alexter 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 Cleaning up is so tiring that I forgot to take a pic of my storage heater mounting and completed carpentry.. Sanitary fittings are completed today. Major drama, plumber drilled through one of the concealed piping @ the toilet. HB & I have no idea what went wrong when we keep hearing water gushing out somewhere. We didnt know till the neighbour one floor down complained to the HDB contractor office. Mains off, no water usage until they find a way to fix it. Had to mobilized the plumber, ID, HDB officer & contractor on monday for a "meeting". ah...sian-sation....was pretty elated in the morning to see that everything is swee swee....now this...hmm sad to heard that.must blame the HDB for not having any sticker indication of the piping.even from the water piping drawing they only show how the pipes run, and did not show where are the vertical pipes. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
haroldism 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 hmmm... no wonder, me n graciegal was thinking how come got water leaking at the side of our blk... we tot it was raining coz the sky very dark at around 2pm today...hope your drilled pipe can be settled asap... !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rav3n 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2008 thanks guys =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rav3n 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2008 Our Completed Renovations:HHS Feature WallMasterbed Room WardrobeKitchen CabinetBiFold Doors for both toiletsAriston 30L Storage Heater mounted @ common toiletRainshowers @ both toiletsDaikin Sys3 Non-inverterAnd I forgot to take a picture of the living room window settee. All thats is left are the rectifications, repairs and touchups. Then the major clean-up and minor DIY paint works. Finally our furnitures' delivery. Sure hope that the pipe repairs are swift. Cant wait to move in~! Hi rav3n, ooo.... No wonder the time when i went up to your house, from downstair tot ppl washing their toilet window or what. Never Know it's your concealed piping is leaking... will the water be account for? By the Way, Thanks so much for letting me view your house.. U r most welcomed. =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cyanide 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 hi, in your previous post. u did mentioned that u have ur peachy grout line in the living/ dinning area replaced right. juz wondering.. are ur both toilets and kitchen grout line in white or of light greyish in color? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rav3n 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 (edited) hi, in your previous post. u did mentioned that u have ur peachy grout line in the living/ dinning area replaced right. juz wondering.. are ur both toilets and kitchen grout line in white or of light greyish in color?haha..guess what my kitchen grout came out when i vacumm the place. Plus the "new" white grout@ my living area also gone after the vacumming. Told the HDB contractor about it. They had the sheepish look. Think its proof of their shoddy work, yet again. Now i had to postpone all my furniture delivery till they redo the grout. Edited March 10, 2008 by rav3n Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
crazygirl48 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 haha..guess what my kitchen grout came out when i vacumm the place. Plus the "new" white grout@ my living area also gone after the vacumming. Told the HDB contractor about it. They had the sheepish look. Think its proof of their shoddy work, yet again. Now i had to postpone all my furniture delivery till they redo the grout. Serious!My grout just redone today...Hubby said they haven't done the polish yet and the whole place is very powdery...Looks like defects cannot be done properly..Sigh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
haroldism 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 haha..guess what my kitchen grout came out when i vacumm the place. Plus the "new" white grout@ my living area also gone after the vacumming. Told the HDB contractor about it. They had the sheepish look. Think its proof of their shoddy work, yet again. Now i had to postpone all my furniture delivery till they redo the grout. same problem as you~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rav3n 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 same problem as you~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
popeye gal 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 rav3n,how long does the HDB take to finish all the defect check and redo everything? would like to know roughly how long for them to process.. for meet up on site checks... and else, till they finish all our defect? Just submit our defect list... for the Floor grout stain, if came out again how? No point wasting our time on that redo & redo again.. Dun't know want HDB to redo my stain grout. Why can't they do a perfect job. Anybody had their floor grout redo and did not came off? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rav3n 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 rav3n,how long does the HDB take to finish all the defect check and redo everything? would like to know roughly how long for them to process.. for meet up on site checks... and else, till they finish all our defect? Just submit our defect list... for the Floor grout stain, if came out again how? No point wasting our time on that redo & redo again.. Dun't know want HDB to redo my stain grout. Why can't they do a perfect job. Anybody had their floor grout redo and did not came off?Once you submitted the online defects list, you should receive an sms with the HDB officer contact number. You can call the officer during office hrs to ask whether they gotten your defects list and also arrange the inspection. Think can give them a reasonable deadline to complete ur defects, say you have to move in earlier or something. Hee Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
haroldism 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2008 btw, the chipped off grout will be done by our ID, requested by me n graciegal. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2008 Harlow rav3n & haroldism....I oso haf a problem w my grouting, in fact, my contractor redo my grouting for me 3times so Im pretty sure its nt workmanship prob on my end....until Im so familiar w the process liao cuz I sat there to watch the contractor redo. To this day, Im not sure why the tiles wont "eat" the powder oso.... (mabbe tile quality?)Wat they did was use the "white" powder thing n dust all over the grouts, dun thk we r supposed to touch them/wash them for a day. I suggest u dun vacuum so fast, let it settle first. Now after like 6mths of moving in & massive mopping, some of the grouts still came off le....the same spots that wont "eat"...My tiling is by my own contractor as its a standard unit, but my tiles just wont "eat". They say its very "dry"....Thk there's a wet version of dis grouting for DIY purpose, bght it but hafnt had time to try on my tiles at all....not reali possible nw oso due to my puppy... Just to share, hope u can find a reason for dis grouting thgy too...Im still very curious Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
haroldism 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2008 Harlow rav3n & haroldism....I oso haf a problem w my grouting, in fact, my contractor redo my grouting for me 3times so Im pretty sure its nt workmanship prob on my end....until Im so familiar w the process liao cuz I sat there to watch the contractor redo. To this day, Im not sure why the tiles wont "eat" the powder oso.... (mabbe tile quality?)Wat they did was use the "white" powder thing n dust all over the grouts, dun thk we r supposed to touch them/wash them for a day. I suggest u dun vacuum so fast, let it settle first. Now after like 6mths of moving in & massive mopping, some of the grouts still came off le....the same spots that wont "eat"...My tiling is by my own contractor as its a standard unit, but my tiles just wont "eat". They say its very "dry"....Thk there's a wet version of dis grouting for DIY purpose, bght it but hafnt had time to try on my tiles at all....not reali possible nw oso due to my puppy... Just to share, hope u can find a reason for dis grouting thgy too...Im still very curious greycat, thax for the info... hmmm... i will see how bah... if in the future, the grout still chipped off, den i gotto get a carpet and cover those problem area le... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2008 No prob...jus to share & hope we can find a reason la.... The guy who redo the grouting like 3 times for me, say my tiles too dry to "eat" ....dunno isit our area since our flats all built same time type....Or cld be just that batch of tiles no good?..... Actually, dun reali care abt the grouting after move in liao...I got sme fine crack line on paint oso, thk too dry reali, haha....mabbe its the Jurong environment? Anyways, b4 reno, all defect will look very big & uncomfortable but after u move in & stay ored, sme of them wont be so obvious wan. Its mre a mentality thing cuz we always expect our newly renovated hse to be 100% perfect since we pay so much for it....Good luck to ur renos! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites