applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 11, 2008 hmm did he mistake your kitchen for another one?30ft of countertop means your bottom cabinets are 10m???that's twice your kitchen length leh !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted February 11, 2008 (edited) A few more Qs: For toilet door, is aluminum, solid plywood or nytoh wood door better? Am afraid over time wood door will expend due to the moisture.Hey cyprusblade,pardon mi kpo. !! For toilet door, fyi, some of e more commonly used r ->- acrylic or laminated glass bi-fold door c/w aluminium frame- PVC bi-fold or sliding door c/w white frame- 10mm thk tempered glass swing doorThese r more resistant 2 water. For toilet door, fyi, some of e less commonly used r ->- timber flush door (veneer smooth finish) c/w timber frame- timber panel door (nyatoh with pattern) c/w timber frameThese r less resistant 2 water. Lets say wooden or timber materials canot b use in bathroom, then wat abt e cabinet below e vanity-top & shelving above e basin?Its a matter of preference in terms of aesthetic & pricing. Edited February 11, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted February 11, 2008 Yang Guo. Thanks for the info. We'll be discussing about it.http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj9/cyp.../Carpentary.jpgAny comments on the pricing for carpentary? Just met up with the contractor and he wrote down the quote for us. All cabinet are with lanminates.A few more Qs: For toilet door, is aluminum, solid plywood or nytoh wood door better? Am afraid over time wood door will expend due to the moisture.For black galaxy granite kitchen top from China. Our contractor quote us $150- 175 per feet. Wondering if it's reasonable.It's 112 square metres. I guess is normal for older flats.Hi cyprusblade, managed to complie a few for you..just a guide onlyFrontier concept: (so its $90/ft)One ( 1 ) unit granite slab kitchen worktop complete with backsplash & bull nose frontledge ( approx 12.5ft ) ---> $1,125 Summit design: (so its $70/ft)Supply & install solid surface top at kitchen approx 14ft $980.00Baroque dezign: ($100/ft)Was quoted 12ft for $1200 for a solid top (package price. included in the package)From above, Frontier concept has the best deal. (paper comparison, didnt compare quality, others pls dont flame me =)) . Frontier is granite top,the others are solid topA rough guide, granite top cost $20-$30/ft more than solid topJacky correct me if i am wrong? (jacky is the pro person, he knows alot of the pricing thing !! ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 Judging from YG compliation, I opt for FC.$90pfr is indeed a very very good bargain for granite top. Normally pple will pick FC if FC throw in $90pfr for granite top.If you see APPLE granite top (Blue Pearl) then it will be more expensive than Black Galaxy. Also need to see what type of granite top you are using, Blue, Black Galaxy, Kashmir White, Kashmir Gold..etc...all different price.Am I right?Hi cyprusblade, managed to complie a few for you..just a guide onlyFrontier concept: (so its $90/ft)One ( 1 ) unit granite slab kitchen worktop complete with backsplash & bull nose frontledge ( approx 12.5ft ) ---> $1,125 Summit design: (so its $70/ft)Supply & install solid surface top at kitchen approx 14ft $980.00Baroque dezign: ($100/ft)Was quoted 12ft for $1200 for a solid top (package price. included in the package)From above, Frontier concept has the best deal. (paper comparison, didnt compare quality, others pls dont flame me =)) . Frontier is granite top,the others are solid topA rough guide, granite top cost $20-$30/ft more than solid topJacky correct me if i am wrong? (jacky is the pro person, he knows alot of the pricing thing !! ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 eh my contractor only charge me $100pfr for my granite top leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cyprusblade 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 (edited) hmm did he mistake your kitchen for another one?30ft of countertop means your bottom cabinets are 10m???that's twice your kitchen length leh I extended my kitchen all the way to the same line as the bathroom/WC. My cabinets layout is U shaped.Ur kitchen counter top very nice leh, had to search your blog till page 52 then can see. Edited February 12, 2008 by cyprusblade Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cyprusblade 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 (edited) Think we need to nego with our contractor about the granite top some more since ours seem quite expensive. Thanks for all your hard work to let me know your pricings.Bought our lights before CNY, some pics here:Living Room LightsBalcony LightRoom LightsKitchen/Service Balcony LightsToilet Lights Edited February 12, 2008 by cyprusblade Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bebe_she 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 nice! all ur lights squarish type !! seems like ur not doin false ceiling? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cyprusblade 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 Yes, no false ceilings. Was afraid it'll make the ceiling lower plus will be a problem if upstairs have any leaks next time. We're very old school, after you see our furniture, you'll understand why. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 They didn't maintain it well so when they handed the keys to us, we noticed the cabinet doors at the sink area was already displaced and the wood had expanded.What a waste. Else it could be re-used. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cyprusblade 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 (edited) Hey cyprusblade,pardon mi kpo. For toilet door, fyi, some of e more commonly used r ->- acrylic or laminated glass bi-fold door c/w aluminium frame- PVC bi-fold or sliding door c/w white frame- 10mm thk tempered glass swing doorThese r more resistant 2 water. For toilet door, fyi, some of e less commonly used r ->- timber flush door (veneer smooth finish) c/w timber frame- timber panel door (nyatoh with pattern) c/w timber frameThese r less resistant 2 water. Lets say wooden or timber materials canot b use in bathroom, then wat abt e cabinet below e vanity-top & shelving above e basin?Its a matter of preference in terms of aesthetic & pricing. True hor, never thought about that. Edited February 12, 2008 by cyprusblade Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 Yes, no false ceilings. Was afraid it'll make the ceiling lower plus will be a problem if upstairs have any leaks next time. We're very old school, after you see our furniture, you'll understand why.hehehe, sound like me lehand hor, was beoing your balcony light before my bf gave me my current one I extended my kitchen all the way to the same line as the bathroom/WC. My cabinets layout is U shaped.Ur kitchen counter top very nice leh, had to search your blog till page 52 then can see.i assume your contractor has not gone down to the unit to take measurement right?10m is way too long even if it's in U shape wor if the granite countertop is properly sealed, it's one of the best countertop material in the market Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cyprusblade 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2008 (edited) I was crossed with the contractor recently. He called us to ask us if we wanted to buy some clipsal switches for the lights and electricals as there was a 50% discount at the shop. After some discussion we called him back to tell him ok. However, three minutes later we decided we prefer to get the zencelo range. Upon calling him, we discovered the switches he bought were not clipsal but the MK brand.I saw in the forum the MK switches gave some forumers some problems so we were not keen on MK switches. I explained to the contractor why we were not keen on this brand but he said his men had already bought the stuff. So I asked him if he can return it since it was not what we wanted in the 1st place. Not only was he not sorry for the mistake but he exclaimed in a disappointed voice oh I have to absorb it lor.Was so mad with him in the end we told him we'll buy our own switches.He only admitted it was his mistake a few days later. After this incident we are more careful when dealing with him. Edited February 13, 2008 by cyprusblade Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 13, 2008 hmm that sounds funnyHe called You to ask if you want clipsal switches but he went and buy MK??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cyprusblade 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2008 Yes that was why we were upset. Plus we figured if we didn't call him, he wouldn't have told us. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites