Hi guys

I hv already paid abt 85% of my reno. Still hv outstanding of 15% to be made to my ID.

Hw do I actually "talk" or "neg" with my ID to give discounts on the final payment?

I realised his workers damaged my parquet flooring (some parts), work were delayed, some small items missing in the mist of renovating, some carpentary work done wrongly then got to redo, etc...

Hw shld I go abt telling him b4 I actually paid him since he is still clearing some outstanding work...

Hi guys

I hv already paid abt 85% of my reno. Still hv outstanding of 15% to be made to my ID.

Hw do I actually "talk" or "neg" with my ID to give discounts on the final payment?

I realised his workers damaged my parquet flooring (some parts), work were delayed, some small items missing in the mist of renovating, some carpentary work done wrongly then got to redo, etc...

Hw shld I go abt telling him b4 I actually paid him since he is still clearing some outstanding work...

Of coz! He should hand over to u swee swee condition

Edited by Jliow

Guest sugarmeg
Of coz! He should hand over to u swee swee condition

Hi Jliow can explain more on the type of condition the hse should be after reno. 1 of my colleague hse looks pretty at first. but upon closer inspection we found many ugly knick knacks like squashed up silicon in a corner n drawers that dun really roll out smoothly n the list just goes on enough to fill an A4.

can advice as we are finding it hard to find a good id/contractor.

thx in advance

To be fair, we should not hold back payment from the ID/contractors if they had done a good job. This is to ensure a healthy relationship within the industry, so that everyone will be happy.

If there are defects in their works, do give them the chance to rectify them by pointing them out. If unable to rectify or compromise, then talk about discounts as the last resort. This way, you would be seen as a gentleman because you had already given them a chance and they cannot complain that you are trying to cut their payments.

Guest sugarmeg

thx zirhk. its a real hassle having to hagggle n tussle over defects here & there but i guess its part n parcel of a reno. Ultimately customers tend to lose out if they stand their ground firmly n demand payment aggresively. jus hope to minimise this

How big are the defects? If they are really jialat then u gotta let ur ID noe, n work it out.

But most gd IDs will do settle swee swee for all the small nitty gritty defects one, even few mths later u call him, he will still provide the service back to u. Why, cuz of referal business as well...

If play hardball to much, after hand over liao, u wanna ask him for help also v hard.

Actually if there are really alot of defects, u can always tell the id and ask them do nice nice back for u one. As for those redo stuffs, at least they got redo for u ma. Or maybe ur id haven really finish touching up yet? Maybe u discuss with him/her first?

So far my id also tell me wat we see not gd can always tell him and he will ask his workers to do nice nice back for us. For designer they sure help u one cuz like wat weiht says, they will also scared it affects their referral business.. Anyway since u haven made ur last payment, tell ur id abt the defects and maybe made payment after all the defects are done? =)

Edited by GraCieGaL

To be fair, we should not hold back payment from the ID/contractors if they had done a good job. This is to ensure a healthy relationship within the industry, so that everyone will be happy.

If there are defects in their works, do give them the chance to rectify them by pointing them out. If unable to rectify or compromise, then talk about discounts as the last resort. This way, you would be seen as a gentleman because you had already given them a chance and they cannot complain that you are trying to cut their payments.

yeah, i second this. if u ask too much discount / dun pay when u r suppose to, they may pour cement and choke ur pipes b4 they hand over. some will damage the back of ur toilet bowls and places u dun really go and check often... u never hear of such incidents b4 mah..

Edited by mud3210