LivingDLON1.jpg

LivingcovelightinON1.jpg

LivingcovelightON1.jpg

Kitchen:

KitchenlightingOFF.jpg

Curtain pelmet:

Livingpelmet.jpg

Speaking of curtain,

I tink its by far the most tedious & frustrating reno item. Cos its very difficult to justify the price of the piece of cloth u like.

Some ppl did theirs at 700-900, some did theirs at 1000-3000??? Very difficult to compare cos of the material & length, but in most cases the 'material' commands the premium for it.

Tried searching RT for information, cant get much aso. Den the curtain shops all nvr label e pricing for the curtains, wana choose aso difficult. Den when u c the cloth u like & wan it, they said "its a better quality, u have to top up how much how much blah blah blah.."

Very Sian.. :furious:

The 'material' is a very intangible component tat warrants the price, sometimes double the price of the latter, which I felt it is only favourable to the sellers & not the buyers.. :( Cause the curtains all nvr labelled the prices.

However, I signed up wif Jimmy Textiles based on their reputation. Hoped they live up to it as a reasonable store.

L3x

Study:

StudylightOFF1.jpg

StudylightON.jpg

Bedroom 2:

MumsrmlightOFF1.jpg

MumsrmlightingON1.jpg

MBR:

MBRpassagelightON.jpg

The shine is very bright, cant really c the lighting in pics.. Photographer lousy, duno how to use cam. ME.. :bleah:

But the light is really glamorous in 'real-life'. :D

L3x

Hey Pal , Nice lightings you have there :)

Can see you moving in soon bah

Anyway , have you gone to jimmy textiles ?

Hi Lin & L3x

Fab lights. :dribble: ...lots of tots goes into them, the 2nd & study bedroom lights cover (side) colors as according to the room colors.

For curtains.... Jus go wif your instinct and pick something dat u are comfortable wif, U guys hv taste (jus look at the lights!), trust yourself, don't let it bother u too much. :sport-smiley-003:

The main function of the curtains is to gives privacy and of course complete the house, most of the time u are the one looking at them. Its like an art piece :paint: ....everyone has their own taste and value is subjective. Jus an example.... theres a friend who sew her own curtains and beddings using materials from Spotlight, neighbourhood fabric store and Ikea, but her house looks like its totally designer wares, cos the rest of the house are tastefully furnished. Where theres another friend who spend about 2k on her curtains alone (using all imported European material), but it looks odd in her house, cos it didn't fit into her modern bright white wif glass and black leather design.

As for the price of fabric, ask for a small piece of sample of the ones u like and use dat to ask around. For imported items, it will state on the ends of fabric the brand, can check on dat too.

Just my 2 cents worth.....

Hey Pal , Nice lightings you have there :)

Can see you moving in soon bah

Anyway , have you gone to jimmy textiles ?

Thx, pal. Shd b moving in June. Have signed up wif them..

Quoted abt 1500++

-Living Day & Night curtain wif double curved tracks

-MBR Night wif tracks

-Study wif roller shades

-RM2 wif Night curtain

I suggest u recee 1st, its the most difficult item ever to buy in reno. Not like air-con, grilles, doors, electrical appliances, where u can compare the specs..

Lin..nice ceiling layout you have. very different from others. good taste and special :):yamseng::bow:

Hi Lin & L3x

Fab lights. :dribble: ...lots of tots goes into them, the 2nd & study bedroom lights cover (side) colors as according to the room colors.

For curtains.... Jus go wif your instinct and pick something dat u are comfortable wif, U guys hv taste (jus look at the lights!), trust yourself, don't let it bother u too much. :sport-smiley-003:

The main function of the curtains is to gives privacy and of course complete the house, most of the time u are the one looking at them. Its like an art piece :paint: ....everyone has their own taste and value is subjective. Jus an example.... theres a friend who sew her own curtains and beddings using materials from Spotlight, neighbourhood fabric store and Ikea, but her house looks like its totally designer wares, cos the rest of the house are tastefully furnished. Where theres another friend who spend about 2k on her curtains alone (using all imported European material), but it looks odd in her house, cos it didn't fit into her modern bright white wif glass and black leather design.

As for the price of fabric, ask for a small piece of sample of the ones u like and use dat to ask around. For imported items, it will state on the ends of fabric the brand, can check on dat too.

Just my 2 cents worth.....

Thx, Goh & MLR. Made me so :sport-smiley-003: wif ur assurance.. :)

Ya, MLR, wat u said is true. Anyway, we have decided to put it behind us liaoz since we have signed up wif them.. Jus hope they can deliver quality stuffs.. ;)

Have u found ur curtains too??

well said! btw you should look for the product code and call up the curtain shops to inquire. sometimes they will recommend similar designs or fabric of cheaper price.

n here is a list of curtain directory in case u r interested:)

http://diva79.blogspot.com/2008/03/directo...s-curtains.html

Hi diva, thx for ur tips. Anyway, jus curious. How much were u quoted for ur curtains?? The dining organza is aso someting we r looking at, if u can provide the quote & dimension of it. :notti:

Copyright of Diva79

dininglivingrm.jpg

bedroom.jpg

:dribble:

L3x

Edited by Lin & L3x

Carpentry is starting.. Very excited, cant wait to c the finished product.. :sport-smiley-004::sport-smiley-004:

More carpentry works coming up.. :dribble:

:rofl:

Kitchen cabinets

Kitchencabinetsinprogress-1.jpg

Kitchencabinetsinprogress.jpg

MBR toilet

MBRtoiletinprogress.jpg

MBRtoiletvanityinprogress.jpg

MBRtoiletshowerscreen.jpg

Think you should be happy your carpentry is finally taking shape...

I noticed you didnt change your pipes and still using HDB PVC ones... My ID was supposed to give me copper pipes (as stated in quote) but in the end they installed stainless steel ones. Anyone knows which one is more exp?

i went for copper coz it's more flexible

easier to bend so workmanship not so much an issue

if the plumber is not so experienced, using s/s might cause leakage problem in the future coz the s/s is compromised by the bending

s/s is more brittle, so bending too much will compromise the integrity of the material :yamseng:

Think you should be happy your carpentry is finally taking shape...

I noticed you didnt change your pipes and still using HDB PVC ones... My ID was supposed to give me copper pipes (as stated in quote) but in the end they installed stainless steel ones. Anyone knows which one is more exp?

Ya, happy.. Cant wait for it to finish.. :notti:

I didnt change my pipes, felt quite wasteful to change it. If I can choose, I rather conceal it.. :notti:

Do u like the 'steel-pipings' look or u prefer to use copper pipes & paint it over??

K aso gave some stainless steel pipings for plumbing works, a more costly material than PVC, which is wat my pipes r. Seems like Ideal House like to give stainless steel..

for the organza which u looked at we choose the slighter cheaper alternative from the one which i had been eyeing on. for the dimensions i cant rem fully but here are the details:

1. dining area full length (4 hdb windows panels) (2 layer - red wavy + grey organza)

2. living room full length (6 hdb windows panels) (2 layer - red wavy + grey organza)

3. blackout roller blinds for kitchen (4 hdb windows panels)

4. blackout roller blinds for guest room (4 hdb windows panels)

5. semi see thru roller blinds for study room (4 hdb windows panels)

6. mbr full length (4 hdb windows panels) (2 layer - red wavy + grey organza)

total damage is 2.2k i think (1.5 year + ago). its from a lobang given by our id and we find him really much cheaper after comparing around 4 curtain shops.

Wao.. Its really very cheap.. :good: R they washable by washing machine? Will it crumpled easily?? Edited by Lin & L3x

Jus added coffee table to my bill list.. :notti:

LivingcoffeetableLeads320.jpg

The glasses can b interchange :yeah: , black one above & clear one below..

Edited by Lin & L3x

Jus added coffee table to my bill list.. :notti:

LivingcoffeetableLeads320.jpg

The glasses can b interchange :yeah: , black one above & clear one below..

Hi Lin & L3x

As usual, impeccable taste :good:, must be quite a lobang to the pocket.....

nice nice!

Hi Lin & L3x

As usual, impeccable taste :good:, must be quite a lobang to the pocket.....

Jessie/MLR, thx.. :)

Some additional carpentry in progress.. :D

More coming up..

:sport-smiley-004::sport-smiley-004:

Living TV feature wall

LivingTVfeaturewallinprogress.jpg

MBR wardrobe

MBRwardrobeinprogress.jpg

L3x