countrylover

Our Cosy Country Home

:P Hi all, Sorry for the late reply. Just came back from overseas. Thanks BunBun and piggiedearz for your compliments. :)

Your house is looking good countrylover! :good:

We got the standing lamp from a lighting shop along Balestier road. They occassionally bring in a couple of nice pieces. If I remember correctly, we bought the lamp for $170. :) As for the customised sign, we got it from a UK ebay seller. heh

Hehe warsurfer, I also custom made some kitchen signs similar to yours from a UK ebay seller. Probably we got it from the same person ;). Will take some pics when I'm free and post them up here.

Edited by countrylover

Our bedroom set from Country Style Furniture at IFC was delivered 2 weeks ago.

DSC08036-1.jpg

DSC07940-1.jpg

DSC07943-1.jpg

DSC08110-1.jpg

DSC07954.jpg

Still wondering where to put up this hydrangea oil painting in the room. Will most likely frame it up and hang up on the wall where my bed is. My room is still very bare and empty, will be adding on a bedside table lamp and other decor items gradually over the next two mths.

heh the bedsheet is sure country looking!!!!!!!!!!!

did u get it from spotlight??

i have a white theme for the bedroom too! hehehe

heh the bedsheet is sure country looking!!!!!!!!!!!

did u get it from spotlight??

i have a white theme for the bedroom too! hehehe

Hehe yah, bought it from Spotlight. They have quite a nice range of shabby chic bedding, minus the exorbitant prices of Laura Ashley or Rachel Ashwell. Think they are having a 30% discount for that provincial range now. But the thing is, their bedding sets all don't come with bolster covers leh. So for my bolsters, gotta end up buying plain covers, if not can't match the bedding.

I'm keeping my bedroom theme to white and blue, so constantly looking for blue-coloured items to decorate the room. :notti:

For stencils, I've never done that before but I know that you need a stencil template , stencil paints to make a stencil.

To make a stencil template, you just draw out the design you have in mind and cut out the design leaving parts behind. With this, you can use the outline of the cutout shape on paper. But if you 're not sure, you can go to art stationery shop to check out stencil templates available. Those stencil templatates & stencil paints have basic instructions manual on how to do the stencils.

One such shop is Art Trends I think, its located one or two floors above kinokiuya at Ngee Ann City. One more art stationery shop is at Bras Besah Shopping, on the top floor? I can't remember the exact location but it is definitely at Bras Besah. Many art students go there. :)

i tried asking ppl at the taka art friend but tat few staffs on duty then are equally as blur as me haha. will try to find out more frm web n see how. tks for ur info :)

Those signages are not difficult to find. Can go to Cottage Crafts, Forest Wood or other shops selling country-style stuff.

They have rectified the problem for me already, not the best solution around but at least it looks better than before. I will take photos and maybe post them up next week. My last bet now is to decorate it with tiles and some signages.

Besides the places that BunBun has suggested above, you can also try Spotlight...I've seen stencils being sold there. If you are game for some creativity, buy stencil plastic and design your own. Time consuming but at least, you get what u really want. I have lots of stencil designs at home which I use for my quilting. Think can probably use for the wall too. I can take pics of what I have and PM u if u r interested.

i love the stuffs at cottage crafts but too ex for me to get leh.. trying to find cheaper alternatives elsewhere. sure.. show me ur stencil designs! i can get some idea from them :) tks ar

My carpentry is 90% done. The carpenter came to fix the timber partition and rectify some problems for my kitchen cabinet and MBR wardrobe last Saturday.

They managed to rectify the problem with my canopy hood. It's not perfect but at least it looks more decent now. Now left to us to work magic with decorative tiles to beautify it.

DSC08047.jpg

The contractor for the solid top will be coming to install it today. Can't wait to see how the completed cabinet looks like! We are arranging to do plumbing works over the next 2 days and Citigas to turn on gas supply on Thursday. Hopefully by this weekend, everything will be functional! :dancingqueen:

no worries gal.. i see ur DIY skills are not bad, so u sure can work magic on ur canopy. all of us waiting to see ur magic hehe :dancingqueen:

Hi Piggiedearz,

Your tiles on the canopy are very nice. I placed some tiles on my canopy too.

For the empty space, I placed a pic i bought at IFC.

Piconthehood.jpg

roosterpic.jpg

Planning to hang other things around the picture as still look so plain.

hi banzai18

tks for the compliments.. urs look nice too! i tink i saw ur tiles at the tileshop i bought mine. :D

DSC08070.jpg

We decided to custom make a solid surface sink that is matching to our tabletop, as it looks nicer than a stainless steel one. Costs more but it gives a sleek finish to our cabinet. ;)

hey tat deco thingy u put above the sink is so cute! from ebay?

no worries gal.. i see ur DIY skills are not bad, so u sure can work magic on ur canopy. all of us waiting to see ur magic hehe :dancingqueen:

hi banzai18

tks for the compliments.. urs look nice too! i tink i saw ur tiles at the tileshop i bought mine. :D

hey tat deco thingy u put above the sink is so cute! from ebay?

Hiyo, dun stress me lah. Till now, still no time to go buy the tiles. :( Where did u buy yours and can u remember how much it costs?

Hehe, yah that rugged chooks window I bought from ebay, abt S$30 I think. After installing the tap, got no place to put leh. Cos if I put too close to the sink, it will get wet and "rot" over time. No more space at the kitchen top too. My HB dun allow me to drill holes cos he said the whole house full of holes now cos of all those decor items I bought. :furious:

Hiyo, dun stress me lah. Till now, still no time to go buy the tiles. :( Where did u buy yours and can u remember how much it costs?

Hehe, yah that rugged chooks window I bought from ebay, abt S$30 I think. After installing the tap, got no place to put leh. Cos if I put too close to the sink, it will get wet and "rot" over time. No more space at the kitchen top too. My HB dun allow me to drill holes cos he said the whole house full of holes now cos of all those decor items I bought. :furious:

i bought at a big tiles shop at defu lane . cant rem the name of the shop. its recommended by my ID. but hor the variety of coutnry tiles are not a lot too. if want a series like mine, they don hv much to choose frm unless u wan mixture of designs. i tink i hear ppl say jurong area got a big tiles shop too but not sure where. maybe u can try to find out n go there to recee. mine is abt $25 per pc i tink. veri ex. :(

ya u better move it away from the sink cos sure wet de. then ur heart wil break hehe. i juz bought quite a few items from daiso! quite nice for country decor! but hor also not much place to display in the kitchen liao haha. same as u lor.. :dunno: how

:P Hi all, Sorry for the late reply. Just came back from overseas. Thanks BunBun and piggiedearz for your compliments. :)

Your house is looking good countrylover! :good:

We got the standing lamp from a lighting shop along Balestier road. They occassionally bring in a couple of nice pieces. If I remember correctly, we bought the lamp for $170. :) As for the customised sign, we got it from a UK ebay seller. heh

Yup, choices are limited here in Sg but we'll just have to make do with them for the moment. :P I think you asked (pm-ed) me where I got my fabrics and lamps from before. heh. Anyway, do you mind sharing pics of your country home? :D

Hey, the white baskets and the rattan ones are all from IKEA; and no prob at all. How's your reno coming along? Do keep us updated! :D

hi.. issit? i pm-ed u b4 ar? no wonder ur nick sounds familiar to me ahaha. can u give me the name n address of the shop at balestier? n some of the other shops which sell the porcelain kind of lamps which u hv? i wanna go look for my standing lamp.

i'm still doing up my reno/hse blog which takes some time as i'm pretty bz after the wedding keke. once its done will share :):yamseng::good:

i bought at a big tiles shop at defu lane . cant rem the name of the shop. its recommended by my ID. but hor the variety of coutnry tiles are not a lot too. if want a series like mine, they don hv much to choose frm unless u wan mixture of designs. i tink i hear ppl say jurong area got a big tiles shop too but not sure where. maybe u can try to find out n go there to recee. mine is abt $25 per pc i tink. veri ex. :(

ya u better move it away from the sink cos sure wet de. then ur heart wil break hehe. i juz bought quite a few items from daiso! quite nice for country decor! but hor also not much place to display in the kitchen liao haha. same as u lor.. :dunno: how

Think u big tiles shop you are referring to is Soon Bee Huat. It's at Toh Guan Road, very near to IMM. They really have a HUGE selection of tiles, I bought my floor tiles from them too. Most likely will be going there after work today, hopefully can find what I'm looking for.

The only way to create more space for the kitchen is to install some wall shelves, if u still have available wall space! hehe :notti: For this reason, if u refer to my kitchen cabinet design, I have asked my carpenter to include some open shelves, so can use to display my items. Then again, really waste of storage space. But no choice lah, for asthetic reasons. :bleah:

Edited by countrylover

Our bedroom set from Country Style Furniture at IFC was delivered 2 weeks ago.

DSC08036-1.jpg

DSC07940-1.jpg

DSC07943-1.jpg

DSC08110-1.jpg

DSC07954.jpg

Still wondering where to put up this hydrangea oil painting in the room. Will most likely frame it up and hang up on the wall where my bed is. My room is still very bare and empty, will be adding on a bedside table lamp and other decor items gradually over the next two mths.

My mum also bought this set, dark brown colour.

oh ya ur bedroom set is the same as mine hahaha. except the bedside table i asked them to do 2 drawers instead of leaving a big hole. so i hv 3 drawers instead. and i changed the mirror to one with an arch.

is tt a bookshelf with heart shaped holes next to ur dresser on the floor in the pic? cant see clearly but i hv one like tat from them too.

ya i don hv much kitchen space left n prob is my kitchen walls are all made of tiles.. n they hv hidden pipes in there too.. so hor i cannot anyhow drill. problematic one la. if not i wld want to put more deco ard hehe.

if i'm u, i also will ask for some open shelves cos its impt for country kitchen.

My mum also bought this set, dark brown colour.

:) I was actually eyeing on another bedroom set which has carvings of tulips but it costs $200 extra. Since I was on a tight budget, I chose this set instead.

oh ya ur bedroom set is the same as mine hahaha. except the bedside table i asked them to do 2 drawers instead of leaving a big hole. so i hv 3 drawers instead. and i changed the mirror to one with an arch.

is tt a bookshelf with heart shaped holes next to ur dresser on the floor in the pic? cant see clearly but i hv one like tat from them too.

ya i don hv much kitchen space left n prob is my kitchen walls are all made of tiles.. n they hv hidden pipes in there too.. so hor i cannot anyhow drill. problematic one la. if not i wld want to put more deco ard hehe.

if i'm u, i also will ask for some open shelves cos its impt for country kitchen.

How much is your bedroom set and did they charge u extra for those enhancements? hehe yah, those are the heart-shaped shelves which I bought. Find them very cheap...only $30! Now I'm stucked with too many shelving & display units with nothing much to display. Will gradually fill them up over the next few months, cos can't possibly buy everything at one go.

If u want to decorate your kitchen but can't drill, maybe u can consider hanging signages or frames on the walls? Can buy hooks to stick on the wall.

Edited by countrylover

my mirror is given free cos they had quite a no of poor workmanship on the items i bought. my set is on promo, 4get the exact price, tink also 1.2k +. i tink adding of 2 drawers for each bedside table is $200 or so. i bargained for the heart bookshelf foc cos my another country fren bought from them too n he got it foc. $30 is cheap too, considering cant find it elsewhere.

wad kind of hook u mean? those 3M ones? by the way i replied ur email.. go check!! :lol:

my mirror is given free cos they had quite a no of poor workmanship on the items i bought. my set is on promo, 4get the exact price, tink also 1.2k +. i tink adding of 2 drawers for each bedside table is $200 or so. i bargained for the heart bookshelf foc cos my another country fren bought from them too n he got it foc. $30 is cheap too, considering cant find it elsewhere.

wad kind of hook u mean? those 3M ones? by the way i replied ur email.. go check!! :lol:

What other items did you buy from them? I'm also eyeing another wardrobe for my kids' bedroom and a writing desk for the MBR. Maybe gonna pay them a visit again soon. But I think $200 for 2 drawers quite ex leh, u shd have tried to bargain with them. My set only includes 1 bedside table, u mean yours got 2 tables?

Can u remember if they sell any buffet hutch?

If your kitchen tiles are the smooth kind, then I think any kind of hooks should be able to stick. But problem is, those hooks we see outside all very ugly leh. If we wanna get the more antique looking ones, usually need to drill holes. Sigh....:(