strychnine 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 Does anyone know whether is it possible to paint over your standard HDB aluminium balcony sliding door frame ? I hate the dark brown colour and was thinking of coating it in white paint.Is this possible ? Or is it far cheaper to have it replaced ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simeiz 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 Lol... same as mine also want to paint but cannot leh.Cannot use normal paint as it will peal off. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strychnine 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 hehe..yeap my thoughts exactly. cant use normal paint but there are special spray paints that can be used on metal surfaces...Thought of using that.. haha..then again, thought i'd better do some research first before i completely destroy the aluminium frame... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simeiz 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 what is the spray paint? automotive paint? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 Any hero out there? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
phoenix 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2008 Does anyone know whether is it possible to paint over your standard HDB aluminium balcony sliding door frame ? I hate the dark brown colour and was thinking of coating it in white paint.Is this possible ? Or is it far cheaper to have it replaced ?the aluminum is sand-blasted i think. not advisable to paint over leh... well, u can lah, but its not gonna last and will come off in no time. then will look very awful lor... patchy patchy. if u really hate it, better to change lah. but i think after a while u get used to it, it won't bother u as much liao. coz mine is green and at first i dislike it, now its ok... hehe. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted April 3, 2008 the aluminum is sand-blasted i think. not advisable to paint over leh... well, u can lah, but its not gonna last and will come off in no time. then will look very awful lor... patchy patchy. if u really hate it, better to change lah. but i think after a while u get used to it, it won't bother u as much liao. coz mine is green and at first i dislike it, now its ok... hehe.can be done but for the trouble and $$$, you might as well get new doors. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strychnine 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 well...there goes my hopes and dreams *haiz* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simeiz 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 Maybe can try acrylic paint.http://www.developmenthardware.com/Aerosol%20Spray.htmlya lor trouble Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest threasher Report post Posted April 11, 2008 Something is wrong with the latch on one of my balcony door. So that door cannot be locked at all. Can I replace it with one from HDB? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strychnine 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 Something is wrong with the latch on one of my balcony door. So that door cannot be locked at all. Can I replace it with one from HDB?Gosh, I'm not in the know to advise...but I will assume that it depends on whether its within the window period that HDB allows you to report any defects in your flat..Is yours a resale or a new flat ? And how soon did you notice this problem from the time you got the keys ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest threasher Report post Posted April 14, 2008 Gosh, I'm not in the know to advise...but I will assume that it depends on whether its within the window period that HDB allows you to report any defects in your flat..Is yours a resale or a new flat ? And how soon did you notice this problem from the time you got the keys ?It's a new flat. It was OK in the beginning, and the latch problem occurred only after we have been living for more than half a year, which is more than a year after we got the flat from HDB. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites