applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 imho, NEVER bring with you cash/nets/credit cards to these fairsso that you won't be pressured into signing up on the spotbetter to take your time to look around then go with the one you feel most comfortable withsome people i know who signed up at these fair live to regret it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renopooh 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 hmm.. toilet and kitchen tiles a lot of problems?? I only check my living/bedroom tiles.. quite a few hollow ones.. told Mr Chen over the phone.. last thurs.. most of the defects are settled, except for the hollow tiles and the very STIFF windows.. I haven't met my HDB officer or any reno contractor.. are we supposed to meet up at all?? One mth plus liao.. Anyone going for Modern Living 2008? Starting from 23-Feb-08 to 02-Mar-08 held in expo.Start Time: 12:00; End Time : 22:00.Me going with my spouse to check out the IDs.. perhaps drop by Metro Expo Sale..Surprisingly, there were no hollow tiles (which everybody seem to mentioned/warned about) found in renopooh's unit. The biggest headache is the windows. Indeed too stiff & unable to close without without using huge force.Renopooh's not sure on whether it's the norm to meet up with the TO or contractor. Renopooh only know that he received a call from TO to meet up to show him where the defects are located, eventhough the defects are properly marked & labeled. Perhaps it's due to the unusually long list submitted? Metro sale ending this Sunday (24-Feb-08) though, bound to be crowded with so many fairs going on. The POPULAR Sale and Watsons Expo Mega Sale coming up too (28-Feb-08 to 02-Mar-08). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simpleguy80 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 Surprisingly, there were no hollow tiles (which everybody seem to mentioned/warned about) found in renopooh's unit. The biggest headache is the windows. Indeed too stiff & unable to close without without using huge force.Renopooh's not sure on whether it's the norm to meet up with the TO or contractor. Renopooh only know that he received a call from TO to meet up to show him where the defects are located, eventhough the defects are properly marked & labeled. Perhaps it's due to the unusually long list submitted? Metro sale ending this Sunday (24-Feb-08) though, bound to be crowded with so many fairs going on. The POPULAR Sale and Watsons Expo Mega Sale coming up too (28-Feb-08 to 02-Mar-08).Haha for my case can be considered overhaul coz I change all my floor and wall tiles. So many defects here and there especially the toilet walls. Mine took a long time because CNY is near the corner and they are stopping work for so long. Ya windows very stiff and i also need to change two panes of the window coz got internal crack sian...... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renopooh 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 (edited) Haha for my case can be considered overhaul coz I change all my floor and wall tiles. So many defects here and there especially the toilet walls. Mine took a long time because CNY is near the corner and they are stopping work for so long. Ya windows very stiff and i also need to change two panes of the window coz got internal crack sian...... That sounds real bad. Can't help wondering why they don't do a good job before handling the keys over to the owners. Furthmore, some defects are so obvious that no need to knock here knock there also can see one still can be missed. Edited February 20, 2008 by renopooh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simpleguy80 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 That sounds real bad. Can't help wondering why they don't do a good job before handling the keys over to the owners. Furthmore, some defects are so obvious that no need to knock here knock there also can see one still can be missed. Haha ur case and my case different loh. Your case is they got refurnish ur apartment. Mine dun have so I have to ask them to redo the tiling and so on. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renopooh 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 Haha ur case and my case different loh. Your case is they got refurnish ur apartment. Mine dun have so I have to ask them to redo the tiling and so on.OIC. How old is your unit? Renopooh's unit is 7yrs old already, although nobody stayed there before, that's why need to wait 6 months for collection of keys while they refurbish everything. Now that the wait's over, still gotta go through another round of waiting. More Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simpleguy80 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 OIC. How old is your unit? Renopooh's unit is 7yrs old already, although nobody stayed there before, that's why need to wait 6 months for collection of keys while they refurbish everything. Now that the wait's over, still gotta go through another round of waiting. More Haha same as u. Almost 5 to 7 yrs. Ya ur area got refurbish everything but mine dun have so HDB has to refurnish for me now. So I have to wait lor........................ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueturtle 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 oh no... sounds real bad... i hope there aren't too many defects in my unit. I just collected my keys today. Going down to check this weekend. *keeping my fingers crossed* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renopooh 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 oh no... sounds real bad... i hope there aren't too many defects in my unit. I just collected my keys today. Going down to check this weekend. *keeping my fingers crossed* Congratulations on finally getting your keys. Looking forward to your blog soon. Renopooh also going down to unit this weekend to meet contractor, maybe will bump into you. Hehe... Do take your time to check the house carefully & in detail. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
softballer 0 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 (edited) oh no... sounds real bad... i hope there aren't too many defects in my unit. I just collected my keys today. Going down to check this weekend. *keeping my fingers crossed* u may want to use this list found in http://gnmrenovation.blogspot.com/2006/08/...efect-list.htmlto check for any defects.. Pretty comprehensive... anyone know how to gauge if the window hinge are rusty or jus dirty?? Edited February 21, 2008 by softballer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueturtle 0 Report post Posted February 25, 2008 u may want to use this list found in http://gnmrenovation.blogspot.com/2006/08/...efect-list.htmlto check for any defects.. Pretty comprehensive... anyone know how to gauge if the window hinge are rusty or jus dirty??Thanks softballer!I got my ID to check for the defects. managed to find quite a few things... some of it i think was quite retarded... dunno how HDB checks also.. so obvious still dare hand over... sighz... just faxed the defects list over... waiting for their response now... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renopooh 0 Report post Posted February 25, 2008 (edited) Latest updates: renopooh went through list of defects with HDB contractor & result is that gotta wait for 2 months for everything to be rectified. Reason for taking such a long time is because all the windows needed to be changed. Well, no choice but to wait until it finish then to start renovation lor. Anyway, renopooh made some purchases from Ikea over the weekend:1) Dining table2) Floor uplifter & bulbs3) Clothes drying rack 4) Laundry bagSlowly building up on the inventory... Thanks softballer!I got my ID to check for the defects. managed to find quite a few things... some of it i think was quite retarded... dunno how HDB checks also.. so obvious still dare hand over... sighz... just faxed the defects list over... waiting for their response now...blueturtle, renopooh understands what you mean. Like the household shelter door cannot even be closed, so obvious when entering the house, was not even rectified before handing the keys to owners. Same thing also happened to renopooh's neighbours. Edited July 10, 2008 by renopooh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renopooh 0 Report post Posted February 28, 2008 (edited) Renopooh checked on the progress last night but was shocked to find nothing had been done at all Is this normal? Are they only going to start work on it towards the last few weeks? Found another neighbour who was also asked to wait 2 months for them to change the windows but at least this neighbour will proceed with reno first. whether renopooh should start renovating as well rather than wait it out... Edited February 28, 2008 by renopooh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
softballer 0 Report post Posted March 1, 2008 Renopooh checked on the progress last night but was shocked to find nothing had been done at all Is this normal? Are they only going to start work on it towards the last few weeks? Found another neighbour who was also asked to wait 2 months for them to change the windows but at least this neighbour will proceed with reno first. whether renopooh should start renovating as well rather than wait it out... they should have appointed a HDB officer to you. Perhaps you can call up and ask how is things going on. The officer would check with the appointed contractor in charge of your defects.. and answer your queries..If you start your reno before any defects, then any defects found after the renovation started.. they may not help you to do.. cos they may think that it is caused by ur ID/contractor. I always find something new whenever i go over to my house.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renopooh 0 Report post Posted March 3, 2008 they should have appointed a HDB officer to you. Perhaps you can call up and ask how is things going on. The officer would check with the appointed contractor in charge of your defects.. and answer your queries..If you start your reno before any defects, then any defects found after the renovation started.. they may not help you to do.. cos they may think that it is caused by ur ID/contractor. I always find something new whenever i go over to my house.. Yes, renopooh has a HDB TO & had met up with the contractor too. was advised to start reno after defects are rectified. Renopooh also thinking the same as you (that if doing both rectification & renovation together, the defects will be nobody's child). But there're so many people who proceed with reno even before rectification of defects so renopooh is confused mah. Anyway, had decided to wait till rectification works are completed lah. In the meantime, will continue to update this blog. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites