Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 Hi L3x HDB contractor jus started tiling the kitchen las sat. My actual reno will only b able to commence from 12/05 dat week.... hopefully there won't b further problem after hdb rectifications.... I read somewhere dat 1 unit in our neigbourhood re hack the kitchen tiles after hdb rectifications!! I hv to move out by end May... my landlord has been very patient and accommodating, I don't want to push my luck. So powerful , re-hack again. Actually, depends on individual standard.. Felix's standard v.high, came over to my place & c the HDB tiling. Den he decide not to use HDB tilers.. Ya, btw this is the window area. Duno clear anot.. Hey L3X (dunno why I keep addressing Lin but not L3X, sorry ) But on our HDB login we were actually given a different TO number - some other guy who's in charge of my unit. This other guy was the one who came down, scrutinized the defects and promised to get back to us. Is it OK to call a diff TO ? - Stry Nvm.. Ur not the only one.. Hahha I tink u better find the TO designated for u. U go to other TO, they aso referred bk to ur designated TO. Is he Mr James Huan?? L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 Hi L3X Our standard not high at all, my hs tot the previous condition was ok and even d different tones in the kitchen wall tiles was acceptable Me the fussier one, but still can accept the hdb standard, also got to watch our budget. Wow, your tiler is very smart/good.... to drop a tile height (dats how i see it as in pic) and resolve the problem.. From the pic can see u got a bit of sun.... i would prefer dat than to directly face someone's house.... Looking forward to your kitchen..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 I agree with Felix. It shifts yearly. But don't you think the view is fantastic...? As oppose to staring at another block of flat right across you.... ? Harlow....care to explain the yearly shift of the sun thingy? Just very curious as I chanced upon this... I only know the wind change half-yrly....dinno sun can change position wan?? Shdnt it be follow direction? Great view! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Felix 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 Hey L3X (dunno why I keep addressing Lin but not L3X, sorry ) But on our HDB login we were actually given a different TO number - some other guy who's in charge of my unit. This other guy was the one who came down, scrutinized the defects and promised to get back to us. Is it OK to call a diff TO ? - Stry hmmm ... not james ah? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 I think this is how it goes : it appears that the sun is in a sitting position while the earth rotates on the axis but because of the gravity + lightspeed years the earth will shift slightly while rotating that the sun will be on this and that place. Which also explains why the sunrise & sunset appear in different positon. Also the sun rotates around the earth at a pace, say for example it is morning in the west countries, evening in the east countries, something like this? Harlow....care to explain the yearly shift of the sun thingy? Just very curious as I chanced upon this... I only know the wind change half-yrly....dinno sun can change position wan?? Shdnt it be follow direction? Great view! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 Hi L3X Our standard not high at all, my hs tot the previous condition was ok and even d different tones in the kitchen wall tiles was acceptable Me the fussier one, but still can accept the hdb standard, also got to watch our budget. Wow, your tiler is very smart/good.... to drop a tile height (dats how i see it as in pic) and resolve the problem.. From the pic can see u got a bit of sun.... i would prefer dat than to directly face someone's house.... Looking forward to your kitchen..... Btw, the solution was proposed by me.. Harlow....care to explain the yearly shift of the sun thingy? Just very curious as I chanced upon this... I only know the wind change half-yrly....dinno sun can change position wan?? Shdnt it be follow direction? Great view! I think this is how it goes : it appears that the sun is in a sitting position while the earth rotates on the axis but because of the gravity + lightspeed years the earth will shift slightly while rotating that the sun will be on this and that place. Which also explains why the sunrise & sunset appear in different positon. Also the sun rotates around the earth at a pace, say for example it is morning in the west countries, evening in the east countries, something like this? Heheh, Sun study.. I tink its something like wat BunBun explained. Frm wat I knew: the earth works on a bearing system of 360 degrees. True NORTH approximately 359, true SOUTH approximately 180. So EAST & WEST is approximately 90 & 270 degrees respectively. Sun sets in the WEST, so approximately 270. Previously, the setting sun was facing blocks behind my block. Now the setting sun is slightly facing my unit. So I deduced the sun shifted its bearing to abt 250 or 290??