socks

Stainless Steel Basket Pull-out

Hi, would like to find out if anyone has bought stainless steel pull-out basket (for kitchen cabinet) from Po* Jo* in j.berseh? they gave me a rather attractive quotation:

Carcase 450mm, basket size (WxDxH): 355mm x 475mm x 140mm - $70 each

the sales lady told me the stainless steel is grade 304. as im not sure about such grading, i asked her if it's 18/8 etc, she said yes(?). also, there's a 5yr warranty against rust.

so i would like to clarify if anyone knows the so-called grade 304 is indeed 18/8?

Hi, would like to find out if anyone has bought stainless steel pull-out basket (for kitchen cabinet) from Po* Jo* in j.berseh? they gave me a rather attractive quotation:

the sales lady told me the stainless steel is grade 304. as im not sure about such grading, i asked her if it's 18/8 etc, she said yes(?). also, there's a 5yr warranty against rust.

so i would like to clarify if anyone knows the so-called grade 304 is indeed 18/8?

I just remember I forgot to buy mine! No wonder my contractor never fix for me. :P

Does Poh Joo (I presume is this) have lots of different sizes for the basket? I haven't measure mine yet. Where exactly is the place? Any other places I can go and source?

i've seen these baskets at hoe kee, chuan heng, song cho and SSC

believe ikea also has them :yamseng:

pardon me

may i noe what is 18/8 and 18/10

i read that its different grades but can advise whats the difference is quality?

and whats the damage?

sorry ah i very kiasu cos budget very tight sia

i've seen these baskets at hoe kee, chuan heng, song cho and SSC

believe ikea also has them :yamseng:

Thanks...so lazy to go hunting after moving in and still doing all the unpacking...haha...need to really pull myself up to go and find.

pardon me

may i noe what is 18/8 and 18/10

i read that its different grades but can advise whats the difference is quality?

and whats the damage?

sorry ah i very kiasu cos budget very tight sia

I understand both are very good stainless steel material but the 18/10 will be more resistant to corrosive compare to 18/8. But normal home usage both should be fine.

the difference is basically the digit behind

it stands for the nickel content in the metal

higher means it will retain the shine longer

got this off a website FAQ

2. What is the difference between 18/8 and 18/10 stainless steel?

Answer: The first number is the amount of chromium that is contained in the stainless, i.e., 18 is 18% chromium. The second number is the amount of nickel, i.e., 8 stands for 8% nickel. So 18/8 means that this stainless steel contains 18% chromium and 8% nickel. 18/10 is 18% chromium and 10% nickel. The higher the numbers the more corrosion resistant the material. 18/0 is a misleading designation. Both 18/8 and 18/10 contain nickel and are part of the grade family "300 series" stainless. 18/0 means that there is 18% chromium but zero nickel. When there is no nickel the stainless grade family is the "400 series". 400 series are not as corrosion resistant as the 300 series and are magnetic, where the 300 series are non-magnetic.

thanks Kel and A.F

most important question:

Any big difference in the cost?

Besides the pull out basket, any other stuff necessary for such quality?

as far as i noe some of which are the bathroom (to hang towels etc) accessories

i believe the 18/10 will naturally be more expensive.

just went ikea tampines yesterday to check out their Grundtal series. apparently i read a previous posting by applefreak (see, i did my homework! :good: ) that she has gotten some of the grundtal products - 18/8, n im surprised by their pricing. though its 18/8, which is comparable to maybe other stainless steel products from places like Son* Cho or Hoe Ke*, it's so much cheaper! though it may not look as sleek, every cent counts when doing reno, which is costing so much nowadays :jawdrop:

however, it seems like grundtal series do not have many variety of offerings for the kitchen.

btw, keltong, poh jo* is at 159 jalan berseh, diagonally opp j.berseh hawker centre. they hv another showroom at 389/391 jalan berseh. they have pull-out baskets in different carcase widths - 400mm, 450mm, 500, 600, 800 & 900! quoted me $70 a pull-out for 450mm carcase. with their 5yrs warranty againt rust, im thinking if it's a good deal cos i thought stainless steel should somewhat guaranteed against rust for the lifetime? :unsure: - think song ch* or day & day products have lifetime no-rust warranty but they cost a bomb

Thanks...now my wife say may not want the basket liao...*sigh* then got big area with no shelf leh, see how it goes, still trying to convince her should get at least 1 else the space wasted.

s/s basket which is made of round rod is normally 304 material

those s/s railing u see in most hdb flat is 304, those use at the jetty or boat is mostly 316L

both materials also available in finishing like 1B, 2B,BA, hailrine, no. 8 mirror etc and

those s/s sheet panelling u see in the lift is etching finishing.

different importer, different country of origin - different price

so which country of make is considered a good buy?

I went to Guan Chang Electrical (Alexandra village) and they have made in Italy accessories.

However, the steel is not too impressive... (some oxidisation)

s/s basket which is made of round rod is normally 304 material

those s/s railing u see in most hdb flat is 304, those use at the jetty or boat is mostly 316L

both materials also available in finishing like 1B, 2B,BA, hailrine, no. 8 mirror etc and

those s/s sheet panelling u see in the lift is etching finishing.

different importer, different country of origin - different price

generally, those Japanese or Italy's quality is better than thailand make.

Some hardware shop like Kim Men at AMK do have cheaper range of s/s products but not much choices.

For s/s stuff, best is to buy from Soo Cho (the chicken brand). Although its expensive, but they give quality and LIFETIME warranty.

its better to spend more now, than to spend again later.

Imagine now you buy cheap stuff. 4 years later, it breaks down, or rust or whatever. You need to buy another new one and PAY someone to install you again.

So you add up the $$, is it worth it to PAY for installation again?

Now you buy the best quality, and u wont need to buy again and pay again for installation.

For the s/s basket that fits into yr kitchen cabinet, remember that yr cabinet is plywood. to re-install new ones, u need to unscrew the old screw, tat means there will be holes and you cant use back the same holes. you need to screw new holes........

wont it be ugly? And your space allowance in the cabinet will be affected.

Get from Song Cho if u can. Feel that Poh Joo SS items are not that lasting. We bought bathroom accessories from them for our common bathroom and can already see rust after 3 months. Our MBR bathroom accessories from Song Cho still look brand new. Really regret not spending that bit more and get all from Song Cho.

Edited by TYM