gohkm 1 Report post Posted February 27, 2008 Hi good people,I am looking for chinese calligraphy.......that day i went vivocity, saw them having a chinese exhibition......but the chinese calligraphy they quoted me really too high......Just want me to see anyone knows any Chinese calligrahy master who writes and dont charge so high?Rgds,James Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
l_club23 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2008 Hi good people,I am looking for chinese calligraphy.......that day i went vivocity, saw them having a chinese exhibition......but the chinese calligraphy they quoted me really too high......Just want me to see anyone knows any Chinese calligrahy master who writes and dont charge so high?Rgds,JamesWhat is your definition of don't charge so high? The range? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gohkm 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2008 What is your definition of don't charge so high? The range?that guy quote me $300 for writing 4 big words............is that high in yr opinion? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted March 11, 2008 that guy quote me $300 for writing 4 big words............is that high in yr opinion?thats the market rate written by singaporean.there is a shop at chinatown.after exiting from mrt station into the main attraction area(tons of souvenir shops)...walk straight to the first T-junction, shop is on the left with china ah pek writing(sometimes carving) outside the shop. They charging me just $60 for a Dui Lian(2 pieces with a total of 14 characters).sorry i dont have the exact address. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gohkm 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2008 thats the market rate written by singaporean.there is a shop at chinatown.after exiting from mrt station into the main attraction area(tons of souvenir shops)...walk straight to the first T-junction, shop is on the left with china ah pek writing(sometimes carving) outside the shop. They charging me just $60 for a Dui Lian(2 pieces with a total of 14 characters).sorry i dont have the exact address. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
GTeton 0 Report post Posted March 19, 2008 Taipei National Palace eshop sells nice replica. The quality is good and price is reasonable. Currently the website is down. The server is under maintenances. https://www.npmeshop.com/ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
l_club23 0 Report post Posted March 19, 2008 that guy quote me $300 for writing 4 big words............is that high in yr opinion?It really depends on the Calligrapher's stamp... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wld 0 Report post Posted April 10, 2008 Maybe you can call the Calligraphy Society along Waterloo Street and see if one of the teachers are will to help write for you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Dazzle08 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2008 any update or lobang on calligraphy.. ain't easy to find Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jpcc 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2008 i think it really depends on whether u know how to appreciate Chinese Calligraphy. (i.e. no drawing, just Chinese words) There are five types of more popular strokes/ scripts, e.g. Zhuan , Li, Kai, Xing, Cao http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calligraphy I would think it is better to be able to appreciate one of the script, and know why it is considered pretty/ well written before plunging the money down lor. Cuz, sometimes, i went to exhibition and saw some people selling calligraphy pieces, some are really bian jiak. If u buy some piece already and think they are nice, but when your guests came (and know how to appreciate), can be quite pai say lor. Sometimes, during Chinese new year, or some Chinese festivals, there are calligraphy competition, some of the winning entries by students are quite good. But most wrote in Kaishu only. Can be quite boring for your home, depends on theme, and also what u wanna write lah.... If get from China or Taiwan (museum), maybe more possibility. Btw, in China , also need to know who/where to find. Hangzhou is quite ok. But best if you get people who knows, and recommend. These are art pieces, n depend also on whether u know enough Chinese to carry such weight. I.e. explain style/content or critique... maybe.... my 2cents. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2008 wah expert sia!! thanks for the info alternatively if u r a fan of chinese paintings or stichwork, can see too cos thats what i am doing theres a place at hong lim seling these stuff but its double the px that i bought in Shanghai Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahsal 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2009 Hi good people, I am looking for chinese calligraphy.......that day i went vivocity, saw them having a chinese exhibition......but the chinese calligraphy they quoted me really too high......Just want me to see anyone knows any Chinese calligrahy master who writes and dont charge so high? Rgds, James Feel free to take at look here http://sg.88db.com/sg/Services/Post_Detail.../?PostID=285270 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rustgal17 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2009 Feel free to take at look here http://sg.88db.com/sg/Services/Post_Detail.../?PostID=285270 In fact, it is quite easy to get it done but must it be a very good or famous master?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites