euph0bear 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 Hi, guys! Finally started my very own renovation t-blog just like all the predecessors. I have been living in Toa Payoh for over 20+ years now and like what my friends say, born and breed in Toa Payoh, "Pa Si Mai Zhao" 打死不走. In the year 2005, I decided to upsize my flat so I went for HDB's balloting exercise during that year. My first BE was for the new Toa Payoh Blk 150+ flats but I wasn't selected (and HDB earns yet another S$10). Then in late 2005, I went for another BE, this time for the new Blk 79 flats which were slated to be completed in 2008/09. This time I was lucky and was chosen. Was so happy that day that I almost couldn't sleep. I went to select my flat on 01.12.05 and chose the 9th floor (high floors are way too expensive for me).Floor Plan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
euph0bear 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 I got my keys on 17.02.08 and proceeded to the next ULTIMATE task of searching for an ID. These are the few ID that I went to for discussions and quotations;Unimax Creative (Derek Yu)- Company with HDB listing, RADAC and CaseTrust. Derek was very accommodating to my needs. Told him that my budget was around S$18k and he worked around that sum and discussed on what I can do with that budget. Was quite pleased with his attitude and he said he would get back to me in a week's time to further discuss the quotation.Living Art Design Gallery (Michael Yu)- Company with HDB listing. Started chatting up with Michael and he had a hard time talking to me in English. So I initiated talking to him in Chinese. Told him that my budget was around S$18k and he quoted the renovation based on one of the packages (S$9000+ for 90m²) and added on the stuff I needed. I can see that he had a hard time writing down in English and explaining some of the things that I need. Felt unsafe (maybe only a contractor cum ID). Final quotation was S$22000+ and told him will get back to him.Design Profession Pte Ltd (Jeffrey Goo)- Company with no HDB listing but have a sister company with listing. Told Jeffrey that my budget was around S$18k and he quoted the renovation based on one of the packages (S$8588 for 90m²) and added on the stuff I needed. He's a friendly person and was keen to listen of my needs. His rough quotation was around S$20000. Was quite pleased with his ideas and stuff but the only thing in my concern was not HDB listed. Told him I would get back to him.Home Interior (Francis Wong)- Company with HDB listing. Francis was friendly and an engaging person. Told him that my budget was around S$18000. Don't know whether he got listen a not and then he started to take out papers and drew quite a few rough plans for me. Very on the ball person but as he drew more and more, the amount started to rise and rise. Final quotation was around S$24000 (of course with quite a few things that I don't need at all). Told him I would get back to him.Substance Interior Design- Company with HDB listing. When I went to their company , only 2 person there. One guy was attending to a couple and a lady was busy at the computer. Stood there a while until the lady noticed us. She greetd us at the door and said that they are busy. I gave them a list of my renovation needs and she told me she would get back to me with the quotation. Until today, no news...These companies I converse with them through email;***- very nice package of S$12888 with lotsa free gifts. But I told them I wanted my customised renovation and they say can only give me a few of the free items. My customised renovation came up to a cost of about S$18000.Advances Design- Their manager Peter was very friendly person. Called me up regarding my email and kept on thanking me for shortlisting his company. His quotation also came up to an amount of S$18000. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mrs_Png 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 spam spam... hee... another 79 blog!!! your floor plan look very different from mine... i am from 79b... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
euph0bear 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 (edited) I had downsized my shortlist of ID to 2, Unimax Creation and *** Design. Discuss with a couple of forumers regarding the package offered by *** Design. Their free gifts are really cannot fight one but nevertheless, I decided to go down to these 2 companies for a final chat.On 29.02.08 at around 11p.m., I had an appointment with Derek of Unimax. I had quite a few changes to my renovation needs and was ready to tell Derek of the changes. He presented to me what was conversed to thim during my last meeting and came up with a quotation of around S$19000. Told him it was a bit out of my budget and conveyed to him on the changes that I wanted. On the spot, he did the changes to his quotation and came up with a final quotation of about S$16000+ with all my changes. Was quite pleased with his ability to turn the table around to his favour. Discussed with my GF and she was also quite keen. Actually she's more into the fact that Unimax is HDB listed, RADAC and CaseTrust member. If anything was to happen, we could always fall back to these associations.After Derek came back to us (after a smoke), he gave us an offer we couldn't reject at all. He was willing to absorb the 7% GST as well. So without much further thinking (actually I was very sleepy after working night shift too), I shook his hand and said okay. !! These are the renovations that I intend to do together with his quotations.Masonry Works Supply and lay polished homogenous tiles c/w skirting for whole house. 4200Supply and construct kitchen cabinet, refrigerator and washing machine base. 450Plumbing Works Supply and install inlet and outlet pipe for kitchen sink and washing machine. 120Supply labour to install storage heater. 120Supply labour to install bathroom accessories for both toilets. FOCSupply labour to install stainless steel kitchen sink. FOCSupply labour to install hob and hood. FOCCeiling Works Supply and construct L-box **** and dining room and false ceiling at bedroom entrance area and foyer area. 1200Supply and construct 01x row of L-box at master bedroom. 180Electrical Works Supply labour to install lightings. pendingSupply labour to install ceiling fans. pendingSupply labour for other electrical works. pendingCarpentry Works Design and construct 22ft top & bottom kitchen cabinet in laminated finishing c/w ABS trimming doors, 01x set of dish rack and designer handles. 1955Supply and install solid ply postformed worktop with backsplash. 360Design and construct 7ft TV console in laminated finishing **** room. 770Design and construct 7ft feature walls **** room. 1540Design and construct 5ft wardrobe in laminated door finish and sliding doors at master bedroom. 1400Supply and construct 02x PD doors. 560Painting Works Supply and paint whole house wall and ceiling using ICI or Nippon emulsion paint (6 colours) and all doors, door frames, pipes and gate. 1100Miscellaneous Works Shifting of door at master bedroom (including PE fees and sealing up of old doorway). 780Supply labour to submit HDB application for all renovation works. FOCSupply and lay protection covering for whole house floor finishing. FOCProvide chemical washing for whole house floor. FOCSupply labour for haulage and clearing of debris. 1000 Total 15735This is what I intend to to to my flats. Currently I'm still waiting for his drawings for the kitchen and living area.Proposed Floor Plan Edited April 2, 2008 by euph0bear Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
haroldism 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 spam chop liao! LOL! !! more pix more pix~gud luck in ur reno~regards Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 Hi,I join in the fun.. !! I'm from 79A Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
euph0bear 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 Thanks, everyone. !! I'm currently downsizing the photos I have taken so that they can fit nicely in here.Stay tune! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 Hi EUPYour stove is next to your WM? Nice draw out you have in mind!HAPPY Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
euph0bear 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 Hi EUPYour stove is next to your WM? Nice draw out you have in mind!HAPPYBeside washing machine is the sink. Stove is the one with 2 circles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 Is your stove is in line with the opposite wall?That is what any fsm will say.But anyway, it is up to individual prefernces.Waiting for more pics......! !! Beside washing machine is the sink. Stove is the one with 2 circles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
euph0bear 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 (edited) Day 3 Progress - Living RoomThis will be the tiles used for the whole house. Cannot really see the line designs using my LG Viewty camera. Will post again once the tiles are up.View from Main EntranceSo, so messy...Lotsa sand in the living room...View from Living Room WindowJust opposite the furniture shop and MRT stationIs your stove is in line with the opposite wall?That is what any fsm will say.But anyway, it is up to individual prefernces.Waiting for more pics......! !!Yup, the stove is parallel to the opposite wall. Any complications with FS? Actually I not a superstitious person. Edited March 16, 2008 by euph0bear Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 This is what I heard abt stove must have a wall (oppoisite direction) and not face window or toilel door.Wow...guess your tiles work started liao! More pics!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 !! spam chop Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
euph0bear 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 (edited) Day 3 Progress - BedroomBedroom 1 with sand.Bedroom 2 with... erm... sand...MBR with even more sand... ...MBR toilet... Don't you just love the design... !! Edited March 14, 2008 by euph0bear Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 I also leave my toilet intact.To save cost. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites