BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 7, 2008 (edited) This, I'm not sure leh, Oreo did strike me as a silky terrier at first since there's one in my place now.My hubby say that silky terriers when they're young pups, outlook is a little ugly abit like the way oreo looked like when he was really small in taiwan. But they get cuter and better looking when they're bigger after that. Just asked my hubby about this. he say yorkie and silky terrier are almost the same. oh dear ... did i get a silkie instead of yorkie ?? coz oreo n ur boi realli look the same wor Edited March 7, 2008 by BunBun Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ranval9 0 Report post Posted March 7, 2008 This, I'm not sure leh, Oreo did strike me as a silky terrier at first since there's one in my place now.My hubby say that silky terriers when they're young pups, outlook is a little ugly abit like the way oreo looked like when he was really small in taiwan. But they get cuter and better looking when they're bigger after that. Just asked my hubby about this. he say yorkie and silky terrier are almost the same.sob .. donut dun look like normal shin tzu .. oreo dun look like normal yorkie ..then what i having wor .. sob ... here more of them , just got grooming earlierbefore grooming :-after :-now u see me now you dunhappy me happy donut oreo biting donut's ear ... but end up swallow the rubber band leh .. now me waiting paitently for him to poo poo it out Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 7, 2008 Still up so late ah? Not sleeping tonight?I still think most shih tzus have flat snout and ur donut don't have a flat snout. Probably a crossbreed As for Oreo, i think yorkies and silky terriers are most likely cousins. kekeke Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 (edited) some say silkies were crossed between yorkshire and australian terrier.that's why look similar to yorkies but much bigger boned.But i think there are lot of inbreeding between yorkies and silkies and there are cases where silkies are sold as yorkies esp when small,both look alike.some might be just very small midget silkies that end up looking like yorkies, even when adultbut u see the face, actually there is a subtle difference between an adult yorkie face and an adult silky face.yorkies got a more *guniang face - small pixie face* , silky got a more *masculine face-due to bigger boned nature*a layman way of explaining goes like this..."a yorkie, male or female, you will also think that it's a gal due to the *look*,a silky, male or female, you will also think it's a boy due to the *look*"just like how i used to feel my male yorkie (at my old place) looks like a gal,and JRTs look like guys no matter they are male/female....heheand of cos u see some variations between the 2, that's probably caused by the inbreeding ba.but due to the inbreeding, alot of non standard traits like curly hair, wooly coat and other problemsmay be passed down lor.read : silky terrier, but sometime the fur doesn't feel silky at all..not due to neglect,but rather inborn ->geneticsthat's why got show-quality dogs and pet quality dogs.show quality keeps the breed standards, alot of criterias, posture, coat, face shape...so on...but whether show quality or not, both kinds will be good pets Edited March 8, 2008 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 Compassvale: Thats a clear explanation. Now I know. Probably my hubby's dog and ranval's are 'relatives" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 sob .. donut dun look like normal shin tzu .. happy me happy donut normal or not, pure breed or notdonut is definitely the most handsome shih tzu i've come acrosshe is my first dog nap target leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 I really will cringe on the day you successfully brought Donut into yr hse... Poor sheepcat and yr other babies... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 ^5 skywolf. Agree! I think more more furs flying in the air. lolxI really will cringe on the day you successfully brought Donut into yr hse... Poor sheepcat and yr other babies... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 won't lah, donut is so good-naturedmost prob he will sit there and let my cats check him outonce they determine he is no threat to their territory they'll start to play with him liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 Sure or not? I wouldn't know about sheepcat. Cats are also territorial leh.won't lah, donut is so good-naturedmost prob he will sit there and let my cats check him outonce they determine he is no threat to their territory they'll start to play with him liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 they are only territorial with other catsit's an instinct thingbut they don't mind another species encroaching into their territory e.g. human etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 Then dognap donut first see how he reacts with your cats? lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 I chg my mind. I wanna be there... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 (edited) Skywolf so notti. LOLRanval: Saw a shih tzu just now while bringing out my hubby's dog for a walk. Summer, my hubby's dog wanted to beo the shih tzu but it very shy run over to its owner, an auntie. The shih tzu very gentle and not dao towards me when it come over to my hand outstretched to it, Hehehe very cute. reminds me terribly of my own dog. Edited March 8, 2008 by BunBun Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 (edited) back from grooming today...tiring daybad hair day after a nap (see where the top knot is now..!! )sibei paiseh Edited March 8, 2008 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites