bluedusk 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2008 My dad just came home with a very little pleasant surprise. It's the Korean Solid Surface Top Sample. Pure white!Wow..so nice... I love white... too bad they don't really have a pure white homogeneous tiles kind.Anyway I finally set a date to choose tiles already! It is weird though as the location is in the West, cos I tot all Ideal House clients to go to Hafary to choose tiles.Any tiles tips to share? I doubt I will be able to visit the tiles place a few times. Will like to confirm the first time there.I am still clueless about kitchen and toilet stuff... wah... so many things to learn and so many "hidden" costs. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darrenelle 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2008 Wow..so nice... I love white... too bad they don't really have a pure white homogeneous tiles kind.Anyway I finally set a date to choose tiles already! It is weird though as the location is in the West, cos I tot all Ideal House clients to go to Hafary to choose tiles.Any tiles tips to share? I doubt I will be able to visit the tiles place a few times. Will like to confirm the first time there.I am still clueless about kitchen and toilet stuff... wah... so many things to learn and so many "hidden" costs.Bluedusk!! How come practice so different? You all have 3D drawing before selecting tiles. Anyway black tiles!! So In! I love the layout of your unit leh... Swee....BTW, the above is solid surface top. I just called my ID to change floor homogeneous tile again.It's almost pure white already. the code is KAJ 600, brand is Boh Hua. If the code and brand is the same and u coulf not find something you want, you may want to ask Danny about it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strychnine 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2008 (edited) u choosing white sold surface too ?? me also thinking of white...but i heard it gets yellow easily... !! but dunno leh. im one of those guilty ones who'll choose aesthetics over functionality ... heeee....- stry Edited April 22, 2008 by strychnine Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2008 By the way, just to share some information.We were advised by the ID to try choosing homogeneous tiles brand Bohua (can find out from the back of the tile). Cos we were told that they received the homogeneous tile of the other brand that come in the right model but different tone. It is giving them a headache now that they have to change and reorder again. Everything else will have to push back.Oh dear... the tile samples dun have the words leh... Or is it on the actual tile to be used? !! Steven called just now but didnt mention this lehz... Hope everything shun shun for all of us... !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted April 23, 2008 My dad just came home with a very little pleasant surprise. It's the Korean Solid Surface Top Sample. Pure white!Mine is also white solid top, now worried about maintenance. That day got a red stain and took a while to come off. Used to use dark grey with speckles and dirty also don't know (good or bad depends on how you see it, haha)...I was not around when their did the installation but they did told my mum how to take care but she cannot remember what they say liao. Maybe you can ask your ID how to maintain the white solid top and share with us. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jjcian 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2008 Mine is also white solid top, now worried about maintenance. That day got a red stain and took a while to come off. Used to use dark grey with speckles and dirty also don't know (good or bad depends on how you see it, haha)...I was not around when their did the installation but they did told my mum how to take care but she cannot remember what they say liao. Maybe you can ask your ID how to maintain the white solid top and share with us. hi keltong, can share how u remove it? read from mace that acetone quite powerful, can remove alot of stains but can use it on solid surface? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darrenelle 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 (edited) u choosing white sold surface too ?? me also thinking of white...but i heard it gets yellow easily... but dunno leh. im one of those guilty ones who'll choose aesthetics over functionality ... heeee....- stryI am not sure leh. I am using the top quality Korean Surface top. Will it not stain so easily? Eh.... not that we have more money to spend but becos we have lobang for a very good deal.I am also the guilty one. heee...Oh dear... the tile samples dun have the words leh... Or is it on the actual tile to be used? Steven called just now but didnt mention this lehz... Hope everything shun shun for all of us... It's stated behind the tiles. He didn't mention perhaps becos yours is not affected??Mine is also white solid top, now worried about maintenance. That day got a red stain and took a while to come off. Used to use dark grey with speckles and dirty also don't know (good or bad depends on how you see it, haha)...I was not around when their did the installation but they did told my mum how to take care but she cannot remember what they say liao. Maybe you can ask your ID how to maintain the white solid top and share with us. Haha.... But according to my dad's colleague advice is to take the white one. When we consulted some other ID in the past, they also recommend white one. Cos they say marks will look very obvious on black tiles. Perhaps they are comparing glossy finish tiles with no prints or speckles.Shall ask around, hopefully can share some info with u guys soon. =) Edited April 24, 2008 by darrenelle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 (edited) Mine is also white solid top, now worried about maintenance. That day got a red stain and took a while to come off. Used to use dark grey with speckles and dirty also don't know (good or bad depends on how you see it, haha)...I was not around when their did the installation but they did told my mum how to take care but she cannot remember what they say liao. Maybe you can ask your ID how to maintain the white solid top and share with us. ours is Corian off-white with little specks so that easier to maintain.On my side, I am not so worried about stains, rather the scratches on the acrylic top.Super duper easy to scratch. But can restore yourself if you are into DIY (with a rotary/orbiter polisher and light abrasive cream/fine sandpaper).But for deeper scratches, need them to come sand to a new finish again.no regrets using off-white Edited April 24, 2008 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darrenelle 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 ours is Corian off-white with little specks so that easier to maintain.On my side, I am not so worried about stains, rather the scratches on the acrylic top.Super duper easy to scratch. But can restore yourself if you are into DIY (with a rotary/orbiter polisher and light abrasive cream/fine sandpaper).But for deeper scratches, need them to come sand to a new finish again.no regrets using off-white Oops... It's Corian eh? Not Korean... hehe.. paiseh paiseh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 (edited) Oops... It's Corian eh? Not Korean... hehe.. paiseh paisehyup, Corian.When you said "top quality Korean Surface top", I thought you werereferring to LG Hi-Macs solid surfaces http://www.lghi-macs.com/ Edited April 24, 2008 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 Compassvale, how much did u pay per feet for ur corian top? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 (edited) Compassvale, how much did u pay per feet for ur corian top?we renovated in June 06 - can't remember exactly,but i think should be around $120-140? can't remember it's the same or slightly more ex than good quality granite.In terms of resistance to scratches and toughness, granite is a good choice.but we din go for it because of the seamlines for long lengths ( can be minimised by have the seamsalong the cooktop though) and also we wanted light colours to contrast the dark cabinet colours.Having granite (dark colours mostly) and the dark cabinet will render the kitchen too dark.On the other hand, light cabinets with granite may be nice but that makes marks on the cabinets more obvious and harder to remove can try some other tops like quartz or silestone too, apple jie also think these are the better choices Edited April 24, 2008 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strychnine 0 Report post Posted April 25, 2008 (edited) Oops... It's Corian eh? Not Korean... hehe.. paiseh paiseh Hey i made the same mistake *hi-five* Haha.. when the ID was explaining to us the comparison between Corian and a china brand one, we assumed that he was telling us differences of products frm 2 diff country. I only knew it was CORIAN after he showed us the label. - stry Edited April 25, 2008 by strychnine Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 25, 2008 When you said "top quality Korean Surface top", I thought you were referring to LG Hi-Macs solid surfaces yah i thought it's hi-mac too but i was quoted $140 - $160 for them :jawdrop: i'm a rough person, so granite is the best for my budget had wanted to go for quartz (silestone or LG) but it's $140psf and the choices quite limited that time Share this post Link to post Share on other sites