fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 (edited) Hi All,i just chose my living room's colours and was wondering if anyone could tell me if i use lilac frost for the main walls, lilac brook for the feature wall and country blossom for accentuation, is it too much purple for the eyes?Please advise before i buy the paint. Edited February 18, 2008 by fifteenmay Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 is lilac frost the white based colour?i had used something like that and it takes 3 coats just to see a little tinge of purple, still look white from normal viewing distance find that it's really a personal taste bahyour colour choice sounds really good to mewould have done this if FS allows Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 is lilac frost the white based colour?i had used something like that and it takes 3 coats just to see a little tinge of purple, still look white from normal viewing distance find that it's really a personal taste bahyour colour choice sounds really good to mewould have done this if FS allows Hi Applefreak.wow that takes a load off my mind! i was worrying that it would be too much for the eyes when you walk in from the door.. Lilac frost has a tinge of purple and gray under tone.. but i am just afraid that what it looks like in the catag comes out different on my wall Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 Always, what it looks like in the catalog dun always look like that on the wall due to the wall texture, etc. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yoongf 11 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 That is why.. before I paint any exotic colour, I normally buy a 1 Ltr can, paint a 1mX1m patch then stare at it day and night.Normally.. first choice dun seem right. Imagine having to look at a boo boo for the next few yrs.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 seriously, was using lilac frost and painted 3 coatsbut most of my visitors say my walls are white Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted February 26, 2008 seriously, was using lilac frost and painted 3 coatsbut most of my visitors say my walls are white Hi Applefreak, i painted my walls liao and it came out real nice! Even my parents complimented on it, when previously they were skeptical.Only difference is that my feature wall is a darker purple than lilac brook (Was using leftover paint)Thanks for the advice!Lilac Frost is such a nice colour! A tinge of gray or purple when i looked at it from diff directions Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 26, 2008 got pix to share? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted February 26, 2008 Purple, sounds like applefreak's color Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted March 2, 2008 (edited) Hi Applefreak, i painted my walls liao and it came out real nice! Even my parents complimented on it, when previously they were skeptical.Only difference is that my feature wall is a darker purple than lilac brook (Was using leftover paint)Thanks for the advice!Lilac Frost is such a nice colour! A tinge of gray or purple when i looked at it from diff directions !! When you enter Feature wall with Lilac Frost wallsNot too certain of how to project images directly here.. Edited March 2, 2008 by fifteenmay Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 2, 2008 Must say that the colour for the walls when first entering looks reminiscent of the cool charming modern country feel with a tinge of victorian style cos of the gate grills and the white main door leh.While for the feature wall, your purple is stronger than my study room's but overall looks good. The thing is I can't see any tinge of grey or purple on the rest of the walls if its lilac frost. Looks normal white to me. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted March 2, 2008 nice colours, not overpowering at all wah fifteenmay, your balcony is !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted March 3, 2008 nice colours, not overpowering at all wah fifteenmay, your balcony is Hi Applefreak, Thanks for the compliment! it was your earlier comment that made me go ahead with the colour! i am glad i did.. now it looks modern yet cosy... glad i did not go with the normal brown and grey tones... Yup, the balcony is one of the strong points. Actually its a condo apartment on the 17th Floor and its not mine! My parents bought it but i intend to rent it from them after my wedding in 09 for a year plus thats why they ask me to choose the colours, plus the fact they think i have a good eye for colour.. Must say that the colour for the walls when first entering looks reminiscent of the cool charming modern country feel with a tinge of victorian style cos of the gate grills and the white main door leh.While for the feature wall, your purple is stronger than my study room's but overall looks good. The thing is I can't see any tinge of grey or purple on the rest of the walls if its lilac frost. Looks normal white to me.Hi Bun Bin,Thanks for the good feedback! i love the feel of it now...The purple for the area where you first enter is the mixture of the leftover lilac frost paint and the dark purple colour. have to say my mum did a good job of the mixing! Feature wall colour was orginally supposed to be lighter but as we had leftover paint, we just used that and i think it complements the outside colour..Maybe its my photo taking but when we first stepped in, we saw a very light tinge of purple when reflected on the feature wall, but in darker corners, it look a slight tinge of grey. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted March 3, 2008 Glad you like the work! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted March 3, 2008 Hi Applefreak, Thanks for the compliment! it was your earlier comment that made me go ahead with the colour! i am glad i did.. now it looks modern yet cosy... glad i did not go with the normal brown and grey tones... Yup, the balcony is one of the strong points. Actually its a condo apartment on the 17th Floor and its not mine! My parents bought it but i intend to rent it from them after my wedding in 09 for a year plus thats why they ask me to choose the colours, plus the fact they think i have a good eye for colour.. guessed it from your pix name really love the result of the painting, makes me wanna paint my room Share this post Link to post Share on other sites