shutiao06

Jw St 64 - Common Defects Found

How many of you manage to get HDB to rearnish the bedrooms ar? They refused to do it for me saying mine is in good condition :dancingqueen:

My Living skirting is in bad condition too, can see the nails clearly and black patches all around, and they agreed to revarnish all but i doubt it helps, will see how and complain if still the same!

How many of you manage to get HDB to rearnish the bedrooms ar? They refused to do it for me saying mine is in good condition :notti:

My Living skirting is in bad condition too, can see the nails clearly and black patches all around, and they agreed to revarnish all but i doubt it helps, will see how and complain if still the same!

Try and find hollow parquet and mark them for BSC to fill it up. After they'd injected glue into the parquet, they'll have to polish and varnish it for u. My bedrooms were handled this way. But of course it'll be better if u can get them to re-tile ur parquet which some of the forumers managed to do so. I couldn't get them to reparquet even though there were more than 50 marked parquet tiles in every room :P

Hi Commando, there is only few hollow parquet and they said they will inject glue into it.... but still they refused to polish and varnish... any idea how i can get them to do it for me?

For my case, i had complain bout the dull color n condition of the parquet for all my bedrooms to BSC... and they had revarnished all of my 3 bedrooms. Even once, i accidentally step into one of the bedroom after they had just revarnished, resulted a shoe print on the un-dry parquet. straight away, i rush down to BSC and informed them of a foot print, the next day, they came back and revarnish for me.

i see no reason y they refused to revarnish your parquet... have u go down to BSC and make a complain?

U can ask them what they are going to do about the holes created by the injection. For my case, I asked them to retile and they refused. They said they could only inject. So I asked how are they going to deal with the holes and they said they'll revarnish. Val, u can try bsc again and if they do not budge, use this link and "complaint" aka sound unhappy. I'm sure hdb can do a better job than bsc.

For my case, i had complain bout the dull color n condition of the parquet for all my bedrooms to BSC... and they had revarnished all of my 3 bedrooms. Even once, i accidentally step into one of the bedroom after they had just revarnished, resulted a shoe print on the un-dry parquet. straight away, i rush down to BSC and informed them of a foot print, the next day, they came back and revarnish for me.

i see no reason y they refused to revarnish your parquet... have u go down to BSC and make a complain?

I have a feeling the earlier batch of complainees managed to get most rectifications done professionally while bsc seemed to treat the later batch with a little bochupness.

I only met the BSC and contractor last thursday for joint inspection. Yes i complained about the dull colour too! But the contractor keep telling me that even if they revarnish, it will look the same bla bla bla. And I didn't know the injection will cause holes...

Will ask my hubby to write an email to the HDB people.

Hey folks,

I have not submitted a single defects list & trying to do so soon.

But have not activated my water and power supply, so can the HDB contractors come and do rectification without them?

Rose, feedback to HDB (not BSC), they will go dwn take a look and advise u. If necessary, they will request BSC to fix it.

shutiao, bsc oso tore out my masking tape w/o rectifying my defects. A mail to HDB got them solved within a week. As im on ICT, the HDB guy went dwn to settle it for me.

yo commando, any idea where to check who's the hdb officer in charge? today i called up another person at another no., not the usual bsc no at blk 675 there. i stil thought the person is the hdb officer in charge of my unit, cos i got the no when i submitted the defects list online. i tink she's the "technical officer" or somethin. anyway she said she's also from bsc but the main office (ie. the ones at our place are their contractors). now then i know abt these.

feelin reali :yamseng: abt the status and progress. it's been 2 wks and no one called me to update us how's the status :good: called up last thur and the "sleepy voice" lady said she'll need to send ppl down to chk and wil call me on sat. when we went down last sat, it seems like for the whole of last wk, they have not been doin anything!! omg.. this is already the 5th wk since i handed the keys to them. they r juz wastin our time and draggin on the process. very frustrating. then the lady whom i called said she called up the contractors side and they said they've rectified it but there are discrepancy between wat they tink has been done and wat i want.. so she said wana do another joint inspection..

reali waste of our time.. somemore they only work 5days so tat means we gota specially take off for them!? hubby's job very hard to take leave unless reali urgent matters. if worse comes to worse i gota go down alone already :( wonder y they dun tell me earlier if they feel tat they have already finished all the defects!?! :yamseng: they insist tat the parquet has been revanished but to me, seems like nothin has been done. i've seen other units with better quality. wonder y the double standard :curse:

The HDB officer came to inspect the defects yesterday. There were 2 persons - 1 uncle whom i presume is the HDB officer and another young chap called Ah Xiang who is the contractor.

Most of my defects are the common ones like dirty grouting/ main door expanded etc. Until I told them about the buldging of the parquet in BR2 n BR3. This HDB officer kept saying it's like that one. Everyone else got this problem. Then he said they will at most polish again to flatten out the centre buldge. But oh man! The parquet floorings are so obviously buldging out and he said it's ok one! I told them it's the levelling problem so there's no point polishing the wood layer again!

After inspecting, they said they will get back to me. But any idea how long they will take to get back to me?

Should I complain to HDB and get them to rectify the problem?

ya they are like tat one.. tat time we complained abt the centre portion of the parquet bloated they also told us it's like tat one.. it's ok everyone oso same prob blah blah.. they juz dun wana do it for us.. then when i insisted, the younger one said they'll try.. after a wk, called me tell me it's due to expansion of the wood.. cant do much.. even we were to redo it, after a while oso wil have same prob... 8|

obviously tryin to shrink responsibility... so how did hdb rectify the prob for u?

Hey folks,

I have not submitted a single defects list & trying to do so soon.

But have not activated my water and power supply, so can the HDB contractors come and do rectification without them?

hi rumi,

i think water and power supply has been pre turned on. for us it was.. so u can check :)

yo commando, any idea where to check who's the hdb officer in charge? today i called up another person at another no., not the usual bsc no at blk 675 there. i stil thought the person is the hdb officer in charge of my unit, cos i got the no when i submitted the defects list online. i tink she's the "technical officer" or somethin. anyway she said she's also from bsc but the main office (ie. the ones at our place are their contractors). now then i know abt these.

feelin reali :yamseng: abt the status and progress. it's been 2 wks and no one called me to update us how's the status :good: called up last thur and the "sleepy voice" lady said she'll need to send ppl down to chk and wil call me on sat. when we went down last sat, it seems like for the whole of last wk, they have not been doin anything!! omg.. this is already the 5th wk since i handed the keys to them. they r juz wastin our time and draggin on the process. very frustrating. then the lady whom i called said she called up the contractors side and they said they've rectified it but there are discrepancy between wat they tink has been done and wat i want.. so she said wana do another joint inspection..

reali waste of our time.. somemore they only work 5days so tat means we gota specially take off for them!? hubby's job very hard to take leave unless reali urgent matters. if worse comes to worse i gota go down alone already :( wonder y they dun tell me earlier if they feel tat they have already finished all the defects!?! :yamseng: they insist tat the parquet has been revanished but to me, seems like nothin has been done. i've seen other units with better quality. wonder y the double standard :(

ya they are like tat one.. tat time we complained abt the centre portion of the parquet bloated they also told us it's like tat one.. it's ok everyone oso same prob blah blah.. they juz dun wana do it for us.. then when i insisted, the younger one said they'll try.. after a wk, called me tell me it's due to expansion of the wood.. cant do much.. even we were to redo it, after a while oso wil have same prob... 8|

obviously tryin to shrink responsibility... so how did hdb rectify the prob for u?

hi rumi,

i think water and power supply has been pre turned on. for us it was.. so u can check :)

Oh officer in charge is not the hdb officer? Alamak I'm so confused. Anyway, I just directed my problems to the number reflected on the defects report. When I could not reach the officer on the telephone, I resubmitted my defects list and filled the form macam talking to him (since that's the only channel to reach him) and asked him to call me back.

2 weeks and nothing done? I think u have to push them more. I remembered after they had rectified the defects in my flat, they did not call me at all. It was a Friday when I went to check. There were still some pending defects in my opinion. The following Fri, I went up again and nothing was done so I got really angry and tried to contact the hdb officer. Couldn't reach them so I submitted the defects online again. Then I bo bians, must go in-camp so cannot do anything. Monday, I submitted a defects list in camp. Tuesday I received a call and was told that he'll take a look at my flat on Thur. Friday, I received a call from bsc saying that my defects have been rectified. Sat, I go see. True enough, all the points I stated in the defects report were fixed except the replacement of window and door (pending stock arrival). BTW, they also touched up my main door. When I went to collect my keys, I told the sleepy lady that I want to have my door changed. She just mumbled something to Ah Xiang and said ok. Duno if she really meant it anot. Anyway, this slpy lady is not very old leh. U can go down take a look :)

ok i gota get back to work liapz. Anything else u can share here :curse:

i think water and power supply has been pre turned on. for us it was.. so u can check :yamseng:

Mine was pre turned on for about a week or two, SP sent me a notice in my mail box and shut off the water and power supply until I go and activate SP services and pay for them monthly.

You means your suppply has been on since you open the door?

Mine was pre turned on for about a week or two, SP sent me a notice in my mail box and shut off the water and power supply until I go and activate SP services and pay for them monthly.

You means your suppply has been on since you open the door?

o no la.. cos after we collected the keys and saw the notice in our mailbox tat the power supply has been pre turned on and tat we have to go and apply to SP for our power supply within a week, i quickly submit my online application the following wk. though it was after a wk, but i called them up to tell them not to discontinue my power supply cos i'll be sending an online application. so the officer helped us to sort of extend it after our application was approved.

then i guess mayb u gota go apply already since they have disconnected it?

Oh officer in charge is not the hdb officer? Alamak I'm so confused. Anyway, I just directed my problems to the number reflected on the defects report. When I could not reach the officer on the telephone, I resubmitted my defects list and filled the form macam talking to him (since that's the only channel to reach him) and asked him to call me back.

2 weeks and nothing done? I think u have to push them more. I remembered after they had rectified the defects in my flat, they did not call me at all. It was a Friday when I went to check. There were still some pending defects in my opinion. The following Fri, I went up again and nothing was done so I got really angry and tried to contact the hdb officer. Couldn't reach them so I submitted the defects online again. Then I bo bians, must go in-camp so cannot do anything. Monday, I submitted a defects list in camp. Tuesday I received a call and was told that he'll take a look at my flat on Thur. Friday, I received a call from bsc saying that my defects have been rectified. Sat, I go see. True enough, all the points I stated in the defects report were fixed except the replacement of window and door (pending stock arrival). BTW, they also touched up my main door. When I went to collect my keys, I told the sleepy lady that I want to have my door changed. She just mumbled something to Ah Xiang and said ok. Duno if she really meant it anot. Anyway, this slpy lady is not very old leh. U can go down take a look :P

ok i gota get back to work liapz. Anything else u can share here :lol:

yap tat was wat she said when i asked. u mean the techincal officer rite? cos i juz login to my home page at the hdb website. there's 2 person stated. 1 is the estates officer and the other is technical officer. anyway, i guess no choice then either i tried callin the estates officer c if she could help but i guess likely she'll refer me to the other one. or i gota call the other one again. mayb tell her we reali cant arrange a time to meet her. ask if they can go do inspect on their own.

i tink we're in the same situation lor. 2 wks ago (ie. 16/3), we went up and saw they've done somethin. but prior to tat on 10/3 i've already submitted another defect list so there were stil some pendin defects. and i find tat without rectifyin the defects, they removed the maskin tapes :notti: waste my time and effort to go thru everythin again. then last wk (22/3) we went down again and noted tat our house was stil in the same state as a wk ago. tat means for the whole of last wk they've not done a single thing! :rofl: reali very angry.. to tink she stil said she'll return my call on sat but empty promise again. today already wed and i doubt they've done anythin esp now tat the TO said there are discrepancy and they claim to have finished wat they shld.. :jawdrop: duno wat to do now...

u r lucky..ur TO so gd got everything rectified for u liao...tink my TO sounds like cannot make it one oso leh. hopefully she'll b able to help :P

yap i know..i've seen her in person before hee.. she's has the same sleepy voice as on the phone, and i tink she has this sleepy look too :P

ok then, wil update again how it goes..

Edited by shutiao06

I guess since u have applied for SP account, the water and power supply will be charged to you soon right? Cannot be free liao right?

yap we applied sometime in late jan or feb abt 1-2 wks after we got the keys.. even the pre turned on supply if u use it, they wil also charge to u.. so i guess perhaps b4 we applied for the supply, if the hdb workers were there to do any touch ups, those expense we also paid for it.. after u apply for it, the bills wil come very fast. to date, i've already rec'd my 2nd bill! haiz.. they'll b very fast to bill us...

o no la.. cos after we collected the keys and saw the notice in our mailbox tat the power supply has been pre turned on and tat we have to go and apply to SP for our power supply within a week, i quickly submit my online application the following wk. though it was after a wk, but i called them up to tell them not to discontinue my power supply cos i'll be sending an online application. so the officer helped us to sort of extend it after our application was approved.

then i guess mayb u gota go apply already since they have disconnected it?

