SmartFool

Our Humble Abode

Hi all

My 1st blog in Reno T-Bloog chat

Place to be collected in August

Now already starting preparations

Looking around for tiles, bathroom accessories and bowl, wallpaper, lights though not so intensive, household items, washer/dryer, sofa...

Meanwhile looking for a contractor

think most important items are the fundamental stuff

1. Tiling and waterproofing

I am dam worried about contractors doing a shabby job, especially groundworks

2. Plumbing

another scary thought. From many of the forumers, we can see a host of common problems relating to piping, plumbing etc...

3. Electrical

Let there be light!!

Prices differing according to shops, locations

Homework, homework and more homework

worries, worries and more worries

Aiya

Unfortunately dont have the floorplan leh

thats why i also sian

Anyway its a resale so will get keys in August

So far doing hoemwork

Just went To Bacera at Geylang (not sure if this place is good) which is next to Universal Union

and also to look at some teak furniture at Pagoda

think you can pay $5 and buy a copy of the floorplan from hdb leh :yamseng:

good to have the floorplan when you approach contractors for quote

pagoda street? that sounds like an expensive place to buy furniture :sport-smiley-004:

Just a brief update

Haven been to the places at Eunos yet eg PD Door

Been attending some friends birthdays and baby showers

Nowadays really plenty of these events

Anyway we dropped by Lightcraft at Jln Sultan last week

Not a bad collection and prices were not overly exhorbitant

At this stage, we were just updating ourselves on the designs and market prices

Have not been to Chan Huat at Balestier though and some of the shops that the senior forumers recommended

Bought some decorative stuff from Ikea (fake plants) and some pots/pans from WMF

Also bought some cutlery early this year during Tangs sale already

Our 1st big purchase was from Home2Be

Isaiah mattress I538 King size 1499

comes with mattress protector, pillows etc

we were actually looking to buy a bed frame as well

So may go down to their Joo Seng warehouse as we also need to instruct them when to deliver the mattress to our new place

Other than that

off to Shanghai this weekend

We be looking for some furniture there

So wish us luck!!

Busy busy month

8|

Just back from Shanghai last Mon

we were in Suzhou when the earthquake occurred in Sichuan/Beijing areas

REALLY lucky as God was watching us

My colleagues in China ran out of the building when some shudders were heard

Anyway made my suits for our wedding but my WTB couldn find any suitable evening gowns

Maybe Taiwan could have been better but budget very constrained now

Also managed to buy some household items (though small) at very good prices. Very sian to buy in Singapore as everything is superinflated. too bad cannot buy big items as shipping would have been very troublesome and may not have been worth the while

also made some workshirts and pants at reasonable price (LujiaBang lu)

The main thing i will miss about China would be the food.

Reasonably fresh, spicy at times (Ma la huo guo) but overall an experience not to be missed.

also we stayed at Super 8 Motel, which was like 20USD a night. though small and only 1 star (haha), it had internet connection and was clean enough.

Good and fruitful trip!!

:paint: