Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 best thing is BE WEALTHY. can pay everything in full.. haha.. *dreaming*WAKE UP ALREADY! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 We are back to a more serious topic.. Can we talk about something less stressing? I think that I am having problems breathing liao.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 hmm....hubby has such thots too but we still cant decide which is a better way...coz the feeling of being loan-free is too tempting Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 Ya but if you invest your CPF, and you find one day choy choy lose job, just liquidate your investments to clear your housing loan if need be....provided dun suay suay lose lah....CPF is good on one hand that, govt forces you to kp aside a sum of money so that in future, you can support your kids' education and buy a flat...imagine if govt didn't impose such rules, then u think most of us can afford to buy a flat meh?? Cos not all of us have the discipline to set aside a sum of money each month....on the other hand, i feel it's stupid to have them lock our money like that...after all, it's our hard-earned money...how come they kp imposing such rules to lock the money inside I dun understand...apart from investing, its good to set aside each person at least 6mths contribution, so can draw on your reserves first before your investment.. and invest into global equities some portion so the downside risks is more spread out.. lose also won't lose as other markets/sectors. But its true that the CPF gives singaporeans options with regards to education/housing which if not imposed, we might not be able to afford housing / a decent education. government is worried that ppl will anyhow spent their money. but it should be proven that the singaporeans who can manage their funds be allowed a mandate to invest their monies to generate a return as compared to leaving inside the Retirement Account.We are back to a more serious topic.. Can we talk about something less stressing? I think that I am having problems breathing liao.. got so cham anot.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 got so cham anot..i tink is coz her hair is covering all over her face dat's why she cant breathe properly!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 hmm....hubby has such thots too but we still cant decide which is a better way...coz the feeling of being loan-free is too temptingdo your sums, you'll understand.I'lll give an example but won't dwell on it.. kat is going to zzzz already.. lol..A) i give you 100,000 today.B) 10,500 each year for ten years.What option will you choose?The answer is 100,000 today. Time value of money means that with the amount today, which is lessor, I'll be able make my money generate more. As compared to payments over the years. Hence, if you service your loan and pay x amount of interest but your investments generate 7%p.a. for 25years vs. the traditional, you'll only start amassing funds AFTER the loan is paid, but I'll have alot more funds. say example you have a fully paid HDB and 50k CPF balance at the end. I have a loan of 100k left but 200,000k CPF balance.. i every year try to achieve 10% gains.. means 20k compounding... your 50k to generate 20k is 40%.. so go figure on the math..ok.. end of story..i tink is coz her hair is covering all over her face dat's why she cant breathe properly!! who else have long hair?xinyi i know.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 thanks uncle Pbut with the state of current market, it is not easy to predict the returns, is it?and of course to every investment, there's certain element of risk involved...who else have long hair?xinyi i know..Air's hair can cover half of her face!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 thanks uncle Pbut with the state of current market, it is not easy to predict the returns, is it?and of course to every investment, there's certain element of risk involved...Air's hair can cover half of her face!! Hahaha....ehh fifi, you jealous your hair now cannot cover your face liao har?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 thanks uncle Pbut with the state of current market, it is not easy to predict the returns, is it?and of course to every investment, there's certain element of risk involved...I think is not as bad ba.. wait for the lowest and pick up some cheap stuffs from the market.. and just leave it there and let it grow.. actually i am a lousy investor.. i got cpf investment but nv go keep track.. haha.. if want status i just sms my FA. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 Hahaha....ehh fifi, you jealous your hair now cannot cover your face liao har?? no lah...i dun wanna be zhen zi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 (edited) thanks uncle Pbut with the state of current market, it is not easy to predict the returns, is it?and of course to every investment, there's certain element of risk involved...Recessions clear up financial mess. This you have to believe. All equities will move up in time with inflation.As long as you believe in fundamentals, you won't go wrong. There's something called Price / Earnings."Value investors have always considered the price earnings ratio (p/e ratio for short) a useful metric for evaluating the relative attractiveness of a company's stock price. Made popular by the late Benjamin Graham, who was dubbed the "Father of Value Investing" as well as Warren Buffett's mentor, Graham preached the virtues of this financial ratio as one of the quickest and easiest ways to determine if a stock is trading on an investment or speculative basis."adapted from www.about.comTheoratically, a higher Price Earning / PE means that its the stock is trading "expensive" to its stock price and vice versa.Europe is trading around 13x to 14x PE.. which is cheap considering europe trades easily around 19x PE.US and Japan are trading around 17x to 18x PE, which is also considered cheap.China's valuations are much higher as with India, but the forward earnings looks possible to support growth.Eastern europe is around 12x PE which is also considered cheap from a valuation perspective.Its not easily to predict returns but then again, always buy on dips. but not small dips hor.. lol... Edited January 22, 2008 by Phantom Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 Recessions clear up financial mess. This you have to believe. All equities will move up in time with inflation.As long as you believe in fundamentals, you won't go wrong. There's something called Price / Earnings."Value investors have always considered the price earnings ratio (p/e ratio for short) a useful metric for evaluating the relative attractiveness of a company's stock price. Made popular by the late Benjamin Graham, who was dubbed the "Father of Value Investing" as well as Warren Buffett's mentor, Graham preached the virtues of this financial ratio as one of the quickest and easiest ways to determine if a stock is trading on an investment or speculative basis."adapted from www.about.comTheoratically, a higher Price Earning / PE means that its the stock is trading "expensive" to its stock price and vice versa.Europe is trading around 13x to 14x PE.. which is cheap considering europe trades easily around 19x PE.US and Japan are trading around 17x to 18x PE, which is also considered cheap.China's valuations are much higher as with India, but the forward earnings looks possible to support growth.Eastern europe is around 12x PE which is also considered cheap from a valuation perspective.Its not easily to predict returns but then again, always buy on dips. but not small dips hor.. lol...argh.. how wish i have money in cpf now.. good time to buy some funds now.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 argh.. how wish i have money in cpf now.. good time to buy some funds now.. lol.. yeah.. me too.. get ready to wack the market..i always buy on dips one.. min must be 15% to 20% .. luuuuut the market.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 lol.. yeah.. me too.. get ready to wack the market..i always buy on dips one.. min must be 15% to 20% .. luuuuut the market..ya man.. my dad always say dip many many then buy..maybe i should consider those UT with min 1k.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 i tink will go lower... so dun buy first Share this post Link to post Share on other sites