apprye

Renting Out New Premium Flat. What Are The Renovation Needed And Cost?

Hey guys,

Need to seek your expertise and experience on this...

I'm collecting the keys to my new HDB flat in Boon Lay, however, due to my current financial situation, I can only afford to hold the wedding dinner in 09. Hence, my wifey and I have decided to rent out the house first, so that we can collect some rent to add to our savings.

The flooring is already done for my unit and from my understanding, the basins have to be installed by ourselves. Anyone knows what are the basics to get the unit in a rentable condition?

Gotta start budgeting for the renovation works and get it rented out ASAP... :dancingqueen:

- Washing Basin

- Air Con

- Water Heater

- Lights?? (Don't think lights are pre-installed)

huh basins should be installed liao lah

unless you're talking about kitchen sink? :rolleyes:

depends on who is your target tenant

if it's a family then most prob you'll need to do some kitchen cabinets as well

nothing else is necessary liao !!

Oh yeah yeah.. You are absolutely right! It's the kitchen sink :yamseng:

huh basins should be installed liao lah

unless you're talking about kitchen sink? :rolleyes:

depends on who is your target tenant

if it's a family then most prob you'll need to do some kitchen cabinets as well

nothing else is necessary liao !!

Oh yeah yeah.. You are absolutely right! It's the kitchen sink :)

If you're renting the whole unit, then you must have the following

1. Living room - at least a sofa.

2. Bedrooms - all with matress and frame and simple wardrobe. If you don't have air-cons, then fans is a must.

3. Toilets - water heater and shower utilities

4. kitchen - cooking stuffs (stove, and places to store your utentils)

5. washing machine

6. all lights must be there also

Btw, sorry to burst your bubble. But i do not think you can rent out the whole unit since you just recently purchase it.

Edited by poundesville

you can rent out a unit furnished or unfurnished

of course furnished will fetch more rent, but the difference may not justify the purchase of the furnitures

there are people who prefer their own furniture so they only look for unfurnished units :)

The best way to save money and still bring your unit up to tenantable condition is to have it partially-furnished.

Kitchen cabinets are a must, together with "white goods", ie kitchen electrical appliances like washer/dryer, oven, microwave, hob & hood. You also should provide curtains/blinds and lightings - all these should not be missing, if you want to rent out fast.

While aircon & water heater can be optional, they will greatly shorten your time in seeking tenants.

Other items like sofa, bed & frames, wardrobes, utensils etc are usually not provided for partially-furnished units; so I suggest you do not need to buy any of them yet, unless the tenant requested for it.

I'm planning to keep the renovation simple first and have it done it up properly the second time round when I shift in after the dinner...

I'll have to lock one of the rooms to comply with the renting rules. :)

The main concern is in the kitchen side, for I do not wish to spend excessively on the kitchen. Any suggestions on the kitchen sink part? :P

Will get the basic applicances like the washing machine etc...

The best way to save money and still bring your unit up to tenantable condition is to have it partially-furnished.

Kitchen cabinets are a must, together with "white goods", ie kitchen electrical appliances like washer/dryer, oven, microwave, hob & hood. You also should provide curtains/blinds and lightings - all these should not be missing, if you want to rent out fast.

While aircon & water heater can be optional, they will greatly shorten your time in seeking tenants.

Other items like sofa, bed & frames, wardrobes, utensils etc are usually not provided for partially-furnished units; so I suggest you do not need to buy any of them yet, unless the tenant requested for it.

I'm planning to keep the renovation simple first and have it done it up properly the second time round when I shift in after the dinner...

I'll have to lock one of the rooms to comply with the renting rules. :notti:

The main concern is in the kitchen side, for I do not wish to spend excessively on the kitchen. Any suggestions on the kitchen sink part? :notti:

Will get the basic applicances like the washing machine etc...

Erhh, pl note that there is "renting rules" to say that its okay for you to rent out whole unit if lock one room; you are supposed to be staying there yourself.

As for kitchen, seek out some carpenters directly (not IDs) and ask them to do up some basic cabinets; I dun think anyone is willing to rent a bare kitchen, or they will press your rental to very low. Spending a few thousands (maybe $1k-2k also can get? I duno...) is definitely worth it, and you can amortize the cost over the period that you want to rent out.

BTW, do u mean that you want to move in 2009? Then you only got a period of 1+ yrs to rent out? So gotta act fast lor, plus must consider if the costs of doing up the flat to tenantable condition is worth it or not, after all...

if you only intend to rent out for slightly more than a year, and will renovate again when you move in

i'd suggest buying kitchen cabinets and standalone sinks instead

hoe kee sells kitchen sink on stainless steel pedestal, and many neighbourhood furniture shop sells kitchen cabinets that are movable

building up kitchen cabinets is not that expensive, it's the removal and damage to the kitchen wall that's gonna cost a bomb :lol:

think TS is quite familiar with the legality part bah

as long as no complaint, everything's fine

so TS take care don't let pple know where you stay hor :lol: :lol:

My new house is like 5 mins walk from my parent's place. :) Can have dinner at my parents place before dropping over. Can use that place as my work/study place since my parent's place is pretty noisy. :D

Plan is to move over in late 2009. Maybe early 2010. So still have around 2 years to play around with. So my plan is to get the basics in, so that I can reuse them as much as possible when I move back in.

I wonder if I can get some kitchen cabinets stuff at Ikea.. :)

Erhh, pl note that there is "renting rules" to say that its okay for you to rent out whole unit if lock one room; you are supposed to be staying there yourself.

As for kitchen, seek out some carpenters directly (not IDs) and ask them to do up some basic cabinets; I dun think anyone is willing to rent a bare kitchen, or they will press your rental to very low. Spending a few thousands (maybe $1k-2k also can get? I duno...) is definitely worth it, and you can amortize the cost over the period that you want to rent out.

BTW, do u mean that you want to move in 2009? Then you only got a period of 1+ yrs to rent out? So gotta act fast lor, plus must consider if the costs of doing up the flat to tenantable condition is worth it or not, after all...

Awesome! I'll drop by Hoe Kee for the kitchen sink on stainless steel pedestal to check out the costs. :) And also the kitchen cabinets at those furniture shops too! :D

Yea, like what you said. Building the cabinets is pretty affordable, it's the removal that costs a BOMB. I'm just afraid that the tenants will not take care of the place, hence I dun wanna get the cabinets installed. Else if they trash the place, then it's another big hole down the pocket! :(

if you only intend to rent out for slightly more than a year, and will renovate again when you move in

i'd suggest buying kitchen cabinets and standalone sinks instead

hoe kee sells kitchen sink on stainless steel pedestal, and many neighbourhood furniture shop sells kitchen cabinets that are movable

building up kitchen cabinets is not that expensive, it's the removal and damage to the kitchen wall that's gonna cost a bomb :unsure:

Hahah.. Like what we all learn during NS.

Do whatever you want, just don't get caught. :) The 8 most precious words that I learnt during those 2.5 yrs. :D

think TS is quite familiar with the legality part bah

as long as no complaint, everything's fine

so TS take care don't let pple know where you stay hor 8| 8|