imidazole

Extra Charges On Top Of Contract!

The story goes like that: actually now the ID firrm are half-way through the renovations and i have found that they keep telling me that many works need extra payment

some things like extra lighting point needs $$ and after dismantling my wardrobe they say need to vanish the parque and need $$ they have charge me another additional 2k on those excluding the parque vanish and the pulling of scv point..... i tot that was all included in the contract.

i feel like cheated..... and then now they asking for another 1k plus for other thgs.... My question was.. how come they never tell me in the first place that need to add so many $$ on top of the contract i have sign....

1st contract : 25k plus.. and 2nd one 1.9k and now the third one!! 1.6k!:P Was thinking if i should terminate altogether and ask someone else to take over from here!! Its ridiculous . altogether the whole house renovation comes up to almost 29K!

To be fair. I admit that i did ask for some amendments on lighting points, but thgs like wardrobe after dismantle need extra $$ and parque need $ to vanish i was thking i should have been told earlier.....

And they were telling me before i sign the contract that other ID firms that quotated me 27k did not include all electrical works.... i feel that they are doing the same as well.....I have just talk to my ID yesterday.. still waiting for them to reply me.

Am i the only one with this problem????

Am i being unreasonable or just the ID firm out to blackmail me??? Is it true that all thgs not found on contract i need to pay extra$$?? like that doesnt seem fair to me coz i was not told in the begining.....

if there are things they did on their own discretion without seek permission from you, and you dun wan to pay for it, tell them to fix it back to the original state loh. For example, they vanish the wardrobe without telling you, then, tell them to stripe it off and return it to them.

This is actually a very subjective issue with both side in the wrong. I always believe that no matter how good the contract is, there is bound to be some other hidden costs.

In the midst of renovation, the contractor may feel that it's better to do this than that, he'll surely consult you first. Extra charges will sure be incurred unless it really minor touchup. The other way round is, you may want to add or amend a few things, you consult your contractor and he says okay. Extra charges will bound be to incurred too.

Most contractor would not include electrical cost in the original contract because they would need to assess the house first, know what is the length of extension needed, know what cables or wires can or cannot be pulled etc.

It's all actually a give an take situation. You want your house to be renovated nicely and the contractor wants to earn some money.

If you feel that the cost is really irrelevant, then tell your contractor not to do it. I'm sure things like varnish you can do it yourself. Dismantling of wardrobe the cost can be negotiated to be FOC. Pulling of SCV cables won't be that expensive too.

Discuss and negotiate it with your contractor so that it become a win-win solution for both of you.

Not surprising, I had a $35k, ended up $39k ..

Add another foot here, another inch there to carpentry, and suddenly it went up by a few thousands. And what's worse, the design went out of shape because the propotions were wrong!!

Try this.

If your reno has steady increase, cancelled off other items (which is in the low priority list) to push the cost down.

eg) Shower screen? Features walls? sliding doors? etc...

There bound to be somewhere in the list that you will feel that it is not that impt to do.

Try this.

If your reno has steady increase, cancelled off other items (which is in the low priority list) to push the cost down.

eg) Shower screen? Features walls? sliding doors? etc...

There bound to be somewhere in the list that you will feel that it is not that impt to do.

Hi h4happy

just to clarify..must the items be indicated as "Optional" in the contract before you can do cancellations? What's the practice here? Will IDs allow cancellations after the contract is signed if it's not indicated as optional. Appreciate advice so I'll do how to nagivate/...thanks

Hi KUN

It really depends on your id/contractor contract.

For my id, she told me I can cancelled off whatever items I dont want, so long the works still has not started.

HAPPY

Hi h4happy

just to clarify..must the items be indicated as "Optional" in the contract before you can do cancellations? What's the practice here? Will IDs allow cancellations after the contract is signed if it's not indicated as optional. Appreciate advice so I'll do how to nagivate/...thanks

let me add,

mine was 28k upon signing.

but told ID I couldn't get so much loan, so I omit the overlaying of toilet (which is like 3k in all), so brought down to 25k.

Electrical cost is not included. My electrical is about $800.

but my lights were $1k (normal lights only from what I see, some people can get the same typeof lights at $500+)

ID told me I am paying for quality.. Trust lor.

Then toilet accessories for both toilet comeup to $500+.

I see some forumer only spend say $110 for 1 toilet.

Mine were also normal accessories.

Price of one toilet paper holder is $36 each....sigh.

My sink cost $300. No brand one I think...

I see people buying at $160 for the same type?

Quality unknown.

Been paying and paying.

so cannot based on 25k , must buffer.....

buffer...buffer.....

and pls also check if you terminate your contract, what will u have to pay?

Your electricity cost $800 inclusive of what? How much they charge you per light installation?

Yeah..those misc cost really heeadache....can add up more than $10K easily!

let me add,

but told ID I couldn't get so much loan, so I omit the overlaying of toilet (which is like 3k in all), so brought down to 25k.

but my lights were $1k (normal lights only from what I see, some people can get the same typeof lights at $500+)

Quality unknown.

Been paying and paying.

buffer...buffer.....

let me add,

Quality unknown.

Been paying and paying.

buffer...buffer.....

Ermmmm, you let your ID buy the lights and toilet bowls/basins/accessories on your behalf?

Some ID like to bulls ...

Why would 2 identitical item, one more expensive, one cheaper and the reason is quality?

Shouldn't it be THEIR commission that caused the diff? But that's understandable

Nobody would be doing that for free, running around and shopping on your behalf, you know what I mean?

I bought my own light, toilet bowls, sinks, basins, bargain till face red.

Then still have to confirm with my ID on installation charges, lucky she didn't pull a fast one on that.

I compared her quotes to the quotes I got from the shop where I got the stuff from.

If my ID's more expensive, either negotiate for a lower price, or drop them and get your own.

Edited by lawry

Dear all,

I have solve the issue with my ID already..... Well, today she bring down someone more senior...... and we had a talk about the issue.... becoz it really isnt fair to us as the ID did not mention the extra $$ part . It end up that they were willing to waive all the extra charges that wasnt mention earlier. . . which i tihnk is quite responsible on their part.

I knw need to buffer... buffer... buffer...... but i think at least they need to let me know wat are the items that extra $$ beforehand and not tell me only a few days before payment that i need to pay $1.5k extra for i dont knw wat also....

I always believed in the fact that it takes two hands to clap...... so i was more than happy to accept the explaination and of course most important they are willing to waive most of the extra cost. 8|

Today I went up to the reno site.... and i think their workmanship is not bad. . In fact, quite happy about it and not like others have commented as "shabby works" They are really working hard and i think they deserve some credit for that. . . :notti:

Well..... Happy resolved issue....Overall i think i can still trust them.... Besides, thats always the case, somethg will definitely go wrong throughout the long tedious house renovation..... Main thing is they are willing to settle it in a civilized way......

My ID firm is HOME GUIDE.... They are not as bad as others have reported..... the workers are really working hard to get my house renovated nicely and the workmanship is quite good too. . well at least so far so good. . . must wait till everythg finish then can say ritez??......

hahahahahha......All the others out there ... good luck..... I think need to communicate properly to avoid misunderstd..... :~

The ID help us get the lightings and the ceiling fan.. we went to balestier road.... charges atill reasonable.... around 2.3 k for :

36 PLC downlight

1 chandlier, crystals from Egypt

1 round PLC downlight (6inch in diameter)

2 slim fluorescence tube for study table

1 ceiling fan 9i think is (48")

1 round hang down light for balcony

and free gift: doorbell

I think the charges are not exceptionally cheap but reasonable lor..... and i think the salesman there q helpfull too.... we are also paying for service.... but i think their service is good .....

Ermmmm, you let your ID buy the lights and toilet bowls/basins/accessories on your behalf?

Some ID like to bulls ...

Why would 2 identitical item, one more expensive, one cheaper and the reason is quality?

Shouldn't it be THEIR commission that caused the diff? But that's understandable

Nobody would be doing that for free, running around and shopping on your behalf, you know what I mean?

I bought my own light, toilet bowls, sinks, basins, bargain till face red.

Then still have to confirm with my ID on installation charges, lucky she didn't pull a fast one on that.

I compared her quotes to the quotes I got from the shop where I got the stuff from.

If my ID's more expensive, either negotiate for a lower price, or drop them and get your own.

I went with the ID to buy those stuff. Trusted him for quality assurance.

now in defects stage, 2 pages of it. Shall not comment much since they agreed to rectify.

Just have to wait. wait and wait.

Fyi, my contract was signed in Nov last year.Mid Dec started reno.

don't know where it will end. I have to stop reminding myself that it is April now.

I am just renovating a small HDB...zzz.

I went with the ID to buy those stuff. Trusted him for quality assurance.

now in defects stage, 2 pages of it. Shall not comment much since they agreed to rectify.

Just have to wait. wait and wait.

Fyi, my contract was signed in Nov last year.Mid Dec started reno.

don't know where it will end. I have to stop reminding myself that it is April now.

I am just renovating a small HDB...zzz.

Hi Tension_z,

Don't scare me leh :rolleyes: ...i am using the same id as you and they are starting work on Monday. Promised me that the reno will take maximum 2 mths!

id also brought me to lights and kitchen/bathroom accessories shops. lucky i din buy from the light shop he recommended, coz super ex! i bought at another shop in geylang and cost me half of what they offered!

as for bathroom accessories, i was too tired to look around so bought the kitchen sink, tap, toilet roll holder, heater, mirror, rack below the mirror and rack for shampoo. i also blur blur, chose the towel rack which cost $178 for one! i think my hubby and i were under their "spell" and paid deposit for them. when we reached home, we "woke up" and realised our stupidity!

so, i called and cancelled the order for the towel racks immediately the next day, heng, they let me cancel. in the end, i got the racks from ikea which cost me less than $20 for each! c'mon, they are just racks loh....why need one made in italy?:dancingqueen:! :notti:

i kinda regretted buying from their "recommended" shop, coz i think i would have spend lesser if i source on my own, but hubby said, give them some "kopi" $$ since id drove us around and also he very nice person.

btw, who is your designer from the co? mine start with "E".