simpleguy80 0 Report post Posted March 5, 2008 Anyone knows what the market price for changing from PVC pipes to copper pipes or stainless steel pipes for the whole flat (137 sqm)? Got any good plumber to recommend? Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
GoalHome 1 Report post Posted March 5, 2008 Riding on your thread... Between copper and stainless steel pipes, which is better? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted March 5, 2008 Hi, I am using one plumber called ah seng which is recommended by forummers here. Compare to those that i enquired from newspapers, his is cheapest. Someone in this forum used him before. Tonight he is coming to my house to take a look. He's very closely related to Genova, and last week i went to genova to buy instant heater, display price 98, but i say i am his customer, he sold it to me at 90, so i quickly grab!I will let u know how is my experience with him later. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted March 5, 2008 Last time all like to change to copper pipe. But now another theory is PVC pipe can last longer with on worry while copper pipe may rust. Maybe stainless steel pipe will be better but sure more expensive. So not sure leh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simpleguy80 0 Report post Posted March 6, 2008 Last time all like to change to copper pipe. But now another theory is PVC pipe can last longer with on worry while copper pipe may rust. Maybe stainless steel pipe will be better but sure more expensive. So not sure leh.Ya i also heard that PVC pipes last longer so I dunno is it true? Any forummers have used PVC pipes (together with heaters) for a long time, any comments?Hi, I am using one plumber called ah seng which is recommended by forummers here. Compare to those that i enquired from newspapers, his is cheapest. Someone in this forum used him before. Tonight he is coming to my house to take a look. He's very closely related to Genova, and last week i went to genova to buy instant heater, display price 98, but i say i am his customer, he sold it to me at 90, so i quickly grab!I will let u know how is my experience with him later.What is his contact number? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted March 6, 2008 copper never rust, it only oxydisesme using copper as PVC is prone to mould problemthough the new breed of UPVC is suppose to solve the mould problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Brainstorm 0 Report post Posted March 6, 2008 copper never rust, it only oxydisesme using copper as PVC is prone to mould problemthough the new breed of UPVC is suppose to solve the mould problem Copper pipe - exterior - will get oxidies to dark brown / almost black, not nice... need to paint over it. But can bent a lot, so no need so many joints. - Interior - no rust but will have green particulars growth after some time....PVC - exterior - thickest in diameter among the three. Plastic white, not very pleasant to view. Paint liao also not very nice. Needs more support on the pipe as its not as strong as copper or steel. - Interior - no rust but not very sure if it will grow particulars....Stainless Steel - exterior - looks much better with the silver colour. No need to paint. Can't bend as well as copper, wil need to use joints at bends. - interior - should not rust* if using the recommended 18-10 grade of stainless steel. * the good grade pots, pans, fork, spoon, etc uses 18-8 grade stainless steel, eg. the "Rooster" brand use 18-8 grade. 18-10 grade is even better then 18-8. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted March 6, 2008 think normal grade ones are 18/8, the better grade pots / pans etc all use 18/10even ikea's GRUNDTAL series all using 18/10 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted March 6, 2008 Hi, let me get clearance from him first before i release his number to u. Actually no problem releasing number to u, but this is like courtesy. Maybe u might like to pm me your initial & estate, so that i can tell him so & so living in where is going to call him for enquiry. I think MACE ever used him before a few years ago (if i remember correctly). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted March 6, 2008 alternatively go to MaCe's blog 'money saving' and search for Ah Seng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simpleguy80 0 Report post Posted March 7, 2008 So anyone knows what the market price for copper pipes and stainless steel pipes? So which one is best to use - copper, stainless or PVC pipes? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 mine just from kitchen window to 2 toilets and kitchen sink using stainless steel is about 300, so u can extrapolateIf u are not so budget, stick to copper, wont go wrong.Of the 3, PVC is cheapest but the least leak proofBest option is Dont change, save money Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted March 9, 2008 I was just thinking...what is the main reason to change the pipes? If it is the exterior look, than maybe make sense, but it is because you are afraid the inside will have some particles growing, rust, or other reason than might happen on the inside, than it makes no sense. Coz the source will be from the same pipe (mostly PVC) that is supplied to all the household. Make sense? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2008 I got my stainless steel done today. I also got clearance from Ah Seng to reveal his number. 96736346I also got something to share. I was having dinner with a Northeastern Chinese friend and I complained about metallic piping price hikes in recent years. He said that in his hometown, they all used PVC all the way from outside right to the toilets, no leaking problems. Metallic piping is not too popular there, he never say why, but everyone with intuition knows why. So I guess maybe the quality of PVC available in singapore might not be too good, that's why leak sometimes, or maybe it is the workmanship.My parents house use PVC all the way (by HDB), so far only leaked once in so many years but it leaked at tap point, so i am not sure if it is the tap problem or the PVC problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simeiz 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 I got my stainless steel done today. I also got clearance from Ah Seng to reveal his number. 96736346I also got something to share. I was having dinner with a Northeastern Chinese friend and I complained about metallic piping price hikes in recent years. He said that in his hometown, they all used PVC all the way from outside right to the toilets, no leaking problems. Metallic piping is not too popular there, he never say why, but everyone with intuition knows why. So I guess maybe the quality of PVC available in singapore might not be too good, that's why leak sometimes, or maybe it is the workmanship.My parents house use PVC all the way (by HDB), so far only leaked once in so many years but it leaked at tap point, so i am not sure if it is the tap problem or the PVC problemyup, alot ppl at other country still using PVC because much cheaper.Actually it's ok to use PVC but not for high pressure.and the workmanship must good enuf, coz they use PVC glue at the joint.For singapore, better use SS/copper coz workmanship is exp and last long Share this post Link to post Share on other sites