weiht

Slack Pad

I just got my place last week at jurong west st25. Went to check on defects last week and found that there isnt much, except dirty toilet doors and 1 beroom door cant close properly. However, today i brought my future mom in'law down to take a look, and we spotted pretty bad cracks at common toilet tiles and kitchen.

Went to report to HDB, and the officer in charge called me up to say they will hack all the tiles n replace them as the design is obsolete alr. He told me that i will be able to choose from his contractor the designs, however, i hope that its not the typical ugly HDB tiles man...

In fact, i will try asking HDB wats the cost they will cover, and if its ok i go get my own tiles and they compensate my accordinlgy, if got any futher cost then i will top up. Really hope it can be done, what u guys think?

Will update these few days with the items i bought n design. My ID is marc from linear space, whom im v happy to work with.

woo hoo spam ah :jawdrop:

think it'll be good to go down with a torch coz some defects only show up under strong lighting

as for topping up for better tiles, think you'll have to nego with the contractor whom is engaged by HDB

for the SK EAs we managed to do it but not sure about your side

more pix more pix :(

Hey Weiht. Welcome to JW and our neighbourhood too! :( If your TO is Mr Tan, he is a nice TO. Have no problem with him so far for the defects list then. :jawdrop:

Not sure if you can get other tiles as for our case, the HDB contractors had to hack the common toilet tiles as got several hollow tiles. From those ugly light & dark blue tiles with funny motif borders(they ran out of those ugly blue tiles) to a decent modern light & dark grey tiles with acceptable motif borders. You can try asking the contractors if can change to 1 colour type instead of 2 tone colour types.

Edited by BunBun

wah apple, u r fast man!:yamseng:!

Thx for ur replies, i really hope that can change to a nicer tile man, cuz the current ones really r super ugly. Is it too much if i say the current toilet bowl colour also dun match LOL. Actually if really gg to change, n HDB is paying still, then i dun mind topping up the rest to get nicer tiles lor. Either i get it thru their contractor or HDB can pay my contractor instead. Of course i rather my ID get the $$$.

Apple u mean the SK ppl got to change the tiles to their choice?

Bunbun, its funny cuz i used to stay at st42 many yrs back, now im back to jurong again haha

Edited by weiht

Ok now for some pics.

Living room,

Hse1.jpg

This is the 1st meeting 3d drawing, and we have decided to not go ahead with the drop lights. Sad to say also is that we may have to sacrifice the pool table due to space contrains (Sofa). Colour also is slightly different, as scan in photo seems to look v dull.

The false ceiling will have some texture all the way down to the connecting wall.

Hmm. I think it is possible if you want to change the current toilet bowl colour. At first the original toilet bowl in dark blue was to be used back once the new tiles were up in the common toilet. However the toilet bowl & sink got problem I suspect during the dismantling process. And there was a new replacement for it in the same dark blue colour. We'd requested for grey colour to match the toilet tiles which they did.

Thx for ur replies, i really hope that can change to a nicer tile man, cuz the current ones really r super ugly. Is it too much if i say the current toilet bowl colour also dun match LOL. Actually if really gg to change, n HDB is paying still, then i dun mind topping up the rest to get nicer tiles lor. Either i get it thru their contractor or HDB can pay my contractor instead. Of course i rather my ID get the $$$.

Bunbun, its funny cuz i used to stay at st42 many yrs back, now im back to jurong again haha

Hmm. I think it is possible if you want to change the current toilet bowl colour. At first the original toilet bowl in dark blue was to be used back once the new tiles were up in the common toilet. However the toilet bowl & sink got problem I suspect during the dismantling process. And there was a new replacement for it in the same dark blue colour. We'd requested for grey colour to match the toilet tiles which they did.

Wah, great news!:yamseng: BUt i already bought 2 white colour sinks that was clearing for onli $55 at genova today, but shld be able to change to something else lah.

White is the most easiest colour to match with any other colour one. No worries also.

Wah, great news!:yamseng: BUt i already bought 2 white colour sinks that was clearing for onli $55 at genova today, but shld be able to change to something else lah.

original floorplan

floorplan.jpg

proposed

Hse2.jpg

Our kitchen counter is pretty short as my wife to be needs some space for her stuff (Designer Florist), we also will have a mini cosy corner to have dinner in the kitchen just for the both of us.

The big wall in the living room will be wallpapered, and 1 of the bedroom will be a dedicated HT room. The other bedroom will be a simple guest room which we may just leave it barely touch up first. Will have a walk in waldrobe for our MBR using ikea pole system. Rainshower for MBR

Pretty simple n straightforward, we didnt have any theme initially. We also clueless abt how we want it to look like. But marc was very helpful n patient to help us thru this mental block. We just told him that we want a place that screams RELAC and comfortable, cuz i want a place that i can really just go home n wind down and forget abt work. N also when our frens come over for football matches or just hang out, we want a place where everyone can be at ease n enjoy n chill. Dun really want a designer home where its very nice, but i feel v tensed in it, or ppl feel like they have to behave well LOL

hehehe, i'm usually lurking around in this forum :notti:

not possible for hdb to pay your contractor

so most prob the work will be done by the hdb contractor :good:

Things bought so far

bed.jpg

$1688 for king size at cellini

cine.jpg

$1500 Seats for HT room

table1.jpgtable.jpg

$199 Mini dining table for kitchen

sofa.jpg

$2100 Most comfortable sofa we tried (from BHG), its so huge at 3.3mX2.7m. This is why i had to KIV my pool table, n see if i wanna lego the sofa to accomodate it. We liked the item, but the sales ppl there are abit......... 8|:sport-smiley-004::notti::dunno::bow::bangwall:

Fridge.jpg

LG gr-m562 fridge $840

lcd.jpg

LG 42" lcd $1548 from IT show

Among other things, HT system n projector from KEC, Hobz hob n hood set.

Still looking for rain shower set n water heater tank, pole system from ikea, nice n cheap curtains :dunno: , coffee table (cant find one we like yet, so dun wanna buy for sake of buying), chip chip white toilet bowls, n kitchen sink, lights.

Wishing for ps3, BD player, lots of blueray disks, a nice tube amp for stereo(china ones for a start also can), simple home automation (quoted 1k), and the list goes on n on n ooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

First time I see the floor plan for the 5 room units in 276B,C & D area. Not bad leh at least the HHS door in Kitchen compared to the HHS in dining area for EAs

original floorplan

floorplan.jpg

proposed

Hse2.jpg

Our kitchen counter is pretty short as my wife to be needs some space for her stuff (Designer Florist), we also will have a mini cosy corner to have dinner in the kitchen just for the both of us.

welcome to renotalk ... and congrates :sport-smiley-004: you got a great layout ...

hope you still manage to get your dream pool table ...

btw which club you happen to support ?? Man U or Liverpools or many others ?? :bangwall:

ranval9, i support man utd since the earli 90s when i was still studying. But i do enjoy watching other teams that play gd football, n liverpool is one of them.