bluedusk

Pls Help! 4rm Quotation

Hi all!

I need help with the following quotation. As I only have budget for 30-35k max, what are the things I can "bargain" or remove in order to achieve my budget? My flat is a 4Rm with 107ft2

Priority for us is as follows:

1) Hacking Bedroom 3 Walls linking to Living Area

2) Featured Wardrobe in Master Bedroom

3) Flooring of Living, 2 toilets and 3 Bedrooms

4) False Ceiling in Living

Low Priority: Kitchen

Also I feel that the quotation is not very complete or detailed... what other things should I ask the ID to add into the quotation?

A) Demolition Works

1 Master/Bedrooms 2/3/Study room and Common Toilets

1.1 To remove existing sanitary sets at toilets $120

1.2 To hack 02 bathroom existing flooring $280

1.3 To hack 02 bathroom existing wall $280

Sub Total: $680

2 Living Room/3 Bedroom/Kitchen

2.1 To dismantle existing kitchen cabinet $380

2.2 To hack kitchen existing floor tiles $330

2.3 To hack kitchen existing wall tiles $330

2.4 To hack existing terrazzo for living,dining and Balcony $1200

2.5 To demolish the main master bedroom wall and extend the main door $450

2.6 To demolish the entire kitchen wall FOC

2.7 To demolish wall between bedroom 3 and living room $180

2.8 To dismantle the wall and door between yard and kitchen $180

Sub Total: $3050

B) General Works

1 To remove all electrical points and pipes $200

2 Debris and haulage fees $1200

Sub Total: $1400

C) Wet Works

1 Living Room/3 Bedroom/Kitchen

1.1 To lay new homogeneous floor tiles with waterproofing membrane $1150

1.2 To construct kitchen cabinet base $300

1.3 To construct a washing machine base $80

1.4 To lay 600 x 600 mm polished homogeneous tiles for Living,dining and balcony $3480

1.5 To lay 600 x 600 mm polished homogeneous tiles for 3 bedrooms $3250

Sub Total: $8260

2 Common Toilet

2.1 To re-lay new homogeneous floor tiles with water-proofing membrane $600

2.2 To relay new selected wall tiles $1800

2.3 To construct shower kerb $80

2.4 To supply and install a tempered glass door $650

2.5 To install a fixed glass panel FOC

Sub Total: $3130

2 MasterToilet

3.1 To re-lay new homogeneous floor tiles with water-proofing membrane $600

3.2 To lay new wall tiles including wall feature tiles $1800

3.3 To construct shower kerb $80

3.4 Design and build a vanity top with suspended cainet $950

3.5 To supply and install a tempered glass door $650

3.6 To supply and install a shower screen $750

Sub Total: $4830

D) General Works

1 Electrical works including fixing and shifting of new switches & power-points, installation of lighting fittings & 02 TV point -Est $2700

2 Plumber works to install stainless-steel piping for kitchen & 02 -$1350

3 Painting works with sealer coating, including ceiling touch-up bathrooms including installation of 02 bowls,02 sinks,02 shower mixer, kitchen sink $1800

4 For washing and cleaning up the whole house FOC

5 To supply and install a sliding door for balcony $1200

Sub Total: 7050

E) Carpentry Works

1 Kitchen

1.1 Design and build kitchen cabinet in laminated & doors with ABS trimmings $4,300

1.2 Supply and install solid-surface top $1,800

Sub Total: $6100

2 Master-Bedroom/Living

2.1 Design and build 01 wardrobe with laminated finish and open door $3,600

2.2 Design and build 01 mirror panel **** room as feature wall FOC

Sub Total: $3600

Grand Total: $38,100

Less Discount: $37,500

Option:

1 Install and supply a 3-system Mitshibishi inverter air-con $2,800

2 Design and build 01 TV feature-wall with suspended TV cabinets in glass panel $2,800

3 Design and build a shoe cabinet (3.5 ft length) $800

---------------------------------------------------------

Personally I noticed the following quotations are missing from what I have discussed with the ID:

Required Quotations

1 Design and build false ceiling - Living

2 Featured pillar with wall lights - Living

3 Design and Build 01 Work Top with Day Bed - Bedroom 2

4 Featured area with Otto Mun

If include some of the options plus the missing details, I am afraid the quotation will come up to be about 45k, which is way over the budget for us.

PLS ADVISE! :yamseng: Thanks!

Edited by bluedusk

Try to hunt a few more quotes to do some comparison.

Dont get the cheapest nor the most expensive. Also at the same time take note on the materials which respective ID/contractor will be giving to you. :yamseng:

Hi Devilaz... I did get more quotes but all varies tremendously.

In the end, I decided to take this ID as I know the boss and can trust them to do a good job in workmanship sense and the fact I know who to look for if I experience any problems with the renovation.

But, I personally find this quotation a bit on the high side and there are many details not indicated on the quotations and so will like to find out from you guys what are the things I will need to get my ID to include so that there won't be any hidden costs or unhappiness with my friend in the future.

What is the price I can bargain for without being disrespectful?

That is what I want to know as I already confirm verbally that I will take them up and they have already given me a drawing of the house which I like.

think it'll be easier for us to comment if the measurements can be included

e.g. MBR wardrobe rate is around $200pfr, so your wardrobe at $3.6k means it's 18ft wide?

think the cost of the mirror panel is factored into the wardrobe instead of FOC as stated :yamseng::good:

hi applefreak, thanks for your reply...

i understand that nothing can be FOC la...

but i juz feel comparing my quotation to other forumers, mine seems to be overpriced...

this ID is not established yet, so cant say because of branding

Guest tommy_moby

seriously.. go through for more quotations. i took quotations from 6 ID firms before selecting the final one leh.. be more kiasu abit.. go for more comparison.. u will be looking at your house for a long long time wor..

hi tommy,

i already confirm on taking this ID, even though i can change my mind now, but i will prefer not to...

so do help to comment on the present quotation as much as possible.. the measurement will get from the ID soon...

Guest tommy_moby

ok.. but i dun really take care of all these. can't really comment on these, but i feels that is ok cos i dun really care abt the reno. my project manager takes care for me.. my project manager is good.. he really updates me regularly abt my reno.. but make sure ur ID do up the fake ceiling properly, i do heard of company doing a lousy job for the fake ceilings and claim that is not their fault and push the blames to the structure this and that.

main concern is the workmanship and how effecient is the ID and his/her workers. this is what i can say.

pricing wise is quite high. still material and thickness plays a part.

Bluedusk,

My flat is also a 4R resale, but with only 1 toilet, 1 shower room, no storeroom, no balcony, no a/c ledge.

Initially I got 5 quotes -- was shocked to see the quotes varied widely, from around 20k to 50k, all basically for the same job scope, more or less :yamseng: The story of how I finally settled on one quotation is too long to share here. Suffice to say I think some prices for your renovation works are too high, as hinted at by applefreak, amongst others.

Don't make the mistake of trusting "friendly" IDs or contractors, they will surely "ko-tok" you, with a friendly smile of course (hehehe). I have relatives and friends who are contractors, but my policy is never to use them. Why?

Simply because in any renovation there will be problems, and it is more difficult to resolve those problems with contractors who are relatives or friends. Excuse me, but don't you think yr "friend-the-contractor" is taking advantage of yr friendship with his high-price quote?

There is no short-cut, your only safeguard is to get several quotes, compare, and negotiate, negotiate, negotiate. The more you know, the more informed you're, the better able you will negotiate. You will be surprised there is actually no "standard" pricing for a specific job, quotes can vary so widely!

For my 4R renovation work, I spent about $19-20k, excluding items I have to buy, such as sinks, fittings, etc. Also exclude aircon and rewiring which I sourced separately myself.

Check out my blog to see the extent of the renovation for that amount and you may get an idea if your quotation is fair and reasonable. Hope that helps :yamseng:

Edited by BlueFly