frostyflake 0 Report post Posted April 10, 2008 I guess I'm a very primitive person and my idea of kitchen cabinets and wardrobe are just rows and rows of shelves and planks or poles for your to put and hang stuff.But I found out that there are these so called 'system' for kitchen and wardrobe... blum.. poliform.. alumix etc etc.. I am really confused here. I tried reading them up and still confused Can any kind souls here tell me what are these systems, and what's so special or different about them??? Can't the carpenter do the same thing? Why do people go for these systems?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 10, 2008 kitchen cabinets are simply that - kitchen cabinetsmade of plywood usually and a countertop installed to make the working area more hardyto make it more user friendly, soft-closing / smooth running drawer runners (the thing that helps the drawer coming out and going back) are usedin olden days, the drawer simply runs with the cut-out on the drawer fitting with the protruding wooden piece on the cabinetthere are also soft-closing hinges for doorsthe more well-known brands are blum, hettich, hafiele and a local brand which i suddenly don't rememberfor wardrobe, it's also simply wardrobethere's the conventional wooden wardrobe which comes with either a sliding door or casement door (pull open push shut kind)then there's the pole system, when shelves and drawers are held up by poles instead of wooden planksthe suppliers for pole systems include alumix, ximula, ikea and many othershope it helps a little Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frostyflake 0 Report post Posted April 10, 2008 ohhhhhh... so it's like that... thanks apple, it helps a lot, not a little! At least now I dun feel that mountain turtle !! I can see the usefulness for the kitchen ones.. but hor for the wardrobe.. hmm what are the advantages of using the pole over the conventional wardrobes? Save space or for aesthetic purpose?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 11, 2008 the pole system is far more flexible than the conventional wardrobecoz your needs change overtime and you can adjust the position of the shelves on the polee.g. now used by child so shelves all positioned low, as child grow up shelves can be pushed higher also, you can dismantle the pole system and bring it over to your new homewhereas you can't do the same for the conventional wardrobesalso, you need a carcass for conventional wardrobesbut you can just set up the pole system anyway (as long as you are not afraid of dust ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frostyflake 0 Report post Posted April 11, 2008 i see... now i know gum sia for the detail explanation apple!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 11, 2008 you're most welcome :notti: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sam Lee Poh Huat 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 kitchen cabinets are simply that - kitchen cabinetsmade of plywood usually and a countertop installed to make the working area more hardyto make it more user friendly, soft-closing / smooth running drawer runners (the thing that helps the drawer coming out and going back) are usedin olden days, the drawer simply runs with the cut-out on the drawer fitting with the protruding wooden piece on the cabinetthere are also soft-closing hinges for doorsthe more well-known brands are blum, hettich, hafiele and a local brand which i suddenly don't rememberfor wardrobe, it's also simply wardrobethere's the conventional wooden wardrobe which comes with either a sliding door or casement door (pull open push shut kind)then there's the pole system, when shelves and drawers are held up by poles instead of wooden planksthe suppliers for pole systems include alumix, ximula, ikea and many othershope it helps a little hi ms apple..any local address of the above mentioned brands(blum, hettich, hafiele, alumix, ximula) where i cld view their product? ikea i no prob... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 paiseh, i'm not sure where you can view their productsonly know alumix is around toa payoh areathen classic kitchen (tg katong complex), heirloom (along balestier) and seng kwong (defu lane) uses hettich or hafele Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 hi ms apple..any local address of the above mentioned brands(blum, hettich, hafiele, alumix, ximula) where i cld view their product? ikea i no prob... Alumix and Ximula are the same company. They are going to be under this company call Besglas soon.Main Office: Blk 2 Toa Payoh Ind Park #01-1401 S319054Showroom: 2 Jurong East St 21 Unit L3-11 IMM Building S609601Website: alumix.com and ximula.comGot the address off my invoice. Heehee...I went to their office at TP and they got display there too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
groovygenie 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 Hey Keltong,What did you get from them? We're thinking of a pole system wardrobe too, it is actually more cost effective than normal wardrobe, and cooler cheers!Alumix and Ximula are the same company. They are going to be under this company call Besglas soon.Main Office: Blk 2 Toa Payoh Ind Park #01-1401 S319054Showroom: 2 Jurong East St 21 Unit L3-11 IMM Building S609601Website: alumix.com and ximula.comGot the address off my invoice. Heehee...I went to their office at TP and they got display there too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2008 Keltong can advise the price?Apple, can advise if Hafele or Hettich is more ex?thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted April 25, 2008 Keltong can advise the price?Apple, can advise if Hafele or Hettich is more ex?thanksDepending on the interior fittings and door (got 1 or 2 types more expensive), my 6ft was about $1400. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sam Lee Poh Huat 0 Report post Posted April 25, 2008 paiseh, i'm not sure where you can view their productsonly know alumix is around toa payoh areathen classic kitchen (tg katong complex), heirloom (along balestier) and seng kwong (defu lane) uses hettich or hafele Alumix and Ximula are the same company. They are going to be under this company call Besglas soon.Main Office: Blk 2 Toa Payoh Ind Park #01-1401 S319054Showroom: 2 Jurong East St 21 Unit L3-11 IMM Building S609601Website: alumix.com and ximula.comGot the address off my invoice. Heehee...I went to their office at TP and they got display there too.thanks applef n keltong~! .. for ur prompt reply.. guess this forum r popular due to helpful pple like u all ard. When i was at a motorcycle forum.. some r less helpful than u pple r now.. search n read urself.. which can b back dated to years back thanks again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 25, 2008 (edited) Apple, can advise if Hafele or Hettich is more ex? thanks paiseh can't really help you there coz i'm using blum for my drawers paid $60 per drawer for the soft closing runners try to check with your contractors as they are the ones with the lobang thanks applef n keltong~! .. for ur prompt reply.. guess this forum r popular due to helpful pple like u all ard. When i was at a motorcycle forum.. some r less helpful than u pple r now.. search n read urself.. which can b back dated to years back thanks again you're most welcome think we have gone through the pain of searching coz this forum the search function not very 'friendly' and with people like ahnah, odie, mace helping us on the way i felt we should reciprocate and pass on these information we learnt Edited April 25, 2008 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hanni06 0 Report post Posted April 25, 2008 i used hettich soft closing system for drawers... we paid $650 for 7 big 2 small drawers... hope this helps. applefreak - any photos for your blum drawers, we used hettich coz it was more affordable... but blum was our first choice! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites