wiredchaos 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2008 Hi ppl need some advise pls,My ID came out wif this design of putting all my DVD player ,starhub box and HT to the side of my living room as a console CUM storage cabinet so as to free up the space infrt of my TV cos i gonna stay in a 3 roomer.Im wondering how the wiring of the tv to the side of the living room can be done?? i might need a very long HDMI cable which will cost me a arm & leg ? or is there another alternative ?Im intending to get either the Hitachi P42A01A or panasonic TH-42PV70H plasma tv and the Pioneer 363 HT set as im not so fussy over sound quality.I have attached a 3D layout of my LR if u guys dun understand wat i mean.The Tall cabinet by the window next to the red sofa is the so called TV console CUM Storage.So any good suggestions fr u kind folks out there??Thanks in advance for all kind suggestions Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahjane 2 Report post Posted March 27, 2008 wow very good ideal hor..no need to walk over to tv to change disc...jus access at sofa area....the tv area look neat and cool too...i like this ideal.as for the wire...in LONG run..the cost should be balance lah...depreciate over 7 years?your sun shine on the wall of the window? if so, might not be too healthy for those console and players... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wiredchaos 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2008 Thanks AHJane, i like the ideal very much too, but im jus worried abt the wiring of the appliances will pose a problem for this design or not?The cable is hidden along the false ceiling to the cabinet as u can see.No direct sunlight shining to the wall so i dun think its a problem. Thnks for the concern Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vicenzo70 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2008 Hi ppl need some advise pls,My ID came out wif this design of putting all my DVD player ,starhub box and HT to the side of my living room as a console CUM storage cabinet so as to free up the space infrt of my TV cos i gonna stay in a 3 roomer.Im wondering how the wiring of the tv to the side of the living room can be done?? i might need a very long HDMI cable which will cost me a arm & leg ? or is there another alternative ?Im intending to get either the Hitachi P42A01A or panasonic TH-42PV70H plasma tv and the Pioneer 363 HT set as im not so fussy over sound quality.I have attached a 3D layout of my LR if u guys dun understand wat i mean.The Tall cabinet by the window next to the red sofa is the so called TV console CUM Storage.So any good suggestions fr u kind folks out there??Thanks in advance for all kind suggestionsHiPermit me to ask you some questions & some comments.1. Does your DVD player has HDMI output? If it has, then it makes sense to connect TV to DVD player via HDMI. HDMI will certainly increase the pix quality.2. You can hookup your HT to TV via normal cables since you mention youre not fussy over sound quality.3. Where's your speakers located? Cant see it in the 3D layout.Good HDMI cables are not cheap. We're talking about $70 onwards per metre. Though its more practical to hide away unsightly HT equipments, certain functionality has to be compromised. In your case, the HDMI cables unless you want to pay for it. The only solution i can think of currently, is to get a good audio/video cable. Another note, if speakers cables are too long, expect some sound loss over time.CheersVince Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wiredchaos 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2008 HiPermit me to ask you some questions & some comments.1. Does your DVD player has HDMI output? If it has, then it makes sense to connect TV to DVD player via HDMI. HDMI will certainly increase the pix quality.2. You can hookup your HT to TV via normal cables since you mention youre not fussy over sound quality.3. Where's your speakers located? Cant see it in the 3D layout.Good HDMI cables are not cheap. We're talking about $70 onwards per metre. Though its more practical to hide away unsightly HT equipments, certain functionality has to be compromised. In your case, the HDMI cables unless you want to pay for it. The only solution i can think of currently, is to get a good audio/video cable. Another note, if speakers cables are too long, expect some sound loss over time.CheersVinceThanks Vicenzo for the advise and comments.1) My DVD player fr the link below has HDMI output but it says in the specs its oni output for 1080I HDTV meaning i cant use it on a FULL HDTV like the Samsung N8 im planning to get ? COnfuse....http://newkunst.com/catdrill.asp?pID=10002...at=Home+Theater2)Normal cables as in 1 for audio and 1 for image?3) The ID didnt put in the speakers yet cos i didnt cfrm it at tat time. IF im getting the Pioneer HTZ 363 most prob i will be mounting it all ard the TV ?? cos the HTZ 363 comes with stylish surround sound speakers to deliver powerful sound with the convenience of 3-spot front surround set-up which allows you to place the rear speakers neatly on the top of the front speakers yet still enjoy full scale surround sound. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vicenzo70 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2008 Thanks Vicenzo for the advise and comments.1) My DVD player fr the link below has HDMI output but it says in the specs its oni output for 1080I HDTV meaning i cant use it on a FULL HDTV like the Samsung N8 im planning to get ? COnfuse....http://newkunst.com/catdrill.asp?pID=10002...at=Home+Theater2)Normal cables as in 1 for audio and 1 for image?3) The ID didnt put in the speakers yet cos i didnt cfrm it at tat time. IF im getting the Pioneer HTZ 363 most prob i will be mounting it all ard the TV ?? cos the HTZ 363 comes with stylish surround sound speakers to deliver powerful sound with the convenience of 3-spot front surround set-up which allows you to place the rear speakers neatly on the top of the front speakers yet still enjoy full scale surround sound.HiHave you considered the Samsung M8 instead? The specs is much superior than the N8 though. If your DVD player can only upscale to 1080i (60Hz) instead of 1080p on a full HD display panel, I think its good enough unless you are using Bluray players.On another note, does your Pioneer system comes with a amp that can decode DOLBY TRUE HD? If it does, then you be prepared to be blown away by the colors of your Full HD display.And yes, normal cables are those red, yellow & white ones. p/s have you by any chance audition on your HT system before?CheersVince Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wiredchaos 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2008 I nvr did ask abt the M8, but i was quoted $1999 for the 40" N8 so im quite tempted... But does it really come with the auto Wall mount as stated in the brochure where u can tilt the the angle of the TV wif a remote. IF it does then it really is cool and worth it !The pioneer system does have a Built in DTS/Dolby Digital/Dolby Pro Logic II Decoders in the specs. Is tat wat u r refering to ?Audition on my HT system??? hahah my ang moh not very powerful leh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vicenzo70 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2008 I nvr did ask abt the M8, but i was quoted $1999 for the 40" N8 so im quite tempted... But does it really come with the auto Wall mount as stated in the brochure where u can tilt the the angle of the TV wif a remote. IF it does then it really is cool and worth it !The pioneer system does have a Built in DTS/Dolby Digital/Dolby Pro Logic II Decoders in the specs. Is tat wat u r refering to ?Audition on my HT system??? hahah my ang moh not very powerful leh.HiM8 only $2,150 from neighborhood shops. N8 reso only 10,000. M8 is at 15,000. Never heard of the auto wall mount. Is it at an additional cost?If you have a better budget, I can suggest you a good HTS that does a true conversion of HD content to your picture & sound system.Meantime, enjoy.Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wiredchaos 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2008 Hi,Care to share which store gave u tat price... if tats the case its better to go for the M8. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vicenzo70 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2008 Hi,Care to share which store gave u tat price... if tats the case its better to go for the M8.GOH AH BEE. 210 Hougang St 21 #01-247 Singapore 530210 tel: 62888611There's a free 32" LCD promotion with the M8 purchase. The price of M8 is $2,150 without this free gift.Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wiredchaos 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2008 GOH AH BEE. 210 Hougang St 21 #01-247 Singapore 530210 tel: 62888611There's a free 32" LCD promotion with the M8 purchase. The price of M8 is $2,150 without this free gift.CheersTHANKS!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites