SmartFool 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Hi allMy 1st blog in Reno T-Bloog chatPlace to be collected in AugustNow already starting preparationsLooking around for tiles, bathroom accessories and bowl, wallpaper, lights though not so intensive, household items, washer/dryer, sofa...Meanwhile looking for a contractorthink most important items are the fundamental stuff1. Tiling and waterproofing I am dam worried about contractors doing a shabby job, especially groundworks2. Plumbinganother scary thought. From many of the forumers, we can see a host of common problems relating to piping, plumbing etc...3. ElectricalLet there be light!!Prices differing according to shops, locationsHomework, homework and more homeworkworries, worries and more worries Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 spam chop! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jjcian 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Me spam too!! Welcome and happy hunting Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 you really need to do lots of homework to know the market rpcing, if not u will get chop carrot. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Hi spammerslolya lor must do alot of homework so wont be robert zaibut sure will tio 1 lajust that need to minimise thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 Chop chop~~ Homework time! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 21, 2008 me spam too any flr plan for me to first? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2008 AiyaUnfortunately dont have the floorplan lehthats why i also sianAnyway its a resale so will get keys in AugustSo far doing hoemworkJust went To Bacera at Geylang (not sure if this place is good) which is next to Universal Unionand also to look at some teak furniture at Pagoda Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 think you can pay $5 and buy a copy of the floorplan from hdb leh good to have the floorplan when you approach contractors for quotepagoda street? that sounds like an expensive place to buy furniture Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 All the best in your reno! chop chop... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 Ya Apple thanks and yes going to HDBno la not pagoda streetits Pagoda at Geylangthey do woody furniture (customized) at reasonable prices Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2008 Just a brief update Haven been to the places at Eunos yet eg PD Door Been attending some friends birthdays and baby showers Nowadays really plenty of these events Anyway we dropped by Lightcraft at Jln Sultan last week Not a bad collection and prices were not overly exhorbitant At this stage, we were just updating ourselves on the designs and market prices Have not been to Chan Huat at Balestier though and some of the shops that the senior forumers recommended Bought some decorative stuff from Ikea (fake plants) and some pots/pans from WMF Also bought some cutlery early this year during Tangs sale already Our 1st big purchase was from Home2Be Isaiah mattress I538 King size 1499 comes with mattress protector, pillows etc we were actually looking to buy a bed frame as well So may go down to their Joo Seng warehouse as we also need to instruct them when to deliver the mattress to our new place Other than that off to Shanghai this weekend We be looking for some furniture there So wish us luck!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redknapp39 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2008 Didnt realise we had the same T-blog Title. All the best for ur reno Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2008 Reallly? cool!! all the best for your reno 2 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2008 Busy busy month Just back from Shanghai last Mon we were in Suzhou when the earthquake occurred in Sichuan/Beijing areas REALLY lucky as God was watching us My colleagues in China ran out of the building when some shudders were heard Anyway made my suits for our wedding but my WTB couldn find any suitable evening gowns Maybe Taiwan could have been better but budget very constrained now Also managed to buy some household items (though small) at very good prices. Very sian to buy in Singapore as everything is superinflated. too bad cannot buy big items as shipping would have been very troublesome and may not have been worth the while also made some workshirts and pants at reasonable price (LujiaBang lu) The main thing i will miss about China would be the food. Reasonably fresh, spicy at times (Ma la huo guo) but overall an experience not to be missed. also we stayed at Super 8 Motel, which was like 20USD a night. though small and only 1 star (haha), it had internet connection and was clean enough. Good and fruitful trip!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites