hopefully, more will come to give u a good quotation. Then, u'll have a good headache like me. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
virgo2829 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2008 redknapped39, u starting ur reno next week? excited? started shopping for your new home needs? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redknapp39 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2008 Super excited Just got our keys just now. Met up with Roy to discuss some renovation details at our flat. Managed to save some costs cuz we felt that we dun need to do some stuff such as hacking. We still havent shop for our home needs. We just walk walk at Courts yest to just survey the market 1st. Later, when we need the products, we'll ask Roy for his lobang. Maybe can get cheaper price. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
virgo2829 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2008 dun go courts lah....doubt their pricing is good.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2008 shenxian--> getting nearer to your goals..hope to see your renoblog soon! Super excited Just got our keys just now. Met up with Roy to discuss some renovation details at our flat. Managed to save some costs cuz we felt that we dun need to do some stuff such as hacking. We still havent shop for our home needs. We just walk walk at Courts yest to just survey the market 1st. Later, when we need the products, we'll ask Roy for his lobang. Maybe can get cheaper price. good for you lor, we met him this morning..didnt managed to save and ended up doing more no choice cos my flat is too old liao.. for electricals, try those neighbourhood shops.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites