linggie 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 I love love Classic Kitchen...Joyce, one of the ID is my cousin-in-law's aunt, she gave me a slight discount haha but I still cant afford...will cost ard 5K+ for my 5 room kitchen.... but it is quality for money! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simpleboi 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 Hi simpleboi,did u go there on your own? bought everything there? we went there with my bf's relative... how i find it ar... dunno hoh... cuz the lights are not installed yet... i think if i nvr rem wrongly, its ard 1.5K... bought square shaped lights (those used for false ceiling), cant rem how many le... cuz they looked at the floorplan and recommended us to buy the quantity... debating fiercely about dining light and common bedroom lights cuz my bf was not very satisfied with the selection there... still thinking where to buy nice (but not ex) lights ar... our master bedroom and passageway also using the square lights... but master bedroom has four more rectangle lights which are to be fixed on the side of the false ceiling, effect's like cove light but will not store dust... hamburger light we bought for home shelter... two white round lights for toilets and two stainless steel round lights for kitchen, both designs are very simple... and the fan is also plain design, dun have patterns on the part of blades near the stem... oh ya, and the foyer light hoh, also din buy... heehee actually i dunno whether with my poor description, wld u understd wat i am saying... will take pics when the lights come... Hi starz,Hehe.. Yup we went there on our own.. was looking around Balestier for lights.. and went to another shop beforehand.. but then decided to look at this one.. then the price he charge us quite cheap.. in fact so much cheaper.. we decided to stick with this lor.. Our lights quite simple.. took the cheap type.. plus ceiling fan with light and remote control etc.. U can see the pics at my t-blog.. The only thing is the bulb for my spotlight they use is not gd.. prob those cheap no brand china type.. only a few days one bulb spoil liao.. went back to change.. then recently another one again.. think have to change again.. or get a better branded one.. Hope to see the pics soon keke Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
linggie 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 For our lights to fall below $800, our lights must be simple haha looking at most neighbours who spent at least 1K plus. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mirage 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 Hi Ling,I have set a budget of $800.00 for lightings too. Can only buy very simple and basic lights. No fancyful lightings. My wife is so disappointed. But no choice, have to keep within budget else pocket burnt a big big hole. MirageFor our lights to fall below $800, our lights must be simple haha looking at most neighbours who spent at least 1K plus. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2008 The defect list ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ oh, is yours a resale flat? cuz u mentioned about hacking of tiles in kitchen... take your time to choose... must choose someone u feel comfortable and can trust... actually i quite like classic kitchen from katong... if you are only doing kitchen, you can ask them for a quote... they only do carpentary... so wet works have to engage contractor... cuz for me, i already signed with one ID company so chances of me doing classic kitchen is not high... but was really impressed by the person who served me... thats my personal opinion~Yup, mine's a resale unit. Whd prefer to have one tt does the wet works together so tt waterproofing issue wun come up. It's the hacking + laying of tiles that forms bulk of the cost after I compared with some other forummers. Good luck and hope everything shun shun for you in yr reno! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
melting_starz 0 Report post Posted March 16, 2008 Second half of the defect list~ the mechanism seems to be spoilt... cannot push down to close the tap cover... bet most of us got the home shelter liddat... this is really disgusting! and if u walk into the home shelter and u look up... to test for hollow tiles, u need to use a coin (preferably 50 cents or 1 dollar) to tap on the tiles, four corners and centre... if u hear a hollow sound, means its a hollow tile... try knocking on the door frame, and u will get a hollow sound... its similar to that... anyway, we tried on all tiles in kitchen and toilets (within reachable height) and includes the floor tiles... good exercise and we spotted quite a few in master bedroom toilet!easily to spot... and they fixed it rather quickly too... ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------I went down to JM with my bf yesterday... most of the defects have been done... except for hollow tiles which they took off my labels but have not replaced the tiles... the doors looked more dirty than before after cement screeding... homo tiles are brought up to the house to be installed within this week... finally finalised the tiles and pebbles design for our foyer... saw the kitchen drawing and was quite pleased with the colours chosen... but cannot find nice window grilles for our house... in fact, i dun like to have window grilles... haiz, my mum insisted tt it is not safe without grilles next time... after that, went to IMM for shopping... wah, there are so many furnitures, interior designers, air con etc... we bought toshiba system 3 (inverters) at A**B**t... the lady whom my bf approached a few days ago, entertained us... felt quite comfortable with her... at least she dun gimme lotsa sales talk like their next next door neighbour... and we decided the hood & hob, turbo~ which at least is not going to burn too big a hole... by this wk, the homo tiles & aircon trunking shld be ready... at least we are seeing something done in our house... For our lights to fall below $800, our lights must be simple haha looking at most neighbours who spent at least 1K plus. erm... i think we hit 1k cuz we bought the ceiling fan from there too... if do more false ceiling also need to buy more those square lights... initially we din wanna do false ceiling in master bedroom but end up doing... simple lights can also be nice~! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simpleboi 0 Report post Posted March 17, 2008 Hi Ling,I have set a budget of $800.00 for lightings too. Can only buy very simple and basic lights. No fancyful lightings. My wife is so disappointed. But no choice, have to keep within budget else pocket burnt a big big hole. MirageHi,Mine is simple lighting too That's why felt got a gd price.. just that the quality is not gd.. esp the bulb Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted March 17, 2008 I think mine is very expensive, lucky my id cancelled all the invoices!This weekend, will go down to Jalan Besar to buy lights all over again.Hi,Mine is simple lighting too That's why felt got a gd price.. just that the quality is not gd.. esp the bulb Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
melting_starz 0 Report post Posted March 18, 2008 Will Jalan Besar have more varieties of light than Balestier? Still got dining and bedroom lights not bought yet... went to a few shops in Balestier already but cant find the lights that i fancy... -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------h4happy,u r so lucky! ur ID knows the light shop tt's why u managed to cancel all the invoices? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted March 18, 2008 Hi STARZ...yeah, I think so.Only pay demages for the credit card admin charges of over $86++Might call them to wavie also. Just try my luck.Will Jalan Besar have more varieties of light than Balestier? Still got dining and bedroom lights not bought yet... went to a few shops in Balestier already but cant find the lights that i fancy... -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------h4happy,u r so lucky! ur ID knows the light shop tt's why u managed to cancel all the invoices? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
melting_starz 0 Report post Posted March 20, 2008 Updates on my renovation... (i am having holiday today~ happy vernal equinox day! ) the tiles are those laminate-looking ones... the hollow parts are to be filled with small stones... the homogenous tiles in living room... though my bf wld very much prefer matt, due to overwhelming voting for glossy (which is only me n his mum), he finally give in~ haha the view from living room... not too bad~ after cement screeding done, we realised the doors are too long and need to be cut? haiz, how come they never think about this when they install the doors? anyway, managed to cut the doors for free after bargaining... the bases for fridge, kitchen cabinet and washing machine... according to my bf who has been popping by almost every lunch time, the workers in charge are only two aunties from malaysian... the lines are straight and nice... workmanship wise saturday will be going down to wait for the aircon man to come and install the trunking... really hope the trunking wld be nicely done and no sweating and other aircon problems... after that, to JALAN BESAR to look for the remaining lights~~~ the only big headache now is PAINTING?! we were asked to choose our own colours to paint the house... after much discussing, the colours are still not confirmed... how???? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wishbone 0 Report post Posted March 20, 2008 Hi!Is your unit on the top floor? You bedroom ceiling looks higher than normal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
melting_starz 0 Report post Posted March 20, 2008 Hi!Is your unit on the top floor? You bedroom ceiling looks higher than normal Issit higher than normal? i have been to a few units in Jalan membina... the ceiling height is all the same i guess... my unit is not on top floor... its somewhere in the upper floor though... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ravenski 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2008 ****The following post is written by melting_starz****Some random pics... the laminate ppl brought 4 samples of the laminate as requested by us... cuz at first they showed us the square sample which is so small to visualise... still cant decide which one to get... all laminates look so nice... but we will be using exquisite laminate... anyone heard of this brand? i only know supreme and kronotex... but the laminate ppl said their stock for kronotex not much, lotsa of laminates are not available... somemore after looking through so many laminates, it seems tt the pattern for exquisite is nicer than kronotex? they claimed that its the same price and also good quality laminate... dunno how true this is? our contractor gave us the window grilles pictures to choose... still deciding between the pure horizontal lines and the one with 4 horizontal (each pair are close tog), 3 vertical lines... it seems tt getting the former wld be much simpler... but i kind of like the latter design... given that our living room has those long vertical lines, wondering wld it be better to do pure horizontal? this was before the tiling... one huge pile of sand and our tiles have arrived! too bad i was not there to see how they lay tiles... should be quite interesting! the kitchen short wall before it was completed... after much delibration, decided to do a L shape which seems more functional... my short wall is 1m tall... actually wanted to do same height as the kitchen window... but our contractor said they only do 1m tall... wat's the rational behind this? i ever saw a neighbour's kitchen with the short wall same height as the window though... the false ceiling in the living room... now only with colourful wires dangling from the top... heehee i really hope it will turn out nice... at first we din want to do false ceiling... somehow changed our mind again... its hard to stick to one idea throught the reno i guess... -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------today was another saturday which was super exciting, busy & exhausting for us... since the keys were collected, we were busy every weekend... except for sun morning which i had to attend classes... morning, we went to jalan besar in search of our remaining lightings... but there are so many shops selling sinks & taps that caught our attention... spent quite some time looking at the sinks & taps... i fell in love with the crizto sink which my bf thinks it's too small... hiaks... he likes the teka sink which is more ex... the mum likes the tap which is very ex... all lost in their own world... actually found some lightings in tai yong lighting which i like very much... those zen type of lighting with wood and yellow lights... wondering wld it be suitable for dining area... then, start to wondering wat happened to our aircon man who is supposed to call us when they are ready to go install the piping... geez, when they called us, we were having lunch at mac and they already arrived at our doorstep... no choice, rushed down in taxi... saw 3 poor men standing outside our door with their tools and pipings... after some discussion on how to run the trunking, they get started and we rushed down to balestier to see some more lightings... i think i mentioned it before that we got our lights from P*l*ce L*ght*ng... after looking around some other shops, we feel that the prices for some lights are too ex... den went back to make some changes... we told the person in charge how we felt abt the price... guess wat he said? people use poorer materials, mine is different, i use very good materials from germany blah blah blah! speaks like our contractor~ so we decided to take out the items which are too ex... the best part was when the storage heater man suddenly called to tell us that he is already at our doorstep... ?!?!?! he was supposed to go our house at 5 plus or 6 but he reached there at 3? we cant possibly go back in time... in the end, we just asked him to go in and install since the aircon men were also around... i felt a bit worried but no choice... he disappeared after installing and we din get to pay him... anyway, already place a deposit to his boss, so only need to go down and pay the remaining sum... after a short shopping at balestier, we went back to our house to check out the trunking... i would say i am very happy with their trunking, excellent workmanship! (this only includes visual inspection) better not to say so early, must wait till aircon is installed and tested... the false ceiling ppl also appeared to move their barang barang inside our house... to be installed on monday... ***stay tuned for more pics!!*** to my long entry for today... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted March 23, 2008 I also find no logic why the short wall should be at 1m (kitchen area).It is up to our owner to decide.Just pay the top up loh.Sometimes I have been wondering certain things can be done but id/contractors just want the easy way out. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites