applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 each has its own pros and consit really depends on what you wantundermount1. can't change the sink without damaging the top2. no water seepage problem unless sealant badly done3. easy to sweep water on countertop into sink4. certain sinks can only be under mounted5. some people prefer the looktopmount1. a small percentage of sinks can only be top mounted e.g. those with drainer2. can change the sink without damaging the top3. can't sweep water on countertop into sink4. some people prefer the lookthere are other qualities which i didn't listbut i went for under mounted coz my sink doesn't come with a drainer, so food preparation is done on the countertop and it's much easier to sweep everything into the sink Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueblue_m6 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 each has its own pros and consit really depends on what you wantundermount1. can't change the sink without damaging the top2. no water seepage problem unless sealant badly done3. easy to sweep water on countertop into sink4. certain sinks can only be under mounted5. some people prefer the looktopmount1. a small percentage of sinks can only be top mounted e.g. those with drainer2. can change the sink without damaging the top3. can't sweep water on countertop into sink4. some people prefer the lookthere are other qualities which i didn't listbut i went for under mounted coz my sink doesn't come with a drainer, so food preparation is done on the countertop and it's much easier to sweep everything into the sink i prefer the undermount look. hehe. but my id is charging me $80 extra for the workmanship to get it undermount... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 hmm, considering you'll be staying there for at least 5yrs, it's around 4cents per dayworth it right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueblue_m6 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 (edited) this is the homework i've done on crystallized glass panels. tot is is useful for those who r keen to know more abt it. im using this material as my kitchen counter top- as it has yet to be fixed up, i cant verify if the so-called-advantages i've gotten from the net is true or not..Product Name: Neoparis Neoparies Crystallized Glasscolour chosen: pure white this is wat i've gotten from the net:Features: Composition: quartz, calcite, zinc oxide, witherite, alumina, alkali Neopariés® Crystallized Glass is a non-staining, non-porous solid surface building material. It is not affected by red wine, salad oils, lemon, or nail polish. It is ideally suited for use as wall surface cladding, countertops and vanities. The uniqueness of this solid surfacing material is that it is available in colors such as White, Light and Dark Beige, which are not found in nature and, offers a solution for many areas such as kitchen and bathroom surfaces where staining is a very definite problem. It is impervious to water absorption unlike natural stone surfaces. It has the strength and hardness of a mid-range granite and the ability to withstand thermal stress. It is similar in graining pattern to Thassos marble, a pure white crystalline marble that is quite beautiful but porous and easily stained. Highlights & Advantages-Can be edged and laminated to conform to most traditional stone profiles requested.-Is virtually impermeable to moisture and other harsh elements. All contaminants are easily removed during regular maintenance. -Is resistant to acids, alkalis, oil, and other environmental pollutants unlike Marble, Granite or other Natural Stone Surfaces.-Bending strength is three times greater than that of common stone.-Can be bent to a radius to form column covers and undulating wall surfaces. Curved panels are available in a wide range of sizes in both convex and concave configurations.-Is not subject to microscopic fissures and fracture patterns commonly resulting from the quarry of stone.-Is available in eight (8) colors in Galaxys' inventory in a thickness of 15mm (5/8"). Edited January 18, 2008 by blueblue_m6 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
makemefly 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 this is the homework i've done on crystallized glass panels. tot is is useful for those who r keen to know more abt it. im using this material as my kitchen counter top- as it has yet to be fixed up, i cant verify if the so-called-advantages i've gotten from the net is true or not..Product Name: Neoparis Crystallized Glasscolour chosen: pure white this is wat i've gotten from the net:Features: Composition: quartz, calcite, zinc oxide, witherite, alumina, alkali Neopariés® Crystallized Glass is a non-staining, non-porous solid surface building material. It is not affected by red wine, salad oils, lemon, or nail polish. It is ideally suited for use as wall surface cladding, countertops and vanities. The uniqueness of this solid surfacing material is that it is available in colors such as White, Light and Dark Beige, which are not found in nature and, offers a solution for many areas such as kitchen and bathroom surfaces where staining is a very definite problem. It is impervious to water absorption unlike natural stone surfaces. It has the strength and hardness of a mid-range granite and the ability to withstand thermal stress. It is similar in graining pattern to Thassos marble, a pure white crystalline marble that is quite beautiful but porous and easily stained. Highlights & Advantages-Can be edged and laminated to conform to most traditional stone profiles requested.-Is virtually impermeable to moisture and other harsh elements. All contaminants are easily removed during regular maintenance. -Is resistant to acids, alkalis, oil, and other environmental pollutants unlike Marble, Granite or other Natural Stone Surfaces.-Bending strength is three times greater than that of common stone.-Can be bent to a radius to form column covers and undulating wall surfaces. Curved panels are available in a wide range of sizes in both convex and concave configurations.-Is not subject to microscopic fissures and fracture patterns commonly resulting from the quarry of stone.-Is available in eight (8) colors in Galaxys' inventory in a thickness of 15mm (5/8").is this thing solid top? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 (edited) it's different from solid surface countertopssolid surface are made of 100% acrylic aka plasticthe Crystallized Glass compose more of natural forming stonesquartz is known to be one of the hardest stone around, surpassing that of granite and marble (if i'm not wrong) also, solid surface is not as good as it's supposed to beheard quite a few encounters of staining, simply by putting objects on the surface Edited January 18, 2008 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueblue_m6 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 (edited) is this thing solid top?yea~ agree with apple tat is 1 of the hardest material ard, as compared to granite & marble.this material is a man-made stone. outlook is pretty- pure white (with some white grains) & it's very glossy & very smooth as compared to solid tops. & it's harder than granite; less likely to break. scratch resistance. zero water absorption rate. very high heat resistance. however, the price is higher as well. Edited January 18, 2008 by blueblue_m6 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueblue_m6 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 there's 10% additional discount for all takashimaya credit card holders at takashimaya from 18 jan-20 Jan 2008!! i'll b gg there 2c if there's any nice bowls & plates.. hehe. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ranval9 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2008 Hey, hi hi fellow SKian cum WMF-lover Welcome to renotalk Your taste is very different from your ID wor .. it's not loud .. it's WOW n POWER!! Black and White are your main colour ?? Good Choices of your lightings .... :wub:I'm still thinking if i should go ahead to purchase the WMF stuff now anot ... And Pls upload more pics Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueblue_m6 0 Report post Posted January 21, 2008 Hey, hi hi fellow SKian cum WMF-lover Welcome to renotalk Your taste is very different from your ID wor .. it's not loud .. it's WOW n POWER!! Black and White are your main colour ?? Good Choices of your lightings .... I'm still thinking if i should go ahead to purchase the WMF stuff now anot ... And Pls upload more pics hihi ranval,thanx for dropping by. thanx for ur compliments~ yea, my house's main colour's black & white. shd get the wmf items when there's a sale, if not bohua... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
poseidon_gal 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2009 how much did you pay for ur kitchen top? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mister_molly 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2009 (edited) I think blueblue not active anymore leh....I also interested in her Neoparies Crystallized Glass Kitchen top... Anybody??? Edited March 11, 2009 by mister_molly Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2009 Yeah her Neoparies Glass top, looks so solid. duno how much she paid leh? you PM her leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mister_molly 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2009 I read somewhere she paid $180pfr. But dunno from where.... I checked she last logged in Sep'08, I think PM her no use leh....but I try lah hor, hehehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
poseidon_gal 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2009 haa everyone is interested in ur kitchen top.. look very solid.. also very expensive if it is really 180pfr Share this post Link to post Share on other sites