NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 can't say the tai yong uncle provides excellent service just that he is honest and doesn't try to ketok me he also advise me to get someone who know how to do balancing to install the fan this is very important coz the balancing helps the fan to be quiet But seriously, how they do balancing? Normally for rotation type of mechanism, balancing can only be achieved, if you add weights to the blades, so for ceiling fans...how ah? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 But seriously, how they do balancing? Normally for rotation type of mechanism, balancing can only be achieved, if you add weights to the blades, so for ceiling fans...how ah? Are u adding a celing fan? Maybe you can write a review on how good Max's electrician is at installing the fan. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
evisu 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 can't say the tai yong uncle provides excellent service just that he is honest and doesn't try to ketok me he also advise me to get someone who know how to do balancing to install the fan this is very important coz the balancing helps the fan to be quiet applefreak, where can we get pple to do balancing of the fan? my fan was installed by my contractor... i doubt he is specialist in tis... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 Are u adding a celing fan? Maybe you can write a review on how good Max's electrician is at installing the fan. I already added leh...a little noisy to me, but then again i never own ceiling fans before so I dunno how many decibels the fan should sound? Hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 But seriously, how they do balancing? Normally for rotation type of mechanism, balancing can only be achieved, if you add weights to the blades, so for ceiling fans...how ah? wow you do have some knowledge about mechanism i only learnt about the balancing part coz the tai yong uncle taught me the balancing is done by adding weights, clipped to the blades as the installer test the fan my installer first installed the fan, switched it on and then do the balancing he test until there's no 'abnormal' sound then he declare installation done applefreak, where can we get pple to do balancing of the fan? my fan was installed by my contractor... i doubt he is specialist in tis... paiseh, the balancing was done by my installer so i'm not sure if you can find someone to do the balancing Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darrenelle 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 (edited) Hey Hobbes187, I agree with you that Henry from Franco is really nice and friendly, even his wife too. I think the same girl from Poh Joo attended to us also. Her name is feifei. Yah, she didn't know much but can quote. Haha.... Since, I have secured my hob and hood, I may return to RF for the rest. My aunty also recommended me Hoe Kee at Tg Katong Shopping Centre. She told me it is cheaper than Poh Joo. May go down and peep. Edited April 27, 2008 by darrenelle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 Tiling started today Went down to take a look in the afternoon and there were some tiles up in both the toilets. Think tiling will take up to 3 weeks to complete We also went down to Jalan Besar to buy our taps and other toilet accessories. Buying Taps The first shop we went to was the Poh Joo opp Lavender Food Court. The shop was nicely done up and has many taps put out on display. However the service was quite lousy with a salesgirl following us quietly around and not offering much assistance at all. Her product knowledge was lacking (she told me that high floor units have better water pressure cos nearer to the tank ) The prices there wasnt fantastic so I left after looking around. Then we went further down the road to Royal Fanco. There was no customers in the shop when we went in and the boss Henry served us personally. On first glance, his shop is messy and the taps on display were old and dusty. I was thinking "oh no, prob have to find another shop". But I was very wrong. Henry was very enthuiastic in serving us and his product knowledge is . I found out that he doesnt display all his taps out and if you can roughly tell him what u want, he will bring out what he has in the store to show u. I wanted to find a high tap for my MBR toilet and he opened up box after box of taps to show us till we found something we like. I also like his integrity cos when I asked about a certain nice but expensive tap, he told me a customer complained that the pressure is too strong for that one and he recommend me a much cheaper alternative instead of pushing the exp one. When I want to look at certain mirrors that are not displayed, he cut opened new boxes just to show us. He told us he like customers to see and feel everything so he dont mind dragging out stuff from his store to show. Even my fiancee says that his service is "too good" In the end we bought: High mixer tap for MBR toilet x 1 Low mixer tap for common toilet x 1 707 Alpine instant heater x 2 Shower 2 way tap x 2 Hand spray + rinser valve x 2 Washing machine tap x 1 Bathroom accesories full set x 1 Towel bar x 1 Toilet paper holder x 1 Think we might be going down to buy our ceiling fan from him next week also... Saw a Fanco one that we like. Hi hobbes, learned tat u bought ur instant heaters frm RF. Can share how much u bought the heaters? If not convenient, can PM me too. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 wow you do have some knowledge about mechanism i only learnt about the balancing part coz the tai yong uncle taught me the balancing is done by adding weights, clipped to the blades as the installer test the fan my installer first installed the fan, switched it on and then do the balancing he test until there's no 'abnormal' sound then he declare installation done paiseh, the balancing was done by my installer so i'm not sure if you can find someone to do the balancing Hahaha. Just some simple knowledge only...in any case, after balancing, the clips visible from below? Cos the weights have to remain there to keep it balanced. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 for my case no, as my blades are wooden colour and the clips are dark colour as well also, when my fan is switched on (whenever we are in that particular room), it's a whirr and no one can see liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 Hi hobbes, learned tat u bought ur instant heaters frm RF. Can share how much u bought the heaters? If not convenient, can PM me too. L3x The 707 Alpine was $$195 each. He quoted the compact at $185. There is an overall discount after everything else together so exact price is lower. Actually his taps seem slightly cheaper than poh joo. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 (edited) Dining Table Ordered Today went furniture hunting with the aim of looking for bedside tables, dining table and coffee table. First went to Lush where they were having 20% discount. The stuff are way out of our budget. One dining set cost about $1480 + (4 x $220) = $2360 for 1 table and 4 chairs . But the design there were pretty nice. We then went to the Barang Barang warehouse sale at Senoko Loop. They were having sale of up to 80% on everything from sofa, beds, dining table to painting. We were there near closing time and had only 45 min to look around. We realised that there were many bargain pieces for sale... Dining tables at Barang shops usually sell for $1200-$2000 and were also out of our budget but the tables there were at 40-60% discount Granted there were some scratches here and there on some pieces but the price is simply too good. We looked through the many pieces they had available and finally ordered the dining table shown in the picture below. Dimension is 160 x 85cm. It was selling for $1190 in the Barang shops but is offered here at a tempting dicounted price of $590 which was a steal considering the solid construction typical of Barang Barang furniture. We figured that $590 will probably get us a table of poorer material and workmanship elsewhere (those tables within our budget are usually shaky and hollow). This table is made of strong solid wood, is extremely heavy and wont shake at all even when I try to shake it hard . This one should last us for years! The only defect it had is a slight scratch at the tabletop which I intend to cover with a piece of custom made glass top . We spent a long time considering whether to get the chairs (seen in the pic) as well. The red ones were selling for $99 and the white ones $120. In the end we decided to source for the chairs elsewhere, perhaps we might get benches. Edited April 29, 2008 by hobbes187 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 We also went to Ikea Tampines and shortlisted a few furnitures. Galant Study table I love this table. It is big, wide and deep, perfect for doing reports and reading. We are planning to get one 160cm and one 120cm one to combine into a giant 280cm study table for one end of my study room. This should be enough for the 2 of us, each on one end and the computer in the middle for sharing. Malm bedside table This is a nice little bedside table we found. It is a new design in Ikea and sells for $69. An additional black glass top can be purchased for $15. So for $84 x 2 = $168 we get a pair of functional yet pretty looking tables. I think the material is the lousy Ikea particle board but at this price, I will be happy to throw them away if they can last me 2 yrs. Mirror for common toilet Finally found a mirror we like! This one cost more than the usual mirrors found in poh joo or royal fanco but we like its design a lot. The blurred part is done to conceal my face ! Grundtal Stainless Steel Toilet bars These towel bars are made of stainless steel and is unbelievably cheap!! To get a double bar SS outside will easily cost $50+ but this one is only $15 for the long one and $9 for the short one! They also have stainless steel toilet shelves, clothes hook and toilet roll holder. I think I'm cancelling my toilet accesories with royal fanco and buying these Ikea ones cos they look to be value for money SS bars dont corrode or peel off like their chrome plated counterpart. Most importantly I can save $100 if I get these instead of from outside! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted April 27, 2008 The 707 Alpine was $$195 each. He quoted the compact at $185. There is an overall discount after everything else together so exact price is lower. Actually his taps seem slightly cheaper than poh joo. Ya, his taps cheaper. The heater around tis price. Thx.. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 I was browsing the Barang Barang website just now and saw that there is table of the same model as the one I bought yesterday (Odense dining table). The thing is the one on the website is said to be extendable to 2.2m but the salesman didnt mention anything about that to us yesterday. The dimension on the site is exactly the same as the one I bought. Wonder if mine can extend Anyway we'll be going down tmr to check out this bench... Planning to get 2 of them to match the dining table but I have no idea how much they will cost... Hopefully can be within my budget. Anyone seen this before at barang barang? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted April 28, 2008 My ID MMS me the progress for the day... Seems like they have started on the balcony tiles... We're using rough stone-like tiles laid in a outdoor-ish manner with offset for every tile. Maybe I'll pop by the site tmr to see how the progress personally Share this post Link to post Share on other sites