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Felix 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 Btw, the solution was proposed by me.. Heheh, Sun study.. I tink its something like wat BunBun explained. Frm wat I knew: the earth works on a bearing system of 360 degrees. True NORTH approximately 359, true SOUTH approximately 180. So EAST & WEST is approximately 90 & 270 degrees respectively. Sun sets in the WEST, so approximately 270. Previously, the setting sun was facing blocks behind my block. Now the setting sun is slightly facing my unit. So I deduced the sun shifted its bearing to abt 250 or 290??? WAH CHIM ... my one 7th floor ... cannot really feel the sun ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2008 Hi L3x Sorry give credits to the wrong person. Like i said..... its a brilliant way to resolve the problem. I wil be doing the same for the entrance area. We chose a textured tile to be laid a tile height lower. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jenilim 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2008 hi Lin, Nice Chandeliers u have for the dining area. I was actually looking forward to get one for my dining area, i saw one that i really like to buy from the STRASS® Swarovski® Crystal collection - 50cm diameter round black shade with many many crystals hanging under... however it cost $1388 from Lumiere, very ex lor. if buy that plus all other necessary lightings(proposed whole house false ceiling PLC + T5 L-box + cove lights), our tentative quote from that shop would cost us approx $5k for lightings! Gosh... budget super blast oredi. However K also recommended Chelsea cos he said prices very good, will probably drop by the shop this comin weekend n see if can find cheaper alternatives. On top from the $55k+++ payin to ID, we are looking at at least another $30k for all misc stuff. think must really KIV on certain items, otherwise total cost for doing my house will burn BIG BIG holeZZZZ in my hubby's pockets . Must rob bank liao. Yet to see your new 3d for ur kitchen.... saw the kerb they built for u, i will be having similar one @ my service yard for my 2 doggies. Look forward to seein more pix on ur reno job, will post 3d for my house once K fixed up the first draft. All the best Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted April 30, 2008 hi Lin, Nice Chandeliers u have for the dining area. I was actually looking forward to get one for my dining area, i saw one that i really like to buy from the STRASS® Swarovski® Crystal collection - 50cm diameter round black shade with many many crystals hanging under... however it cost $1388 from Lumiere, very ex lor. if buy that plus all other necessary lightings(proposed whole house false ceiling PLC + T5 L-box + cove lights), our tentative quote from that shop would cost us approx $5k for lightings! Gosh... budget super blast oredi. On top from the $55k+++ payin to ID, we are looking at at least another $30k for all misc stuff. think must really KIV on certain items, otherwise total cost for doing my house will burn BIG BIG holeZZZZ in my hubby's pockets . Must rob bank liao. Yet to see your new 3d for ur kitchen.... saw the kerb they built for u, i will be having similar one @ my service yard for my 2 doggies. Look forward to seein more pix on ur reno job, will post 3d for my house once K fixed up the first draft. All the best Thx jenilim. Try to work within ur budget bah. and look ard for other alternatives. 5k really too much jus for lightings. Good luck! Hi all, here's my 3D for kitchen. however, it's still not the final version yet. duno why we cant seem to finalise even thou kitchen is not the most imp place to us. anyway, poor K. i tink he's working on the 6th or 7th drawing now. we should be choosing the stainless steel drawing no.2 however, we are tinking will it be too dark in the kitchen with our black floor tiles. actually we dun feel lik using stainless steel for the top pelmet part. however, there are no other better alternatives to brighten up the cabinets liao. anyone who has a good suggestion do let us noe! Lin and L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darrenelle 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2008 6/7 drawing sia... Ok, now i have no worry if i ask for more le... keke... wahaha... *evil* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted May 1, 2008 Wah!! Then i also wun be paiseh when i request them to re-do too.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 1, 2008 (edited) 6/7 drawing sia... Ok, now i have no worry if i ask for more le... keke... wahaha... *evil* Wah!! Then i also wun be paiseh when i request them to re-do too.... oh no, are we spoiling the market? ok, jus dun quote us can already. haha... seems lik steven will have alot of work to do. Edited May 7, 2008 by Lin & L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted May 1, 2008 We shd be seeing ours tomorrow - and it's the 1st draft. Just curious, when they give you those 3D drawings, do they give it to you via email or do you guys visit their office? Mine's visiting their office tomorrow. Visit office = easier/faster to amend on the spot? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 1, 2008 We shd be seeing ours tomorrow - and it's the 1st draft. Just curious, when they give you those 3D drawings, do they give it to you via email or do you guys visit their office? Mine's visiting their office tomorrow. Visit office = easier/faster to amend on the spot? For us, K normally email or pass it to us. K always told us he'll amend it bk at the office, & email us. I tink its the way different ID work. Mayb he felt tat its easier to amend on the spot, den he can show u the materials & examples. Depends on which way u like it to b & arrange wif him loh. But pls dun quote K example.. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites