DLIM 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2008 Envy both of you . I was there for 2 weeks in April and only manage to get 10 pairs of chopsticks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted May 7, 2008 Mafiawife~~~ The hotel is in the sukhumvit area. This will give you a clear idea of where it is---> http://www.lefenix-sukhumvit.com/location.php We'd only headed to the malls in the city like Centralworld, MBK Centre are at & there's the chatuchak market which is open only on weekends which is where one can bargain also. If not can go Platinum fashion mall which is open all week since got many things to buy from jeans to dresses and more. No worries, home stuff are still considered buys ma and your house is soooooo nice with all your purchases. Serious you slim down? Im not sure but yeah the weather is a killer. I got to to the thai people for being able to tahan esp with heavy traffic in thailand. bunbun!! nice hotel!! where izzit?? must be new one.. izzit near to Zen or other shopping centre?? i stayed in holiday inn that time which is walking distance to Zen. But a boring hotel and none like urs, very interesting and beautiful hotel!! how come u got so much stuff is bkk where i got very little things over there?? mabe i am too concentrate on buyin just my home stuff, that is why the last trip i didnt really enjoy it and slim down alot after came back from bkk cos of walking too much and weather killed!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 Harlow....looks like a fruitful trip to me! Anyways, jus passing by to say thank you for the choco cupcake recipes! But ur PM inbox full liao so I cldnt reply u there..... Cheers.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 How come 10 pairs of chopsticks btw? Envy both of you . I was there for 2 weeks in April and only manage to get 10 pairs of chopsticks. Greycat, no worries about the cupcake recipe, got one more recipe which is the choc brownie cupcake. Am going to try baking a cake properly real soon. Just went shopping at Poon Huat this evening. If it works out well, I share the recipe with you. Ya a fruitful trip though a bit tiring. Harlow....looks like a fruitful trip to me! Anyways, jus passing by to say thank you for the choco cupcake recipes! But ur PM inbox full liao so I cldnt reply u there..... Cheers.... Diva, yah! Noodles in BKK cost like 30 baht! nice loots i wanna go back to BKK too!! its really a nice place for shopping and eat till u drop! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DLIM 0 Report post Posted May 10, 2008 How come 10 pairs of chopsticks btw? Greycat, no worries about the cupcake recipe, got one more recipe which is the choc brownie cupcake. Am going to try baking a cake properly real soon. Just went shopping at Poon Huat this evening. If it works out well, I share the recipe with you. Ya a fruitful trip though a bit tiring. Diva, yah! Noodles in BKK cost like 30 baht! I went there to work . Most of the time work from 9am and reach back hotel at 10pm . No time to shop. Just happen that I got spare time before the day I fly back so manage to go to the market and saw some chopsticks which I really like . So I just grab it. Must buy something BunBun , can you share your experience in painting your place ? What to look out for etc .... Cause to save cost , me and FH decided to do ourselves . Thanks in advance . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted May 10, 2008 (edited) No wonder. keke Can, no prob for the painting part. Get a paint catalog of your preferred brand, Nippon or ICI, - Decide which colour you have in mind before getting the cans of paints, to go with your choice of theme. - Remember to get Glossy paint for doors/gate only. - 2 Roller brush paint boxes - 2 roller brushes, 2 paint brushes, 1 art paint brush with small brush head for touch up in small places. For roller brushes, just get refill packs for the roller head. Don't need to buy another roller brush too. - Newspapers/protection sheet for flooring - Masking tape for covering switches/around door frames before painting - Gloves to be worn if painting gate/doors with glossy paint as glossy paint is oil based compared to other paints for walls which is water based. Its very sticky and will take some effort to clean off. Im having this trouble now 'cos im currently painting the doors. Regret big time not to get gloves! - Scrapper for scrapping away small lumps on the wall if necessary, to ensure wall is smoothened down before you can paint. - Putty to fill in any existing hole, this will come in handy esp if you need to paint a wall & cannot stand seeing holes in the wall. So apply putty to the wall first as per instruction on putty label before you proceed to paint. - Damp cloth to be around in case paint spillage onto other surface which you can clean up immediately before it sets. - Tupertine/kerosene for washing off paint esp glossy paint. - Cap or something to cover your head, keke you don't want paint streaks in your hair also. Lastly, remember to have at least a few sets of OLD clothes you will not use again in future with the intention to throw away, since those few sets will be for you and your FH to wear during painting. Painting works might take you over 2 weeks to do depending on your floor area. which is why you need to have at least a few set of old clothes, not just 1 set. Since you're doing the painting yourself, just paint the ceiling first as the ceiling is more important since you do not want the paint from the ceiling to fall on the painted walls & the floors. Its also easier to get the lights installed straightaway after completing the painting of the ceiling. For uneven walls, you will need to paint more on uneven walls since no plastering done to even the wall surface. Just apply 1 coat of paint over the uneven wall 1st time, then apply a thicker coat of paint 2nd time. You'd might not really see the paint patches here and there if the area is a little dark for you to check for paint patches in the day time, so be sure to have the light on to check for any paint patches that are not even with the rest of the painted wall. If any paint patches, just apply another layer of paint again before you are satisfied that the paint is properly done on the walls. Hope this helps! I went there to work . Most of the time work from 9am and reach back hotel at 10pm . No time to shop. Just happen that I got spare time before the day I fly back so manage to go to the market and saw some chopsticks which I really like . So I just grab it. Must buy something BunBun , can you share your experience in painting your place ? What to look out for etc .... Cause to save cost , me and FH decided to do ourselves . Thanks in advance . Edited May 10, 2008 by BunBun Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DLIM 0 Report post Posted May 10, 2008 No wonder. keke Can, no prob for the painting part. Get a paint catalog of your preferred brand, Nippon or ICI, - Decide which colour you have in mind before getting the cans of paints, to go with your choice of theme. - Remember to get Glossy paint for doors/gate only. - 2 Roller brush paint boxes - 2 roller brushes, 2 paint brushes, 1 art paint brush with small brush head for touch up in small places. For roller brushes, just get refill packs for the roller head. Don't need to buy another roller brush too. - Newspapers/protection sheet for flooring - Masking tape for covering switches/around door frames before painting - Gloves to be worn if painting gate/doors with glossy paint as glossy paint is oil based compared to other paints for walls which is water based. Its very sticky and will take some effort to clean off. Im having this trouble now 'cos im currently painting the doors. Regret big time not to get gloves! - Scrapper for scrapping away small lumps on the wall if necessary, to ensure wall is smoothened down before you can paint. - Putty to fill in any existing hole, this will come in handy esp if you need to paint a wall & cannot stand seeing holes in the wall. So apply putty to the wall first as per instruction on putty label before you proceed to paint. - Damp cloth to be around in case paint spillage onto other surface which you can clean up immediately before it sets. - Tupertine/kerosene for washing off paint esp glossy paint. - Cap or something to cover your head, keke you don't want paint streaks in your hair also. Lastly, remember to have at least a few sets of OLD clothes you will not use again in future with the intention to throw away, since those few sets will be for you and your FH to wear during painting. Painting works might take you over 2 weeks to do depending on your floor area. which is why you need to have at least a few set of old clothes, not just 1 set. Since you're doing the painting yourself, just paint the ceiling first as the ceiling is more important since you do not want the paint from the ceiling to fall on the painted walls & the floors. Its also easier to get the lights installed straightaway after completing the painting of the ceiling. For uneven walls, you will need to paint more on uneven walls since no plastering done to even the wall surface. Just apply 1 coat of paint over the uneven wall 1st time, then apply a thicker coat of paint 2nd time. You'd might not really see the paint patches here and there if the area is a little dark for you to check for paint patches in the day time, so be sure to have the light on to check for any paint patches that are not even with the rest of the painted wall. If any paint patches, just apply another layer of paint again before you are satisfied that the paint is properly done on the walls. Hope this helps! Thank you BunBun Will keep them in mind . Hope to save at least $500 of doing my own paint work . Lucky my ID never complain when I say to cancel this item . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted May 10, 2008 No prob. How much did your ID quote you for paintworks btw? Oh ya, if you manage to paint the walls before the skirting is up.. Then you can leave the bottom part of the wall bare where the skirting is supposed to be at since who will be seeing the paint behind the skirting part??? Only above the skirting then people will see the paintworks from there to the top. Thank you BunBun Will keep them in mind . Hope to save at least $500 of doing my own paint work . Lucky my ID never complain when I say to cancel this item . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DLIM 0 Report post Posted May 10, 2008 No prob. How much did your ID quote you for paintworks btw? Oh ya, if you manage to paint the walls before the skirting is up.. Then you can leave the bottom part of the wall bare where the skirting is supposed to be at since who will be seeing the paint behind the skirting part??? Only above the skirting then people will see the paintworks from there to the top. Was quote 1.25K . Any color and any type from ICI . The skirting is already up as mine is the premium new flats . My renovation start next week . The ID say I can start painting after the electrical works and false ceiling is up . My hardship will come soon Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted May 10, 2008 I see. You having false ceiling for whole place except kitchen or what? Btw, no need to paint ceiling first if you prefer a white ceiling & since the electrical works are up, I assume the lights are up already. So left is your walls to paint only, correct? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shix2_82 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2008 Okay, I thought the pics of the decals I posted earlier on is not very clear (think its my phone settings), so I went and adjusted the colour, brightness settings on my hp & it looks much better now though slightly blur as below :- Nivlek yes wink will look nice on glass too, it comes in diff colours like black, white, grey depending on which colours are available in your choice of decals Greycat, Hehehe you can check with christinetan also for the measurement. She does wink decals on a part time basis I think? Not sure though but i know Zirkh3355 did full wink design(Cherry) on his wall. Its in his blog signature. :dribble: Diva, Yup It was also my first time hearing about vitroceramic until we go into Mayer to have a look at the induction hob 'cos hubby wanted induction at first. Hehe I don't have kids now so not any worry to me about the decal being peeled off by itchy hands & the uncle who install for us, says it last for a few years if maintained properly. I looked at your blog before & find you have really a comprehensive list. You must have spent alot of time on your research! Hehe, You know this old macdonald advertisement on tv several years ago where this kid deliberately bait the persian cat with a yarn ball & the cat attempt to hook the yarn ball? In the end the cat bait the boy back with the macdonald meal set. If bait your cats same way huh, I think will self owned themselves on the wall 'cos only paper birds to 'catch'? I love ur decals!!!!!! with the vogue pink background!!! i am thinking to put decal at my tv wall too but still looking for a nice decals... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted May 11, 2008 Hey shix2_82 Thanks for the kind compliments, the background is not pink, actually a crimson red. But as I adjusted the colour brightness & lighting settings in my phone, it looks like this. So far, its a better & clearer pic of the decals. Try winkplay? I got my wall decals from winkplay. www.winkplay.com I love ur decals!!!!!! with the vogue pink background!!! i am thinking to put decal at my tv wall too but still looking for a nice decals... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DLIM 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2008 I see. You having false ceiling for whole place except kitchen or what? Btw, no need to paint ceiling first if you prefer a white ceiling & since the electrical works are up, I assume the lights are up already. So left is your walls to paint only, correct? Only false ceiling in the living room . Next week will start electrical works and false ceiling . Everything need to paint. My choice of colors are All ceiling - White Living room - Lily white Study room - Kashmir Bedroom & Guest Room - Earth Tint Very exciting to paint my own place Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted May 11, 2008 I see! Then you can skip the ceiling part since it is already white to begin with. If its dirty or what, just clean up or touch up the ceiling with white paint only. Only the walls will be needed to paint though so you're having an easier time considering ceiling is not easy to paint with your neck constantly angled upwards all the time. Only false ceiling in the living room . Next week will start electrical works and false ceiling . Everything need to paint. My choice of colors are All ceiling - White Living room - Lily white Study room - Kashmir Bedroom & Guest Room - Earth Tint Very exciting to paint my own place Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2008 Greycat, no worries about the cupcake recipe, got one more recipe which is the choc brownie cupcake. Am going to try baking a cake properly real soon. Just went shopping at Poon Huat this evening. If it works out well, I share the recipe with you. Ya a fruitful trip though a bit tiring. Hi Bunbun....me just came bac frm the cupcake class liao. I rem u were askg prevly how come the icing soft soft or cannot set isit? During the class, I rem we had to fridge the icing so its not too soft...otherwise when it comes out of the piped bag, it will be too soft.....not sure if this helps.... Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites