babyiguana

Average Quote For 5-rm Resale

Does anyone have any idea what is the average quote for a 5-rm resale?

I'm currently looking for renovation for my new flat..

Thanks..

It really depends what you want to do. If no major hacking work, $30K should be pretty enough.

Just drop by any ID firms and show their your floor plan, you can get plenty of quotes from them.

Guest tommy_moby

true true.. i can recommend my ID to you. PM me for his contact.. reasonable price, nice design.

actually i'm interested to find out too, cuz i will b getting keys to my house next month. !!

not sure wat is considered major works, the main items i can think of is possibly to hack half a wall, so as to build a WIW to connect to the MBR. the other big item will probably be the kitchen, changing the cabinets and top and so on.

Seems like hacking of the wall and the WIW might be a costly item. anyone can enlighten me how much it will roughly cost? !!

i am in the same boat as you all, not sure how much will the renovation cost for my 5I flat.

i tink the major work for my flat will be hacking of the floor and wall tiles and i am tinking of using compressed marble for the floor of bedrooms and living room. Kitchen and bathroom will be using homo tiles. Not sure whether will $10k be enough for that...

Thanks for the advice.. Hi tulips.. I'm facing the same as u.. my flat is also 5I and had gotten the keys for >1month and still serching for renovation.. so worried that my hse will nt be ready by early Jun.. :yamseng:

Had gone to a few ids but they charge me very high.. haiz..but i budget budget leh.. :dunno:

Thanks for the advice.. Hi tulips.. I'm facing the same as u.. my flat is also 5I and had gotten the keys for >1month and still serching for renovation.. so worried that my hse will nt be ready by early Jun.. :bath:

Had gone to a few ids but they charge me very high.. haiz..but i budget budget leh.. :(

Hi Hi :dunno:

I am in the same boat , which is starting to look like a ship now. :yamseng:

Taking possesion of my resale EA in Hougang soon, 141 SQM.

Already cracking my head over quotations and which Reno Contractor or ID will be good. Spent like an hour reading all the post from the Ho Bee thread. Thinking of asking them for a rough quote to kick start things.

Oh yeah keep dreaming of hacked walls and open room concept every night :notti: , but wake up to price reality every morning ..

Sigh ...

Hi mates, looks like quite a few of you on the ship leh :notti:

If you are looking for an ID, can try GPlan, gathered that their feedback is not bad. But if you are looking for a contractor, Ho Bee is good. The difference between ID and contractor is, ID will give you ideas and design suggestions, of course 3D pics too. Their charges will be higher as well :dunno:

The main killer for a reno is carpentry work, be it your kitchen cabinet or wardrobe.

Enjoy your reno :yamseng:

Haiz... it is hard to get those dream home without $$$

I really wonder how come ppl can afford those $50k-$60k renovation... envy leh :yamseng: ... one of my fren juz got the quotations from some of the IDs and she told me the price abit :notti: lowest quote she got is around $35k, highest is $60k for a 5I at sembawang

Now I finally realise that the cost of just starting a family is really high... :horse:

Haiz... it is hard to get those dream home without $$$

I really wonder how come ppl can afford those $50k-$60k renovation... envy leh :P ... one of my fren juz got the quotations from some of the IDs and she told me the price abit :P lowest quote she got is around $35k, highest is $60k for a 5I at sembawang

Now I finally realise that the cost of just starting a family is really high... :good:

Actually, it is not the amount of money you spent on renovation but how you spent it. For instance, some ppl spent 50-60k but the outcome don't look nice to my eyes because the workmanship was bad or the design looked too artificial and ornate.

On the other hand, I hv seen some interiors which look classic and really beautiful because the flat owner wisely avoided designs that were too "stylish" and instead opted for the simple and uncluttered look, spending not too much (less than 20k) for basic renovation like the floors, windows, doors, wiring, aircon. Next, they spent money on good quallity furniture, and especially use lighting creatively to give "mood" to the home. The result is simply stunning!

Don't forget you can take away good furniture and expensive light fixtures -- so money spent on these are not wasted. In fact, good expensive furniture like rosewood or teak can be passed onto yr kids, provided you select classic designs that never go out of style. I hv a square rosewood coffee table that cost me $1.5k that was bought 15 yrs ago and still looks wonderful today! If I did not buy it then and hv to buy a coffee table I still wld buy that particular model today! that is the way to make yr money work harder for you.

Also, when you get quotes, the idea is not to compare total amounts but individual items e.g granite flooring (not more than 8-10K for 4/5R) or windows (about $1,500-2,000 depending on 4, 5, or Executive). When you first start to seek quotation from IDs, etc use the ID's firm promotional offers as a starting point to negotiate and work the package from there to yr flat's renovation requirements. You will find you can save a bundle :dunno:

Will post the amount i spent on flooring, doors, windows, etc later on my blog (by next week) so you can compare against yr own quotations, and you can also check out the workmanship you should expect for the money you spend.

Ppl sometimes feel pai-seh e.g. they think if they spend too little, they should not expect excellent workmanship. Surprise -- just see how much (or how little!) I spent and the good workmanship I got against the reasonable pricing (not big) I got in my contract. I used the money saved to spend on better quality toilets, light fixtures and furniture. And check out the light fixtures at Lightcraft. My ID told me to avoid the shop (it was well-known for expensive light fixtures) but I was surprised i cld get some really really wonderful and high quality light fixtures for a reasonable small price at Lightcraft, compared to prices in those lighting shops at Balestier or Jln Besar.

Don't want to make my post toooo loong. So will stop here. :)

Edited by BlueFly

actually i'm interested to find out too, cuz i will b getting keys to my house next month. :P

not sure wat is considered major works, the main items i can think of is possibly to hack half a wall, so as to build a WIW to connect to the MBR. the other big item will probably be the kitchen, changing the cabinets and top and so on.

Seems like hacking of the wall and the WIW might be a costly item. anyone can enlighten me how much it will roughly cost? :good:

Hi kgms,

hacking depends on whether a Professional Engineer is required anot, cost more if required. WIW not so sure, shd b charged as per-foot-run.

i am in the same boat as you all, not sure how much will the renovation cost for my 5I flat.

i tink the major work for my flat will be hacking of the floor and wall tiles and i am tinking of using compressed marble for the floor of bedrooms and living room. Kitchen and bathroom will be using homo tiles. Not sure whether will $10k be enough for that...

Hi tulips,

I tink 10k is insufficient if ur considering to hack the floor & wall tiles. Is ur flat new from HDB? Can 'search' for defects like hollow, cracked, chipped tiles.

Thanks for the advice.. Hi tulips.. I'm facing the same as u.. my flat is also 5I and had gotten the keys for >1month and still serching for renovation.. so worried that my hse will nt be ready by early Jun.. :P

Had gone to a few ids but they charge me very high.. haiz..but i budget budget leh.. :(

Hi babyiguana,

mind telling us how much ur budget is, den can give advices as accordingly.

my flat aso 5i, jus to share my experience.

1. Establish ur budget within ur means.

2. List down the tings tat u MUST do.

3. List down the tings tat r optional, dun do aso wunt affect anyting.

Den u can start look for quotes. My point of view is no point using contractor nowadays, cos price is as high as ID firms, worried abt extra costs.

Can drop out those infamous ones here like EI B3n3d1ct, Gplan K3lv1n aso cos they r busy & 'diff to quote' if ur budget is too low.

The above statement is my personal view only, dun believe can try.. :dunno:

After shortlisting those firms recommended here, can ask them for a quote liao.

Hope the above helps, & not naggy. :)

L3x