babyheng

Just Something I Saw In My Email Regarding The Use Of Sms

Just something I saw in my email regarding the use of SMS

Take note....

Don't take things for granted...

It can happen to anyone of us....

A True Story:

This lady has changed her habit onthe hand phone after her handbag was stolen. Her handbag which contained her mobile, credit card, purse etc. was stolen.

Twenty minutes later when she called her hubby, telling him what had happened, her hubby says 'I've just received your SMS asking about our Pin number and I've replied a little while ago.'

When they rushed down to the bank, the bank staff to ld them all the money was already withdrawn. The pickpocket had actually used the stolen handphone to sms 'hubby' in the contact list and got hold of the pin number. Within 20 minutes he had withdrawn all the money from the bank account.

Moral of the story:

Do not disclose the relationship between you and the people in your contact list. Avoid using names like Home, Honey, Hubby, Sweetheart,

Dad, Mum etc......and very importantly, when sensitive info is being asked thru SMS, CONFIRM by calling back.

I got this email quite a long time ago; think its yet another urban legend lah, possible to happen on theory, but not in reality.

I was showing my married colleague this email, and he was quickly proud to say, "You see, that's why I stored Kelly's mobile as Kenneth..."

Oops...

maybe they don't have a lot of money in the bank account?

maybe they adjusted their daily withdrawal limit

for all we know, this could have happened which prompted the imposition of the daily withdrawal limit (DWL)

the DWL is unheard of when i first got my ATM card !!

Haha ... that was funny :sport-smiley-004: but I think it is more social engineering la :yamseng: it works on some people not all

Thought daily withdrawal limit is $2000 a day for POSB/DBS? Maybe no limits on other banks?

Some banks is as high as S$5000 but remember we may not be only talking about Singapore context here :dunno:

the actual scenario might not happen, but similar incidents might happen

e.g. the thief sms your friend to borrow money :dribble:

Then how is the thief gona get the money from your friend?? :dribble:

can arrange to meet up, say 'you' not free so asking a friend to collect

or something like that

fraudsters have their ways :dribble:

can arrange to meet up, say 'you' not free so asking a friend to collect

or something like that

fraudsters have their ways :dunno:

Huh lydat also can?? Hmmz then must we also go warn our friends that if we borrow money from them, they must make sure hand over to us personally... :P

Sekali my friends straightaway tell me, then safest way is dun lend hor...how??? :rofl: