henrywoo1978 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 Oh... I don;t know know that Mesin has wound up. Well think your case more jialat than most of us. Anyway great to hear of your great experience with Zen Tradition, but must say their items are really level above alot of similar Zen shops. Cheers. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Renologic 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 (edited) Well, seems like my grasp of the English language is not as good then. Have to apologize for that. For me, no point arguing with you here since talk is cheap. Even if u May Check them out, some damage has already been done. People have already been affected and I doubt u can really do anything to alleviate that. Like I said before, it will be interesting to see HOW you are going to prove to RTalkers that Living Story is worth the trouble etc etc. Even if ur an ex saleman, it may not be possible to prove anything otherwise. This is not because I doubt your abilities but plainly different companies have different modus operandi. anyway no need to reply to me i am just here to increase my post count good luck to your minimum deposit with Living Story Hi Smartfool, No lah, I didn't say that your english is no good, but just need to read carefully and do not put words into my mouth, my dear friend. Thanks for your graciousness in apologising (not necessary actually) anyway . Just like yourself, I think arguing with people here is sheer waste of time. However, when people put words into my mouth, I will have to respond to clarify or to put right any misinterpretation and misconception or even to shutup any malicious, cynical and sarcastic remarks to protect my good-intention and integrity. Honestly, I am getting a bit itchy hand these past few days logging up regularly on this forum As I have said in my debut post, I might go down to "Living Story" to check them out, out of sheer curiosity ,since I am also looking for a new set of sofa that can fit into my new apartment which has a smaller living area. Of course, I am not saying that I will definitely buy from them. But as I have quite an in depth knowledge about the bolts and nuts of furniture manufacturing, it should not be difficult to sniff out inferior quality and overpricing. As pertaining to delivery, insisting on a written black and white delivery guarantee or else full refund should be a good enough deterrent. If they refuse to specify that in purchase order, just forget about the purchase. There are hundreds of furniture retailers out there hungry for our business, particularly in such a gloomy economic situation now. None of my wordings in my previous posts suggested that I could alleviate their alleged pains and damages caused by "Living Story". I am just intrigued by how such a new company which chalked up so many brickbrats with in barely half a year, could still carry on business as usual. Consumers are free to lodge complaints through Small Claims Tribunal or even CASE. At the end of my so called mission, I might end up unconvinced and not buying anything from them, and as you have suggested,unable to prove anything. That, I owe no apology to anyone here, as I have all along stressed. Care to comment (to increase your post count, maybe? )? Good reason to cheers today! RENOLOGIC Edited October 16, 2008 by Renologic Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
henrywoo1978 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 No lah.. I don't think anyone put any words in any person's mouth lah. Like I said, our main aim here is to warn any potential customers of the potential risks they might subject themselves once they make their transactions from Living Story. Think both you and SmartFool also have the same aim, why not we start to have some constructive conversation and stop this accusation all over? Anyway cheers to both of you for your great effort in voicing your concerns to our dear fellow forumers. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Renologic 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 No lah.. I don't think anyone put any words in any person's mouth lah. Like I said, our main aim here is to warn any potential customers of the potential risks they might subject themselves once they make their transactions from Living Story. Think both you and SmartFool also have the same aim, why not we start to have some constructive conversation and stop this accusation all over? Anyway cheers to both of you for your great effort in voicing your concerns to our dear fellow forumers. Hi Henry, Like I have said, you are still the gentleman. I am glad that at least one folk like you could see my sincerity and what I have been trying advocating here - logical, sensible, contructive conversation. Cheers to you Henry and have a good day! RENOLOGIC Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkitsch 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 Renologic, since you are the expert and I'm also looking for a new sofa set, why don't you help us check out Red Apple/La Cafa as well? Would really appreciate your efforts. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Renologic 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 (edited) Renologic, since you are the expert and I'm also looking for a new sofa set, why don't you help us check out Red Apple/La Cafa as well? Would really appreciate your efforts. Hi, Time permitting, I will of course shop around for good deals. If there are no ideal set (size /design/price), I might not buy any and make do with my current 3+2 sofa bought from Lorenzo few years ago, because it is still in good condition but a bit over-size for my new living area. Where is Red Apple by the way? I know there is one La Cafa at the Furniture Mall on Beach Road. But I must pre-qualify that I will not make negative comment on any retailer if I end up not buying anything from anyone of them or did not suffer any undesirable consequence. Any forummer should really think twice before shooting their mouth off in this forum because like what Henrywoo has said, you could be liable for lawsuit. The circumstance would be better if you are indeed being sold inferior product or suffered poor service of which evidence still need to be substantiated in court should there be a lawsuit. "Until proven, one is not guilty" I am no legal expert, but I supposed this is logic and common sense. So lets be wise and not be carried away. Wah lao, today I am as though working for RENOTALK leh, spending so much precious time here. I also must be careful not to be caught and fired by my boss for spending working time on non-work-related internet chat man! keke ! No laughing matter actually! Really have to stop talking laeo Cheers RENOLOGIC Edited October 16, 2008 by Renologic Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
henrywoo1978 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 Haha... well said Logic. Well anyway for Red Apple, don't think you need to go down and waste your time, cause that one has far more complains than this Living Story. Anyway you can find it at IMM or Sungei Kadut. Anyway just hope that all the conversation here can be as constructive and not biased as possible so that all the fellow forumers can have a better picture. Cheers to all... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Renologic 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2008 I went down to Living Story this afternoon. The exterior looks impressive enough with a hugh full colour banner hanging from the top of the 5-storey building. Some loose displays outside the entrance looks attractive too. But there was not a soul as I enter the front door! Strange... Then the lift opened, and a group of 4~5 people came out talking loudly and laughing. One of the men with a namecard strapped around the neck greeted me and apologised saying that all the sales staff were busy engaged with customers at the moment and that he will attend to me in a while. I took a quick tour of the ground level displays and took the lift to upper floors. I then realised that they were indeed overwhelmed with customers. It was unfortunate that I received a call at that instance from my wife and had to leave immediately to attend to a urgent matter. My first impression of the furnitures on display was not too bad. The staff were rather friendly. Displayed prices were average though. One or two pieces of sofa caught my eyes but I didn't have time to talk to the salesman. I will probably go down again tomorrow for a better look. Cheers, RENOLOGIC Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
henrywoo1978 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2008 Well indeed, just like the time I went there. Too bad you cannot walk around to have a better look at the place and the products being offered there. Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Renologic 0 Report post Posted October 20, 2008 Went down to "Living Story" again yesterday afternoon after sunday brunch. As we enter the showroom, we were being greeted cheerfully by a few happy-go-lucky salesmen sitting there. One of them offered to show us around. We went straight up to the second level where I saw the sofa that I like. However, the length was a little too long for our tiny living area. The salesman offered to customise to our specified length but I rejected the idea because I am not prepared to wait for 6 weeks' delivery. I scrutinised the quality of some of the furnitures on display. Sofa seems generally ok but a couple of coffee table and TV consoles may need improvement on the finishing. When I pointed out to him, the salesman replied that they were aware and in fact had received complaints from past customers and added that their China factory is in working on improving the finishing. I told him that there are many customer complaints in RENOTALK, he replied that they are aware and is in the process of revamping their logistic side to improve efficiency. I asked is there a salesman called "David" and he laughed saying that "David" who is now made "famous" by someone on the internet, is serving another customer at the moment. I asked him if the claim by one forummer that their Simmons mattress is a China-made fake is true, he said that their company would not be that bold as to blatantly advertising in newspaper if theirs is a fake. He explained that they parallel import from USA and then showed me the label on the mattress stating it is "Made in USA". He challenged me to buy one piece for scrutiny by offering me at a very special price (below 2K!) with bedframe and freebies thrown in but I rejected him telling him I will consider and come back. Seeing that I am not going to make any immediate purchase, he excused himself to serve other unattended customers in the showroom. Overall, the experience was quite a pleasant one with no hardsell even though this salesman "Gary" was a fast talker. The showroom was rather impressive and the best thing is that they can be quite flexible in prices. So bargain hunters can try them if you dare! Wanted to proceed to Courts subsequently to look at a $399 L-shaped sofa but alamak raining cat and dog outside, sianz! abandoned the idea and went straight home Honestly, on a serious note, the Simmons mattress offer actually attracted us but as it had never crossed our mind that we should replace our current 8-year old King Coil piece yet, we turned it down. If we finally decided to buy, we shall get you guys posted. In the mean time, need to think hard because "Hang Zheng" (economic outlook) not so good leh! RENOLOGIC Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ilmare612 0 Report post Posted October 20, 2008 Hi, we saw the ad on the Simmons mattress over the weekend and decided to make a trip down. Only to be told that's it's sold out and the sales person offers us an alternative which is more then double the price. We felt quite mis-leaded in a way. It's like they use that ad to bait the customers down. Another point to note if we buy a so-call parallel import from USA is that their dimension is slightly different from the Asia size. Which means you will have limitation on bedsheets here in Singapore and probably an obligation to buy their bed frame which fits their mattress. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
henrywoo1978 0 Report post Posted October 20, 2008 Haha, indeed, just like what I experienced when I was there in April. Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Renologic 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 Hi, we saw the ad on the Simmons mattress over the weekend and decided to make a trip down. Only to be told that's it's sold out and the sales person offers us an alternative which is more then double the price. We felt quite mis-leaded in a way. It's like they use that ad to bait the customers down. Another point to note if we buy a so-call parallel import from USA is that their dimension is slightly different from the Asia size. Which means you will have limitation on bedsheets here in Singapore and probably an obligation to buy their bed frame which fits their mattress. Hi, You are right but I heard the salesman Gary telling another customer standing next to us that if he dosen't mind to place an order without seeing any sample, the shipment will arrive some few weeks' time. The size is indeed American King or Queen, which means the mattresses will be about 4 inches longer in length. In fact I thought that that is good for my height. Normally, for any brand, you would need to pay extra of at least 20~30% more to indent for an American size. Normal non-fitted bedsheet should be ok for these American size mattresses. Fitted ones for American size should be available at major department stores like Robinson, etc. As for bedframe, too bad, need to buy new one to match. You should be able to bargain for a good package price if you are buying mattress and bedframe together. The salesman offered me Simmons American-queen size mattress+bedframe+2 pillows+mattress protector at below $2k, quite a good deal. I tried all their Simmons models, rather comfortable with the plush pillowtop. Still thinking whether should replace my old piece or not... Cheers! RENOLOGIC Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
henrywoo1978 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 Hi ilmare612, If you really don't mind taking all those showrooms beds, you can consider thos warehouse sales that are going during the weekends. Think these avenues will be much safer as compared to Living stories, don't you think so, logic? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites