sophia

My 3rd Home In Yck

Hi, the new place is 2001sqft. There are 3 bedrooms downstairs and one bedroom upstairs. The layout is quite unusual and we like the estate. The condo is about 5 years old but since the previous owner did not really take care we had to do alot more that we had hoped for. My budget was $60k so it looks like we really blew it. I read from your blog that you had an expensive first quote for your aircon, mine was even worse.....$8800 :notti: Totally agree man that reno cost has really gone up. I did up my previous semi d(single storey) with a budget of $100k and boy was that MAJOR!

2001sqft is big! mine only 1600sqft 3 bathrms 3 rooms. is a condo?? i tot is landed.. look like landed to me. no no, i got another quote from another guy at 8800+ liao.. total 6units a/c 4 compressor, Daikin inverter 4 ticks for energy saving. i wouldnt say is cheap but i think quite reasonable.. i guess.. i am really too tired to source liao.. so i just let him do, urs should be more then me cos ur house bigger, if they charge u 8800 for all, then is cheap! it is so tiring to do reno, i don wish to do it again after this till we get another bigger house in furture (i hope..) enough liao.. will die one u know!! hehehe..

Good Luck in ur reno!!

Edited by mafiawife

Hmm it looks like a landed property just like what mafiawife mentioned. However another thought just came to mind.. if its a condo and comes with an attic, it should a penthouse condo based on your link

But I must say, the attic is a bonus~~ though the cleaning is a killer.. I already have to maintain my place though its nowhere big as yours and mafiawife's place for sure since only HDB flat.

Edited by BunBun

The aircon included is a cassette unit (those sort that is a square plonk in the false ceiling) and 2 system two Toshiba inverter. There will also be new trunking as some of the old ones had to be placed in different place.

I guess my unit is considered the penthouse since I'm the top most floor (even though only 4 storey) :bleah:

sophia, me also staying 38wang. Which part of 38wang u used to live? I love this place can't bear to move out.

I used to stay near the park, Jln Machang. It is a quiet place, near park, very serene and peaceful (especially when work is **** and you come back to a zen like santury). However, the upkeep of the place was terrible, some more I had no maid and cannot find part time help. Also since the place is very old, very prone to blackout especially thunderstorm. So many times the power was shut and I had problem with the security system, was also worried about the fridge and things like that. So....... SOLD the house. :bow:

How long ago u sold? I got a friend staying there too! My uncle staying jalan sankam , me at queen's ave.

Not long only, last November. I heard from the agent that the new owner has rented it out to a angmoh couple. My was the corner one at the end of the lane. We did a major reno even the roof coz it was badly eaten by termites. Aiyah, but no more liao. Kindof miss it though now that I am thinking of it.

may be i mistaken coz this lady also stay in a corner hse ard there. my place also a lot of termites and ants. very headache and my maid's going back for good next monday. thinking of maintaining a big hse all by myself freaks me out! hopefully i can shift to my new flat soon. pray hard that everything turns out well.

The aircon included is a cassette unit (those sort that is a square plonk in the false ceiling) and 2 system two Toshiba inverter. There will also be new trunking as some of the old ones had to be placed in different place.

I guess my unit is considered the penthouse since I'm the top most floor (even though only 4 storey) :help:

cassette unit!! i like! initially i also looking at cassette unit but my ceiling got to drop quite a fair bit so i opt that out, cos my ceiling not that high.. 8|

I used to stay in Transit Road condo for about 1 n half year, near 38wang as well.. but i really cant take the travelling time, so i sold it after a yr and half. i lose quite lot of money cos it a brand new condo i bot last time.. haiz.. :dancingqueen:

but have to agreed is serene and quiet place la.. esp the driving toward upp thomson rd.. sometime can see monkey!! :)

Actually we didn't plan for this cos we know it's expensive....but since we will be knocking down walls and adding wall paper, need to replan the location of aircon. In the end, the aircon guy suggested cassette unit. But, I lucky, false ceiling is high so can still install.

Yah, I know this place, very near the army camp. We go to the vet (AMK) that's near by as well. There's also an electrical shop, Parissilk, the appliances are somewhat cheaper than the major stalls. I agree that it's also quite out of the way.

Edited by sophia

Works have started over the week and I managed to go over the weekends to have a look.

DSCN0832.jpgremoval of toilet bowls

DSCN0824.jpg

DSCN0830.jpghacking of parquet

I got a shock when this wall was hacked DSCN0829.jpg

ID asked the management and they said ok, but we are still worried and asked ID to get approval from PE. This was done on Friday but on Sat, wall done liao. Which means, do first, get approval later. :)

We also went to get some lights.

DSCN0837.jpg downlight for rooms

DSCN0836.jpg downlight for living

DSCN0840.jpg Dining room chandeliers

Hubbi and I love this. Deliberated for a long time before getting it. We realise that there are two prices the light shop will quote you depending on whether you shop with or without your ID. IDs get a 15-20% cut from the shop and guess who pays for this commission....... That's why we insist on shopping without our ID. The bill without his oredi came up to $3600!

Very fed up with the quote given by electrician. Was quoted $5100 :furious: I almost fell from my chair when hubbi told me. The guy didnt even fax the breakdown so we don't even know what the items cost. Hubi insist for the breakdown and even called the ID to 'complain'. I doubt this would do much help. Now looking high and low for another electrician.... but worry also that the co-ordination may not be smooth or ID might give 'trouble' since we change his recommendation. Very headache.