vowsh 1 Report post Posted March 23, 2008 Can someone advise where & what type of doorbell to buy?The HDB flat comes with a doorbell transmitter but don't know what type of doorbell buy.Some are wireless but not sure if need to replace transmitter in order to work. Do L need to buy electrical ones in order to use HDB transmitter? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gerald28 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2008 just get the wireless type which what i bought and hassle free , just remember to use recharageable batteries as it be more econimal as they a big heavy user Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vowsh 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2008 just get the wireless type which what i bought and hassle free , just remember to use recharageable batteries as it be more econimal as they a big heavy user I intend to use back the HDB doorbell button. If use wireless i need to change.Like to know where the to get wired type. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kriegs 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2008 places like home-fix at marina square sells these non-wireless type. Or some lighting shops at balestier also have these. These normally do not comes with any bell button/switch.Choose one that uses battery, save some running costs. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vowsh 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2008 places like home-fix at marina square sells these non-wireless type. Or some lighting shops at balestier also have these. These normally do not comes with any bell button/switch.Choose one that uses battery, save some running costs.U mean wired type still needs to use battery? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted March 25, 2008 The wire is to connect the doorbell button to the doorbell. So when you press it will send a short to the doorbell and it will ring. The doorbell itself still runs on battery.Choo Chiang sells legrand doorbell at $18, very slick and nice, Homefix sells them at $30.80. I think Choo Chiang sells other brand of doorbell too but I bought the Legrand light switches so bought the Legrand doorbell too. And it is quite small so look nicer to me.But the HDB conceal backing may not fit (like mine, the backing was round but my door bell is square, so have to remove and put in a different backing) so you may need to buy a different backing or but the not conceal type of backing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
km_foo 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2008 any pics to show? do you need to get the contractor to fix the doorbell if its wired?a bit confused... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted March 25, 2008 The door bell at my new place...may be going over tomorrow night so will try to take a pix (try becoz I am trying to locate my camera! Wonder when I put it).If you need conceal, easier to get contractor to do it for you, if with the box, should be quite easy to fit it up (should be only), but I am trying to DIY, if successful let you know...the wiring very simple, one pair or wire only, go in to the door bell correct liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vowsh 1 Report post Posted March 25, 2008 The door bell at my new place...may be going over tomorrow night so will try to take a pix (try becoz I am trying to locate my camera! Wonder when I put it).If you need conceal, easier to get contractor to do it for you, if with the box, should be quite easy to fit it up (should be only), but I am trying to DIY, if successful let you know...the wiring very simple, one pair or wire only, go in to the door bell correct liao.I went to buy soundtech brand. Very sleek, slightly bigger than a credit card. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted March 25, 2008 Show pix leh...how much does it cost? Coz I was buying Legrand light switch so asked for Legrand doorbell also (as if can see so high up ) and the guy told me the sound quite loud coz he using it at home also, so trust him. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2008 pics please looking for sleek and nice music or ding dong..cos my dog always "sing" when the doorbell ring..hahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted March 26, 2008 No wonder I was at my new place today and I thought I forgot to do something, I forgot to snap the pix of the door bell! Old liao, memory failing... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
flyersummer 1 Report post Posted March 26, 2008 my new flat have a conceal doorbell backing. so still will need contractor to fix? i also want to change the doorbel swith to legrand.. then this cannot DIY liao is it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted March 27, 2008 my new flat have a conceal doorbell backing. so still will need contractor to fix? i also want to change the doorbel swith to legrand.. then this cannot DIY liao is it?It depends on what type of conceal backing. The Legrand is square but mine is round, so cannot fix in. If yours happen to be square (small) than zhoon zhoon liao loh. Want to DIY not impossible but one word "SIONG!". You need to find a way to take out the old, put in the new square conceal and patch. Need to hack the wall and patch the wall. I am trying, about 30% there only, and already thought of giving up But will persist on and see how. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2008 It depends on what type of conceal backing. The Legrand is square but mine is round, so cannot fix in. If yours happen to be square (small) than zhoon zhoon liao loh. Want to DIY not impossible but one word "SIONG!". You need to find a way to take out the old, put in the new square conceal and patch. Need to hack the wall and patch the wall. I am trying, about 30% there only, and already thought of giving up But will persist on and see how.your doorbell picture leh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites