lauahkua

Tolong Tolong Please!

Hello to all the ah hiahs and ah cheahs here,

Me just bought a resale hdb which is in a very sorry state, needs a total overhaul but me greenhorn in renovations. Can any kind soul please give advice on when and where to start. Any recommendation of contractors or ids? Me also not rich so must be cheap n good! Thank que thank que hor!

Hello to all the ah hiahs and ah cheahs here,

Me just bought a resale hdb which is in a very sorry state, needs a total overhaul but me greenhorn in renovations. Can any kind soul please give advice on when and where to start. Any recommendation of contractors or ids? Me also not rich so must be cheap n good! Thank que thank que hor!

0. Give up the idea of cheap and good unless you feeling really lucky. It does exist but you must be really lucky to find one.

1. Get your floor plan and scan into a JPG picture file

2. List down all the items you want to be done (e.g hack floor, change window, wardrobe etc etc)

3. Send the floor plan and list of items and description of what you want to do to a number of ID & contractor and ask them to give you a quote. For the list of contractor you can read the forum to see which are the ones that are recommended by the people on the forum

4. When you get the quote, run through the quote and remove what you dont want (to save cost) or add items you just remembered you want

5. Narrow down list of ID & contractor to those few whose quote fit your budget or is near your budget. Ask them to requote with the items. Arrange for them to go down to your unit to take a look before the requote

6. When you get the quote go through it again and re-evaluate. Do this a few rounds till you find a company you are comfortable with both in terms of the person you deal with, the budget, their reliability.

You can check out our "Online Consultation" with the panel of ID/contractors for their quotes, then go visit a few more others of your own for comparison.

Just do abit of legwork and you should have a good picture of who is suitable for you. From your post like that very hard to recommend anything, because dun know your requirements.

Also, renovation being a very personal thing, the utmost importance is you must be able to communicate with the person who will be your project coordinator for the whole process.

Here are some suggestions on steps to take to ensure a successful renovation :

1. Do your homework

Advance research is the key to getting what you want. Study magazines and books to get an idea of the look you want. Visit friends, family members and colleagues who have renovated recently. Display homes can also provide excellent ideas. Consider your lifestyle and the needs of your family, both in the short and long term.

2. Find out how much you can afford

Once you have a firm idea of the kind of renovation you would like to undertake, it is time to decide how you are going to pay for it. If you are thinking about using outside funds, discuss your borrowing needs and options with your lender. You will probably find that there are many financing possibilities to consider, from personal loans and lines of credit to home equity loans and homeowner's mortgages.

3. Look for a professional renovator

For appropriate service and high-quality results, hire a professional renovator. Ask family and friends for recommendations. Drive around your neighbourhood to see who is renovating, then talk to the homeowners about their project. Most people are delighted to share their renovation experiences.

4. Choose your contractor

Once you have acquired names of several professional renovators, interview them. Be sure you have listed all the items that are important to you. Choose a couple of the renovators you feel most comfortable with. If you have plans and specifications have the chosen renovators provide you with a proposal. If you do not have plans already, ask the chosen renovators to provide you with a proposal and a budget for a design build project. Most professional renovators will provide a complete service including their own in house or private designers or architects.

5. Check references

Don't omit this step just because you are too busy or "they seem like the right person for the job." Call the renovator's previous clients, the bank and the building supply store to ensure that you are making the right choices.

6. Work out a contract

Don't automatically take the lowest bid, unless you are certain that the renovator has properly understood what you want. Sometimes low bids turn out to be the most expensive in the end. If you accept the renovator's offer, it's time to write up the contract. Even the simplest of jobs should be outlined in writing because the contract is the basis of understanding between you and your renovator. Before signing a contract, read it carefully. Are you satisfied with the description of the work to be done? Does the payment schedule include holdbacks? Are the responsibilities of the renovator clearly spelled out? Remember that if something is not in the contract, then it's your responsibility. Have a lawyer examine the contract before you sign it.

7. Plan how you will live during the renovation

Careful planning can greatly minimize inconvenience of living in the midst of a renovation. Talk to your renovator about the schedule of work to be done and how your daily routine might be affected. For instance, will the water be turned off for any length of time? Do you need to set up a temporary kitchen elsewhere in the home? Can major work be done in stages so you always have some liveable space? Discuss your expectations of the work crew and determine the work environment. The crew needs access to washroom facilities, telephones, water and electricity. Decide which areas of your home are off limits. It is a good idea to let your neighbours know that you are going to be renovating. Show them your plans and explain how long the work will be going on.

8. Establish a good working relationship with your renovator

Renovators and homeowners agree that a good working relationship is a vital ingredient in successful renovation projects. Mutual trust is essential. Keep lines of communication open at all times. Expect a brief report on the progress of your job at regular intervals, perhaps every evening. Be available to make decisions when they are needed so work is not held up, perhaps costing you more money. Don't hesitate to bring your concerns to the attention of the renovator.

9. Try to stick with your first choices

Once work is underway, changes should be kept to a minimum. The details of your project, described in the contract, down to the finishing touches, form the basis of both the price and the schedule of your job. Changes could affect both significantly. Your renovator , however, wants you to be satisfied with the final result, and will likely attempt to accommodate any alteration in plans, as long as you accept a possible delay in completion and/or a change in price.

10. Be prepared for a Successful Outcome

Research, good planning, a professional work crew and open communication and trust -- a recipe for a home renovation that you will enjoy for years to come!

Special thanks to realestate review

me too, oso bought a resale in a state which i do not like.. in e end.. to turn our home into almost our dream home.. min req 40k..

including hacking off all existing tiles in living/dining/bedrooms (3)/kitchen/both toilets

juz replacing tiles and re-painting alone cost 20k..

so.. like other forumers' advice.. u really gotta pray hard! =)

ya i agree... it's reali difficult to get cheap n gd id. source ard for ids and compare their quotes. beside the quote u muz oso be comfortable with the id u engaged. u can try to approach some ids tat are recommend in the forum.

as for me, i approached a few before i engaged my current id. wat i do is compare quote, listen to the designs the ids propose, and also the feeling the id gave me.

from there i managed to find my id and luckily i made the right choice. if u want u can also try to approach my id. so far i find his quote veri reasonable. u can also check out my t blog below.

be patient n i'm sure u can get a gd id with reasonable quote. :unsure:

ya i agree... it's reali difficult to get cheap n gd id. source ard for ids and compare their quotes. beside the quote u muz oso be comfortable with the id u engaged. u can try to approach some ids tat are recommend in the forum.

as for me, i approached a few before i engaged my current id. wat i do is compare quote, listen to the designs the ids propose, and also the feeling the id gave me.

from there i managed to find my id and luckily i made the right choice. if u want u can also try to approach my id. so far i find his quote veri reasonable. u can also check out my t blog below.

be patient n i'm sure u can get a gd id with reasonable quote. :)

LLHome, ur red sofa looks cute!

btw, u got a pool table for ur home? so cool..

how big muz ur room be to fit a pool table?

i intend to hav 1 in my dining area..

can share ur quote fr johnny?

Wah! you all **** helpful and nice man, thanks for your time and advice. Me kan cheong until cannot sleep, kept thinking of where to start after collect key. Now that I knew you guys are so helpful, I can eat xtra 2 bowl of rice 2day.

Can pm me your id contact? also how long it take to reno whole hse from scratch?

Wah! you all **** helpful and nice man, thanks for your time and advice. Me kan cheong until cannot sleep, kept thinking of where to start after collect key. Now that I knew you guys are so helpful, I can eat xtra 2 bowl of rice 2day.

Can pm me your id contact? also how long it take to reno whole hse from scratch?

send u my list ... some other forumer got the list from me ... it may not cover every one but hope it will help

no worries... u can eat xtra 4 bowls also can. :yamseng:

Edited by Devilaz

Thank you guys! thank god I found this forum. Hope I can sleep better tonite. Will start looking ard soon, if got problem will ching cheow u guys again. Can right?

LLHome, ur red sofa looks cute!

btw, u got a pool table for ur home? so cool..

how big muz ur room be to fit a pool table?

i intend to hav 1 in my dining area..

can share ur quote fr johnny?

share ur quote fr johnny?

thx. my pool table is 8 ft. but normally most ppl get 7 ft for their homes. but no matter how many ft u gettin, best is leave another 1.5m ard the table for playing. coz tats the length of a cue. but u can use a baby cue to play if reali not enough place. hope u get wat i mean. if u not sure feel free to ask me. no worries.

as for the quote, i do not hv the soft copy. jus roughly tell u wat we did for reno. we did carpentry for the whole hse except 2 bedrooms like kitchen, hhs, suspended bed, wardrobe 10ft, vanity 6ft, shoe cabinet 5ft, altar 5ft, swivel tv feature 8ft...flooring for all hse, overlaying 2 bathroom floor n wall tiles, false ceiling, feature wall for pool area and seatee (foc), dresser...

we oso use quite a lot of mosaic at the foyer, kitchen entrance, skirting and bathroom. and oso black glass n tinted glass at a few areas..

spend ard 40k for reno. but tats the lowest quote i got !!

u can check out at my blog below to view my reno.