CybNoX 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2008 Hi all, newbie here, I am getting my resale flat in Khatib quite soon... after seeing Hobbes187's beautiful photos and write-ups, I am so inspired and moltivated by the ways, is the idealhouse that you folks had been using is from this: http://www.idealhouse.com.sg/company.html many thks in advance! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kajua 1 Report post Posted June 28, 2008 (edited) Hi all, newbie here, I am getting my resale flat in Khatib quite soon... after seeing Hobbes187's beautiful photos and write-ups, I am so inspired and moltivated by the ways, is the idealhouse that you folks had been using is from this: http://www.idealhouse.com.sg/company.html many thks in advance! Yup thats the company we are using. Some of us have different IDs from the same company. You can go to the Renovation firms section to read about the various ID from this company http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=12048 http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=7747 Waaahh!! Hobbes your place turning out to be really nice . Edited June 28, 2008 by kajua Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2008 Today we took delivery of our first piece of furniture! Its the Barang Barang dining set which we bought 2 months ago. I actually wanted to postpone the delivery cos my carpentry were not up yet and I dont want the workers to treat my table as a place to put their tools. However, BB could not reschedule the delivery so I had no choice but to take it. The delivery was prompt and fuss-free. As a recap, I got the dining table at the warehouse sale for 50% discount and the chairs during their store-wide 50% discount. I was expecting the table to have some defects as it is a warehouse clearing piece and I distinctly saw at least one scratch on the table top. But to my surprise, the piece that arrived today is in very good conditions! Either they gave me a new piece or somehow they managed to remove the scratches. This is definitely a bargain find for us, only $868 for an entire BB dining set. We will also be putting up a mirror on the dining table wall since it is quite bare now and also the FSM wanted us to do so. Thus, we trotted down to Ikea and bought the 160 x 70cm Stave mirror in the same colour as my dining set. Cost us only $99 which is a lot of savings compared to asking the ID to make. This is one of the few large large mirror we could find at a budget price. At the same time, we bought 4 of the Vacker closet organiser box for putting in our wardrobes as a replacement for drawers as well as to allow for easy access to clothes. We asked our ID to customise the shelves in the wardrobes to fit 2 of these on a single shelf nicely. We saw a lot of nice stuff like the laundry shelves that can be put in the service balcony but all these will have to wait till everything is up. Now we're waiting and waiting for the carpentry to be installed. The fabrication has started for 2 weeks and I am hoping that they can install during the 2nd week of July. Will have a lot more pics to post then Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 Hi all, newbie here, I am getting my resale flat in Khatib quite soon... after seeing Hobbes187's beautiful photos and write-ups, I am so inspired and moltivated by the ways, is the idealhouse that you folks had been using is from this: http://www.idealhouse.com.sg/company.html many thks in advance! Wow thanks... Didnt know I can inspire and motivate others in their reno Do start a t-blog and post some pics once u get ur keys Waaahh!! Hobbes your place turning out to be really nice . Thanks... Its still only 50% done. Hopefully we can achieve the look we want with all the carpentry up. So hows the new place? Any problems? Is the cuizino hob still problematic? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CybNoX 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 sure! will try to.. thks all for sharing, swee ah! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kajua 1 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 (edited) Thanks... Its still only 50% done. Hopefully we can achieve the look we want with all the carpentry up. So hows the new place? Any problems? Is the cuizino hob still problematic? New place is good Already go there on weekends to laze and cook Cuizino hob and hood are all okay liao. Just once a while forget must hold 5 seconds on max setting before letting go ... The chimney sounds like a vacuum when we turn it on. Otherwise its quite good. Your dining table set is quite unique ...is that different color chairs? Btw what wood is the table made of? FYI, ours is from Wihardja , similar design, when we put a hot pot on it using those cork pot coaster, somehow it left a white patch on the surface Now we kia su already put 2 layers of coasters When is your expected completion date? Edited June 29, 2008 by kajua Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 Today, I brought a few rolls of plastic films used to wrap industrial machines to wrap up my newly delivered dining table. Didnt want any of the workers to put their equipment on it and scratch the surface I have nowhere to hide the table as it's too big to be shifted into the rooms for lock up. So I guess I'll have to write a few warning posters and paste them on everything they are not supposed to touch. Hope that wont make them want to touch it even more! I had some plastic film left and I had a crazy idea. I noticed that the insulation on my aircon compressor is exposed. So are the 5 metal taps on the side of the compressor. Being on the highest floor, they are subjected to even more sunlight and rain since there is less shade. Prolonged exposure to the elements will result in cracking and wearing of the insulation and poorer aircon performace. I observed that almost all installers leave the insulations exposed when they can do something to protect it. So I climbed out onto the aircon ledge and wrapped the insulation with a few layers of the plastic film. I think it will at least be able to keep it dry and increase its lifespan. I also draped a piece of film over the taps to reduce the amount of rain water that may get in contact with it. I took care not to block any vents so the compressor should not be affected in any way. What do u guys think of my little DIY? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CraB 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 Today, I brought a few rolls of plastic films used to wrap industrial machines to wrap up my newly delivered dining table. Hi Hobbes187, can pm me where you bought the plastic films from? And how much? I only saw those that are used for food Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kajua 1 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 If you wrap the trunking and water seeps in, because they are wrapped the water stay in between the wrapping and trunking and takes a longer time to evaporate. Will that cause the trunking to corrode even faster as it is soak in a wet enviroment a longer time? Wet and hot? Versus if it is not wrapped, any water is evaporated off quite fast? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 New place is good Already go there on weekends to laze and cook Cuizino hob and hood are all okay liao. Just once a while forget must hold 5 seconds on max setting before letting go ... The chimney sounds like a vacuum when we turn it on. Otherwise its quite good. Your dining table set is quite unique ...is that different color chairs? Btw what wood is the table made of? FYI, ours is from Wihardja , similar design, when we put a hot pot on it using those cork pot coaster, somehow it left a white patch on the surface Now we kia su already put 2 layers of coasters When is your expected completion date? The table is made of "Solid Birch & MDF core with Ash veneers and lacquer finish" according to BB website. I'm surprised that those coasters are not enough to contain the heat of your pot... So the patch cant be removed?? Anyway I expect everything to wrap up by end July. Thats one month off schedule Hi Hobbes187, can pm me where you bought the plastic films from? And how much? I only saw those that are used for food I got it from a friend. He has some left in his factory... Think u can find in some hardware shop too... If you wrap the trunking and water seeps in, because they are wrapped the water stay in between the wrapping and trunking and takes a longer time to evaporate. Will that cause the trunking to corrode even faster as it is soak in a wet enviroment a longer time? Wet and hot? Versus if it is not wrapped, any water is evaporated off quite fast? I think you may be right. After some further consideration, I think water getting trapped inside is a possible problem. Think I will go remove the plastic this weekend. Have to go back to the drawing board then... Thinking of using a cardboard to act as a shield/shade instead Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strychnine 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 (edited) was just wondering how you managed to take the photo at that angle, from the opp side i mean.. hee that aside, i have to commend idealhouse contractors' good intiatives when it comes to clients' furnitures. i had some furnitures brought over and placed on one room during the renovation. when they had to shift them over to the next room, they even went as far as placing a protective bubble wrap around all my stuff to ensure that they were debris-free. All without me having to tell them. Then again, as yours is a really new expensive stuff...its still better to be extra safe. Edited June 30, 2008 by strychnine Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 was just wondering how you managed to take the photo at that angle, from the opp side i mean.. hee that aside, i have to commend idealhouse contractors' good intiatives when it comes to clients' furnitures. i had some furnitures brought over and placed on one room during the renovation. when they had to shift them over to the next room, they even went as far as placing a protective bubble wrap around all my stuff to ensure that they were debris-free. All without me having to tell them. Then again, as yours is a really new expensive stuff...its still better to be extra safe. To take that picture, I was hanging from a rope attached to the rooftop like a civil defense DART member... Just joking!! If you look at my floor plan, my service balcony faces my aircon ledge so I can take the photo from there... Thats where I hang out my bamboo poles too... Yeah, Max did mention that he will wrap up my stuff the next time he goes down but I thought I better do it myself just to be sure... Maybe get him to wrap another round to be kiasu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CraB 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 (edited) I got it from a friend. He has some left in his factory... Think u can find in some hardware shop too... .... I think water getting trapped inside is a possible problem. .... Thinking of using a cardboard to act as a shield/shade instead Will look around some hardware stores for it....on the aircon thing, perhaps a C-shaped metal structure that's small enough to cover the rubber should be fine? I would say that, with changing temperature, moisture and UV as abiotic degrading agents, the strongest should be UV (but this does not mean that changing temp and rain aini't impt). A piece of aluminium folded into a C-shape (like a huge desktop CPU cover) and sitting over the exposed trunking should do the trick (will block out a lot of UV, keep out rain, and will have ventilation? Maybe can ask your ID for a small piece of scrap aluminium sheet.....or go buy a 2nd hand CPU cover Edited June 30, 2008 by CraB Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 Will look around some hardware stores for it....on the aircon thing, perhaps a C-shaped metal structure that's small enough to cover the rubber should be fine? I would say that, with changing temperature, moisture and UV as abiotic degrading agents, the strongest should be UV (but this does not mean that changing temp and rain aini't impt). A piece of aluminium folded into a C-shape (like a huge desktop CPU cover) and sitting over the exposed trunking should do the trick (will block out a lot of UV, keep out rain, and will have ventilation? Maybe can ask your ID for a small piece of scrap aluminium sheet.....or go buy a 2nd hand CPU cover Interesting idea... I may try out a plastic piece wrapped in aluminium or something... See what I can salvage from home All these may seem wierd to some ppl but I just like to do some DIY here and there Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Burryzz 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 Finally, my windows are up. I have installed casement window in my balcony with fixed panel below. Since HDB doesnt want to give us full height window, we decided to come up with our own version HDB forced us to use tempered glass for the fixed panel... Extra cost again... But the overall result came out alright. Wonder if it will look as nice with the grilles up next week... I wish I could live without the grilles but my place is too high and the railing is too low for me. In fact, I dont really dare to peer too much over any of the windows Balcony windows Before After Service balcony windows - Casement + sliding Hihi We're staying in the vicinity and also share the same dislike for those hideous metal grilles at the balcony. However, I am not sure if you would to do fixed panels as things can get lodged in between the grilles and your glass window. eg. leaves, lego blocks from naughty kids etc. And you can't reach to clear them since the panels are fixed.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites