SmartFool

Our Humble Abode

:seeya: 2nd big purchase yesterday

Bought a bedframe from Home2Be for SGD600

this was after bargaining with the staff at their Joo Seng branch

Since we bought our Isaiah mattress (queen) for SGD1399, we were eligible for SGD200 off

their bedframes

My parents and relatives bought the Isaiah 538 as well so in the end we bought the king size for 1499, top up only SGD100, which was a good deal. So far they having been using the mattress without any complaints

Back to the bedframe, it was SGD799 but in the end we got it for SGD600 after some hard bargaining. quite pleased with the purchase considering that the colour code (brown suede) really matched what we had in mind for our deco :sport-smiley-003:

Moreover, the mattress we got was a good complement (since the new age mattresses are higher due to the spring + memory foam combo) and could still be used if we bought fitted sheets.

Dropped by Robinsons as well to get a mirror that my WTB and I had been eyeing a long time. We got it at a 25% discount and did not want to wait as only 2 pieces were left

Anyway, am embarking on some business trip but should be back in time for the GSS sale at the end of the month

wow! see that you are already buying furnitures and such even before the flat is ready! thats fast!

anyway do look for your sofa early coz from order to delivery is about 2-3 months if custom made.

happy renovating and update us with pics!!! :yamseng:

Thanks for the advice!!

will do!

actually now GSS so we thought we might as well get it out of the way

for the bed, it was convenient cos my relatives also buying

Better to be prepared cos reno of the place will be a busy schedule

yes still looking for a suitable sofa now

sigh

:dunno:

hehe bro, its v clever of you to buy stuffs during GSS.

my wife is complaining to me that why do we buy stuff so early. wait for GSS is better

and ya..Robinson 20% discount is quite alot. Same for OG too..some household stuffs are v worth it to buy

So u bought the Isaiah mattress already, :good: its a good buy.

good to hear that u r safe from China..

BunBun spammer!!

no pics yet unless you want to see my room

like storeroom lor

WTB room also like garbage dump liao

Yang Guo thanks for the post

Not smart la but my budget very tight

and cannot afford to spend $ on items that are overpriced

after China, i become very barbaric oso cos the items there must bargain bargain and bargain

:P If you've gone bkk before. Its even more fun bargaining cos CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP & BUY BUY BUY!! :dancingqueen:

BunBun spammer!!

no pics yet unless you want to see my room

like storeroom lor

WTB room also like garbage dump liao

Yang Guo thanks for the post

Not smart la but my budget very tight

and cannot afford to spend $ on items that are overpriced

after China, i become very barbaric oso cos the items there must bargain bargain and bargain

actually china things also very cheap

must bargain coz they really open very high

but if you bargain hard you'll get a really good deal

same goes for BKK, but china is even cheaper :good:

Agree for certain things

actually i was quite surprised that furniture (esp import) was so ex in China

its almost the same of not higher than Singapore

trust me we went to most of the furniture (big ones like Ikea) but not worth

if u want good and cheap furniture, it will probably not be in Shanghai

or we went to the wrong places lor

Pudong supposedly has some carpentry shops but we were just too sian to go

Shanghai also has this lighting street called Liu Ying lu

its the cheapest and most extensive in Shanghai

even then, they use Osram and Phillips bulbs, ballast and what have u

they also using switches like Clipsal, Legrand and Hagel stuff

and it wasnt that dirt cheap either

so Apple i think i noe what u referring to

those Chinese paintings, artifacts etc

Clothes there also dam cheap

Must bargain and do some good acting lor

we went to Qipu lu and my wtb bought dresses and tops like for SGD5 to SGD30 (satin and silk material)

just rememeber, watever prices they quote just slash and pay only 20-30% of it

oh we oso bought a chopper from this supposedly famous Chinese brand called zhang xiao quan

158RMB. i wanted a memorabilia since i didn even buy a single t-shirt zzz

also we bought 2 paintings for the house

wish i had time to go BKK but just no $$ and budget liao

BKK have to bargain again!! and with the taxis!! zz

china taxi drivers, to my astonishment are quite honest

dont tok about those black cabs and those after midnite cabs la

oh i wasn't referring to beijing or shanghai

these 2 cities are the MOST expensive cities in asia

check out guangzhou, you'd be amazed by the price offered there

i saw a really nice side cabinet going at $70

the SAME thing will cost around $300 in singapore :dribble:

AF

how u doing?

noted on Guangzhou but really tired after travelling man

Hi all

just got back from the US

really tired and still blur from the jet lag

overall a very good trip for me and my WTB

we enjoyed it thoroughly

bot alot of clothes and bags and my WTB had a heyday

in the end we lugged alot of stuff back and paid USD50 for overweight charges

Bought towels, floormat, mugs, liquid soap, vitamins (haha) and other small household items

u cannot believe how cheap is it there

makes me wonder why singapore is so expensive

is the import tax really so high?

anyway, 2 wine glasses broke and oso a vase that we bot :furious:

we also bought a Karlsson clock but the hands are loose now from the flight

guess i have to find a place to repair it

sigh

yeah man

buy until overload

then gota pay overload charges

when i transited in Taipei, the guy stopped me and i refused to check my china bag in. my backpack was full of vitamins and my china bag had drinking glasses (10 of them), chopping board and a wine case

in the end they got no choice but to let me in

oh we bot curtains as well. Linens and things was closing down and they were having sale.

btw baby's clothes are oso dirt cheap there

unbelievable how ex spore is man