darrenelle

It's Darrenelle's

To be on the practical side, i would rather have a bigger fridge and let the kitchen looks cramp....

i know of some families ended up with 2 fridge as they do not have enough space to store and they will have to pay double for the power bill....

think twice....

agreed as my in laws are having that...2 fridges kekekke

my kitchen cabinet and sink support took almost 10ft

similar to your design so i went for a 410l fridge

not really very cramp but sacrificed counter space

maybe you want to go for those fridge that are tall instead of wide :notti:

hi darrenelle,

my family of 5 previously has been using a small fridge for 20 over years. not a big problem la..just that sometimes the fridge is full of food. but after awhile the food is cleared. My mum likes to buy alot of food, keep in the fridge and eat the next day. So we r considered a heavy user using small fridge.

if u r buying a small fridge, its better to buy 3door small fridge cos its segregate your food well. better for storage

btw..your tv feature wall is cool :dribble:

Edited by Yang Guo

Thank you Virgo2829, Hobbes187, Babytan, Applefreak and Yang Guo!!

Yah maybe smaller capacity fridge will require us to clear the food faster and bigger capacity will allow us to keep the food longer... :D

Like the idea of getting a taller fridge leh.. since we have length to spare.

Thank you once again, we'll put all of them into consideration. :D

Small Hiccups | Rojak Theme

The very first thing after I reached my home and dropped my bag was changed and walked to our house to see the progress of the tiles work. Bf called me over the weekend regarding the kitchen floor tiles. It was not laid staggered which we wanted and according to Steven , we did not mention it to him. On my part, I remembered Bf didn't like 2x1 tiles even when Steven was recommending to lay it staggered till he saw an example in the magazine. That's what made us finally picked the 2x1 tiles. I choose to let it be a miscommunication. I want to hear solution. Very outrightly, we asked about the cost to hacked and redo. Most likely, we will split the cost. But now, I was thinking if we should go through the trouble and spend that additional few hundreds bucks. Decisions again. It sucks la.

Anyway, some picture to share.

1) The kitchen I am talking about. Look! It's almost 3/4 done! The fridge and cabinet base is up also lor....

DSCF1398.JPG

2) Common toilet. One place that we did not really bother about and totally leave it up to Steven. We have NOT even seen a 3D drawing of it. It's quite a pleasant surprise, when we least expected it.

DSCF1402.JPG

3) MBR toilet. The rustic tiles are up! Hmmm.... Bf thinks it's nice. I shall just say it's different.

DSCF1405.JPG

4) Living. View from the inside to the living room.

DSCF1410.JPG

Suddenly, I realised the theme of our home.. it's ROJAK Theme!!

you hacked the service yard windows and door

makes the kitchen look so much more spacious

me regret liao leh :~

Hush hush... don't cry...

you have saved $$$ on hacking it and building another window.... :sport-smiley-018:

Edited by darrenelle

you hacked the service yard windows and door

makes the kitchen look so much more spacious

me regret liao leh :~

the 3rd floor unit at deathcoth's blk also hacked away the SY window n door.. even the cement part. i realised that the owners seemed to replace a 3-pc sliding glass door in it's place.

It's a record. I did not call my ID for more than three days and have not gone up to the house to take a look for almost the whole week. All because of the very tight schedule and hectic plans for the past few months that made me fall sick finally. Down with fever and very bad headache., twisted my wrist also. Dr said I needed rest. :(

I restored a little energy and went up to the house today.

The electrical work in the kitchen. :)

DSCF1411.JPG

The L-Box for cove light is up! :)

DSCF1416.JPG

That grey panel is the headboard for the bed. Lights will be shining above. I wonder if the headboard is a bit high. But then again we are expecting a platform. :unsure:

DSCF1417.JPG

The air-con trunking just below the beam, which makes our house ceiling even lower. Bf has been complaining that our house ceiling is very low. :(

Oh noticed.... The windows at the living room is up too. :)

DSCF1415.JPG

The kitchen floor tiles. So glad that we redo it. It really worths it. It is exactly what we expected and we are happy now, at least. :)

Photo0383.jpg

Photo0382.jpg

The pebble wash at the shower area in common bathroom. :)

Photo0385.jpg

We went to IFC last week. We made the very first purchase for our furniture. This dining table from Lucano. One that both of us have no opinions about and love it at first sight. We ordered the smaller piece 150 x 85 in piano white. :)

Photo0389.jpg

It does seem your bedhead is a bit high since platform has a certain level per HDB requirement not to mention with a mattress piled on top of the platform? :dunno:

But looks very spacious your place now.

We had a long day. The pod speaker man came up to roughly take a look at the placements and handover a super long cable. Mr Bf is in charge of it as I am not technically inclined with the sound system.

Shortly after he left, our ID arrived. The very first thing he mentioned was he agreed that the headboard was too high and told his worker to amend it. Within the next minute, the headboard height was reduced. :good:

Photo0414.jpg

As compared to other units, the flooring of our house is about 1-2 higher that makes Mr Bf quite unhappy. According to ID, this is because to level up with the screeding in the room which were done by HDB contractors. He told us the screeding was done higher than usual and it is pretty common among the works that were done by HDB contractors. I wonder if any forummers faced the same problem as us?

Bf felt we could have made a mistake in order to save cost, however he felt that our ID could also have warned us about it if he had already noticed it. And as compared to our neighbor, the aircon trunking below the beam in the center of our living was much lower too. That in turn causes the whole beam looks so much lower after box up and it is only 3-4inch above Bf's head. It felt like Bf is going to knock on his head everytime he walks under it. Despite the fact that he is tall, personally, I felt it is really low. :(

Photo0413.jpg

Other than that, we have also chosen the color of the paintings and discussed about the tv console, tv feature and bomb shelter feature today. ID wanted to cover as much as possible so that he could handover on time. He did mention there might be slight delay, which we didn't really mind.

We have purchased most lighting and just short of a standing lamp the living. Surprisingly, lightings stage was pretty fuss free and cheap. So far, including all ceiling lightings we have paid for from Chelsea, the dining and MBR lights, we spent a total of about $1600, which is so much within budget. :sport-smiley-003:

Let me end my post today with a picture of the foyer that was long done but never revealed before.

Photo0412.jpg

Your bedhead looks better now. :)

Um about the screeding part I dunno whether it is acceptable based on your ID's words but for my place when the HDB contractors came to see the flooring to ascertain how high can the screeding be done. That contractor just measure at the gap below the balcony door frame in the living room with his measuring tape and said that the screeding would have to be on level with the balcony flooring. which meant just at the balcony door frame level only for the screeded floor.

For laminate flooring, got to ensure that the whole floor is on the same even-ness for screeding layer. Meaning must be same level for whole area. Thats what the laminate brand guy said. That why the HDB contractors got to do the screeding properly or else walk around can feel one part lower than the rest. Thats what happen to my place. :( Can actually feel some parts of the screeding under the laminate flooring is slightly lower than the rest.

I think that the ceiling height has requirement not to be too low even with false ceiling or L Box, the same goes for flooring & platform level not to be too high also. Its a matter of ergonomics.

Edited by BunBun

Thanks Bunbun,

ID did mention to us the eveness and levelling of the laminate which we think we can't really do much about it already. We happened to drop by our neighbour's newly renovated house, our Beam with the aircon trunking is much lower. and our flooring is much higher. urgh... we wonder about the beam. but we know we can't do much for the floor.

ID told us that there is a layer of skeleton just below the the trunking to support it. It's pretty standard also. Even neighbor's ID (he was there when we were there) also told us it should be a standard. then y our neighbor's one is not as low as ours leh??

My bf could stretch his arm below the beam of neighbour's but only could do a 3 inch hand sign below ours..