yap tat was wat she said when i asked. u mean the techincal officer rite? cos i juz login to my home page at the hdb website. there's 2 person stated. 1 is the estates officer and the other is technical officer. anyway, i guess no choice then either i tried callin the estates officer c if she could help but i guess likely she'll refer me to the other one. or i gota call the other one again. mayb tell her we reali cant arrange a time to meet her. ask if they can go do inspect on their own.

i tink we're in the same situation lor. 2 wks ago (ie. 16/3), we went up and saw they've done somethin. but prior to tat on 10/3 i've already submitted another defect list so there were stil some pendin defects. and i find tat without rectifyin the defects, they removed the maskin tapes :dribble: waste my time and effort to go thru everythin again. then last wk (22/3) we went down again and noted tat our house was stil in the same state as a wk ago. tat means for the whole of last wk they've not done a single thing! :good: reali very angry.. to tink she stil said she'll return my call on sat but empty promise again. today already wed and i doubt they've done anythin esp now tat the TO said there are discrepancy and they claim to have finished wat they shld.. :dribble: duno wat to do now...

u r lucky..ur TO so gd got everything rectified for u liao...tink my TO sounds like cannot make it one oso leh. hopefully she'll b able to help :D

yap i know..i've seen her in person before hee.. she's has the same sleepy voice as on the phone, and i tink she has this sleepy look too :good:

ok then, wil update again how it goes..

I believe with too many submissions, they got confused too. Since there's some discrepency, what u can do to help "de-confuse them" is to resubmit 1 final report online. This time round, state every single defect and label them 1), 2), 3).... At the top before u describe ur problem, do mention that this is the finalised and most updated defects list that supercedes all previous reports. At the same time, tell them exactly how long you've waited and why bsc didn't call when they were supposed to and tell them you tried calling but cannot reach them. Finish the report liao, tell them to call u back for clarification.

Yah I agree my TO had been very helpful. He didn't try to siam when he knew I stuck in ICT and can't do joint inspection with him. Or maybe I sounded fierce..... :good:

Can u ask ur hubby to liase with them instead?

feelin reali :rofl: abt the status and progress. it's been 2 wks and no one called me to update us how's the status :( called up last thur and the "sleepy voice" lady said she'll need to send ppl down to chk and wil call me on sat. when we went down last sat, it seems like for the whole of last wk, they have not been doin anything!! omg.. this is already the 5th wk since i handed the keys to them. they r juz wastin our time and draggin on the process. very frustrating. then the lady whom i called said she called up the contractors side and they said they've rectified it but there are discrepancy between wat they tink has been done and wat i want.. so she said wana do another joint inspection..

reali waste of our time.. somemore they only work 5days so tat means we gota specially take off for them!? hubby's job very hard to take leave unless reali urgent matters. if worse comes to worse i gota go down alone already :~ wonder y they dun tell me earlier if they feel tat they have already finished all the defects!?! :notti: they insist tat the parquet has been revanished but to me, seems like nothin has been done. i've seen other units with better quality. wonder y the double standard :P

ya they are like tat one.. tat time we complained abt the centre portion of the parquet bloated they also told us it's like tat one.. it's ok everyone oso same prob blah blah.. they juz dun wana do it for us.. then when i insisted, the younger one said they'll try.. after a wk, called me tell me it's due to expansion of the wood.. cant do much.. even we were to redo it, after a while oso wil have same prob... :rofl:

hi rumi,

i think water and power supply has been pre turned on. for us it was.. so u can check :~

Hi Shutiao,

Why not u go straight to HDB Officer at another no. 6477xxxxx. she shld be frm Town Council one, not station at BSC office. If u push them, they will push BSC. Mine same lor, 4 weeks sinces my 1st submiission of problem, till now, they still have not done small small retification like changing screw nuts for mirror etc.

They ask me to give them 1 more week, but my husband insist them to have it done by this Sat. I have asked them to redo my floor tiles and I intend not to pay until they have finish all retrification for us. I also requested them to sand and revarnish flooring, he told me also sanded before, cannot sand anymore, else will be very thin. I also don't know how truth and my husband accept their answers. *sigh*

For that sleepy head lady, she is slim slim, look like ppl owe her $. She always said not her problem, is ah xiang schedule the works etc. Don't know what she is doing mann..... Talked with her twice and she sure on her yahoo window yahooing with someone (bor sim work type). They r like tat, can don't do, they laggi happy lor. When I request to change mirror screw nuts which appear dull and rusty to me, he told me is like tat one, change new one, use long liao also will become like tat. :P

Friends, must complain and have ur own rights. After all, we paid for this flat.