hobbes187

Hobbes187's Stomping Ground

Yeah this colour is very nice. But my floor tiles are not pure white but slight beige in colour so might not match this... Maybe I might consider this for the study room... Still cant make up my mind...

I'm worried that if I paint the whole wall behind the tv console with mocha delight, the whole living room will appear darker... sigh... Cant visualise how the colour will turn out...

same dilemma- cannot make the mind. :dancingqueen:

is your unit naturally bright? I think just one panel should be ok.

Our study room cannot even receive a beam of light and the whole unit is a bit dark. kinda block everywhere.

if your unit has light shining in, it should be fine.

same dilemma- cannot make the mind. :dancingqueen:

is your unit naturally bright? I think just one panel should be ok.

Our study room cannot even receive a beam of light and the whole unit is a bit dark. kinda block everywhere.

if your unit has light shining in, it should be fine.

Mine is highest floor so quite bright... I think one panel is ok also but I cant help but keep thinking of alternative... haha... If this goes on then reno can never finish!

Anyway I will ask Max to redo the 3D drawing and then we'll see how it goes...

Err... any idea how many times a typical 3D drawing can be revised? I'm scared tt i'm seemed to be a picky person although we are the ones who paid them... :dancingqueen:

Anyone can advise me on whether it is ok to lay wiring below the tiles? My ID is proposing shifting 2 power points from one wall to another wall and he says running wire under the tiles will minimise ugly trunking running up to the ceiling. Have you guys done this before? :dunno:

get your ID to run the wires in a pvc pipe

so if next time want to change wire no need to hack the tiles

can just tie the new wire to the old wire and pull :notti: :notti:

Yeah this colour is very nice. But my floor tiles are not pure white but slight beige in colour so might not match this... Maybe I might consider this for the study room... Still cant make up my mind...

I'm worried that if I paint the whole wall behind the tv console with mocha delight, the whole living room will appear darker... sigh... Cant visualise how the colour will turn out...

just realised my MBR is painted with mocha delight!!! :P you might want to use that as a reference on the brightness

during day time and before carpentry was up

P1050448.jpg

night time

Wardrobe01.jpg

Err... any idea how many times a typical 3D drawing can be revised? I'm scared tt i'm seemed to be a picky person although we are the ones who paid them... :dancingqueen:

I think should be ok as long as within reasonable limits lor :) I've seen 2 versions so far. Initially I thought it was ok but as the reno starts, I asked the ID to redraw some of them as we start changing our minds. So I guess in the end we will be looking at about 3 or 4 versions ba...

get your ID to run the wires in a pvc pipe

so if next time want to change wire no need to hack the tiles

can just tie the new wire to the old wire and pull :notti: :notti:

Good idea thanks!

just realised my MBR is painted with mocha delight!!! :P you might want to use that as a reference on the brightness

Thanks!! This really helps! Seems like it looks closer to the shade in the colour swatch only at night. In the day it looks brighter right? Ok, seeing your picture makes me more confident in going ahead with Mocha Delight.

Coffee Table Settled!

P1040111resized.jpg

We went to Ikea today under the impression that there will be massive sales since it's their 30th anniversary sale but we were disappointed. Only selected items were on sale and none were the ones we want. So we left empty handed :(

Next we went to Furniture Mall to look for dining chairs. Couldn't find any that are nice yet fit our budget. Thought it will be another wasted trip but then we saw a nice glass coffee table which is of the right size we have been looking for everywhere! We want a small glass table for the living room and really like this *****. :good::good::good: We put a deposit for it immediately...

Thats another thing to mark off the list :sport-smiley-018:

Today we went to the site and found that the living room tiling has started. About 20% of the living + dining area has been tiled. The tilers seem to have done a very neat job, covering the tiles with cardboard as they go along. This is the tile we chose for the living, dining and bedrooms:

P1040121resized.jpg

The kitchen walls are also 75% completed. We really like the rectangle tiles, it gives the kitchen a nice modern look :good: The grouting have not been put in yet though but the effect can be seen already.

P1040116resized.jpg

P1040115resized.jpg

Lastly, we were surprised to see that the MBR toilet floor has been completed. The shower kerb is up and the tiles all laid nicely. The walls have been cleaned up somewhat and the feature tiles flower pattern can be seen a little more. However we feel that the flower prints are not outstanding enough :( The place is pretty dark though so perhaps with lighting it will be better... :dunno:

P1040127resized2.jpg

P1040126resized.jpg

P1040129resized.jpg

Edited by hobbes187

What kind of light are you getting for the toilets? Yeah I think you are right, if your toilet is brighter the effect would be very good

Sigh....really nice tiles :( too bad we didnt get them

Edited by kajua

What kind of light are you getting for the toilets? Yeah I think you are right, if your toilet is brighter the effect would be very good

Sigh....really nice tiles :( too bad we didnt get them

I'll be using those metal "dog-bowl" style lights. I bought the double tube version and will use white daylight bulbs. Think will be very bright :)

You can still overlay your tiles now :P

Heheh more pics leh!!! I envy ppl doing toilets...haiiiii. HDB color scheme is crap,.

Will surely post more pics as reno progresses... Hopefully when I go over this wk end the common bathoom floor will be up :)

Anyway I heard from my ID someone in my block complain of the noise from my reno last weekend. The HDB branch office called him up and sort of scolded him :D So now he might not plan for any works on weekends...

Need some advise from you guys... I'm thinking of installing a ventilation fan in the bathroom but currently HDB provides concealed points for one light and one heater. So in order to minimise trunking, I'm thinking of tapping the fan to either of these.

It will be a problem if i tap to the light point cos that means even in the day, I will have to on the light if I need the fan.

So I am thinking more of tapping to the instant heater point. However, I need to confirm that instant heater dont consume power till you turn on your tap right? So I can on the heater switch to turn on the fan but the heater wont be draining additional power right? And electrically, the fan and heater should be able to share the same point rite? Anyway most of the time we will need the fan only while bathing so the heater should be on at the same time also (unless someone is making big business :) )

I would like to avoid the case of running another switch point just for the fan as that would mean more trunking in my bathroom :(

Edited by hobbes187

Today is another typical renovation saturday driving all over singapore :D

Firstly we went Jalan Besar searching for ceiling fans... Wanted to get a Fanco 56" model but many places sold out on the bronze colour we wanted. So we ended up ordering a 54" Crestar Windpac from Royal Fanco first with the option of changing back to the other model once stock comes in mid june.

Next we went to searching for our dining chair... Barang Barang are having special 50% store-wide. It's supposed to be by invite only and past customers should have gotten an SMS or email. But if you go there and mention the promo they will still give you the discount

I bought my dining chairs there today... 4 pieces usual price $139 each but got all 4 at $278... Very good bargain considering most of the similiar chairs I see elsewhere are selling at $150-200 each... So my BB dining set cost me $868 only :sport-smiley-018: We got the chairs shown in the picture below, 2 of each colour.

Everything at BB is on 50% till tmr so if you're eyeing anything from there, better go down and see.

P1040099resized.jpg

Edited by hobbes187

Today is another typical renovation saturday driving all over singapore :D

Firstly we went Jalan Besar searching for ceiling fans... Wanted to get a Fanco 56" model but many places sold out on the bronze colour we wanted. So we ended up ordering a 54" Crestar Windpac from Royal Fanco first with the option of changing back to the other model once stock comes in mid june.

Next we went to searching for our dining chair... Barang Barang are having special 50% store-wide. It's supposed to be by invite only and past customers should have gotten an SMS or email. But if you go there and mention the promo they will still give you the discount

I bought my dining chairs there today... 4 pieces usual price $139 each but got all 4 at $278... Very good bargain considering most of the similiar chairs I see elsewhere are selling at $150-200 each... So my BB dining set cost me $868 only :sport-smiley-018: We got the chairs shown in the picture below, 2 of each colour.

Everything at BB is on 50% till tmr so if you're eyeing anything from there, better go down and see.

P1040099resized.jpg

A friend of mine bought a similar type of dining set but of diff brand for at least $2000++

Barang2 is known for its quality so u got a good bargain there indeed ! :good:

- stry

Edited by strychnine