sino_74 0 Report post Posted February 7, 2008 (edited) New Kid On The Block...Back in 2003 ,me n my spouse bought a 4A rm @ Admiralty Link valued at $117+K.We got to sell the flat this year for $230+K. + 20+K above valuation.Our 1st resale appt. will be end Feb08. It will take about 4-6weeks for complete transaction.Qn. If we have outstanding loan about $25+K , how is the process being done?When will we receive the cash amount ? On the other hand , we ord exercise OTP for a 5I rm @ Yishun Ring Road valued at $270+K. The resale transaction will only be done after completion of our 4A rm flat.Qn. When is the suitable period for us to engage an ID or a General Contractor? Tx in advance... Edited February 7, 2008 by sino_74 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 7, 2008 you will receive the cheque upon completion i.e. second apptit's never too early to engage an ID or contractorif your seller is nice enough, your contractor can already go down to the unit to take measurements and start the ball rolling Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sino_74 0 Report post Posted February 8, 2008 (edited) you will receive the cheque upon completion i.e. second apptit's never too early to engage an ID or contractorif your seller is nice enough, your contractor can already go down to the unit to take measurements and start the ball rolling my seller seems nice just like me... my spouse have an idea how we want the new house to look like.is it necessary to engage an ID? Edited February 8, 2008 by sino_74 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 8, 2008 if you know how you want the new place to look likethen no need ID liao, just get a main contractor will dohowever, does your spouse really know or just a rough ideaknow as in how many ft of kitchen cabinet, where you want the lightsmost contractors will give advice based on what you want, but they won't give you the design e.g. feature wall or laminate selection Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sino_74 0 Report post Posted February 10, 2008 if you know how you want the new place to look likethen no need ID liao, just get a main contractor will dohowever, does your spouse really know or just a rough ideaknow as in how many ft of kitchen cabinet, where you want the lightsmost contractors will give advice based on what you want, but they won't give you the design e.g. feature wall or laminate selection At e moment we dont have any floor plan , but my spouse have a rough idea.I guess with e actually floor plan , my spouse knows what she wants...only e measurement surely need e contractor advise.For my current house , need I have e lightings , hob,hood etc remove if e buyer dont want n dont need them ?What about e house @ Yishun ? If we dont want e lightings etc. should we get e seller to remove or we have to bear e cost ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 10, 2008 i believe hdb only regulates that all fittings without approval MUST be removed by seller, the rest is up to the parties involvedfor the fittings in your new place, you will have to bear the cost unless you can get the seller to remove itbut this must be agreed upon before OTP is exercised and written in black & whitesame goes for the fittings in your current place, if you didn't agree to remove the fittings the buyer will have to remove themsince your spouse knows what she wants, then just go for a main contractorthere are a few that are recommended in this forum, go read up on them and meet them before you decide Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sino_74 0 Report post Posted February 11, 2008 (edited) i believe hdb only regulates that all fittings without approval MUST be removed by seller, the rest is up to the parties involvedfor the fittings in your new place, you will have to bear the cost unless you can get the seller to remove itbut this must be agreed upon before OTP is exercised and written in black & whitesame goes for the fittings in your current place, if you didn't agree to remove the fittings the buyer will have to remove themsince your spouse knows what she wants, then just go for a main contractorthere are a few that are recommended in this forum, go read up on them and meet them before you decide tx applefreak for ur kind advise.btw wr u n family stayin ?renovating a resale house really need to do a lot of homework ?btw e living rm of e resale house is sand-stoned painted..hmm how on earth to remove it ? !! Edited February 11, 2008 by sino_74 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 11, 2008 we are staying at sengkang, got one of those six-year-old surplus flats paiseh, have absolutely no idea how to go about doing up a resale flatif you've got the budget, just tell the contractor what you want done and leave it in their good hands think the sand-stone effect got to be sand-papered off or plastered overmore money there !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sino_74 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 (edited) mea yo wen ti.surplus unit ? meaning excess from hdb... does removing of kitchen n built -in cabinet need a licence reno contractor or can we just engageBangla to do e demolision work? Edited February 12, 2008 by sino_74 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 13, 2008 can just get bangla to do itwe removed the aircon trunking of my previous place ourselves, just me and my dad but imho better to get contractor to do it unless you going to change the kitchen wall tiles anyway Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sino_74 0 Report post Posted February 16, 2008 can just get bangla to do itwe removed the aircon trunking of my previous place ourselves, just me and my dad but imho better to get contractor to do it unless you going to change the kitchen wall tiles anyway y u removed ur aircon trunking ?btw im goin around to shop for reno contractor.regards e reno package that most of them offercan me ask them to have e breakdown ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 17, 2008 coz we sold the fancoil and compressorthen the new owner (our former neighbour) asked that we remove the trunking as well as they are not installing air-conwe did it as a favour yes you can ask for a breakdown of the package that they offerbut do note that different ID will charge more expensive for different itemsusually contractors don't have package but 'ID', and contractors will charge the same price regardless of the items done Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tatlee 0 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 from my recent renov experience, ID dont give value for money. They just give std design. ID markup at least 30% more than contractor works.Getting contractor means more involvements, coordination and research.Of course, need to find reliable contractor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
keltong 4 Report post Posted February 19, 2008 mea yo wen ti.surplus unit ? meaning excess from hdb... does removing of kitchen n built -in cabinet need a licence reno contractor or can we just engageBangla to do e demolision work?If you intend to get bangla, just make sure they dispose properly else if the problem trace back to you than deep **** liao. Since you are getting contractor to do the kitchen cabinet again, better to get them to hack down the old one also coz they will know the proper way to dispose, of coz they will be a charge. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites