xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 i am very grumpy today.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 Actually hor, why do ppl bother abt brand so much?!?! It costs more and is not necessarily better than generic or less popular brands leh....unless you are looking for fanciful designs, then perhaps branded ones have more selection....the most popular one is TAK laminates...but i dun really like their designs lah.....up to you seriously, i dun give a da mn abt brands i asked coz i thot it is impt... my fren kept telling me to engage ID blah blah blah... saying contractors give lower quotations but the laminate they use is not branded and so not good but for hubby and i, we do not give a da mn care abt brandings!! as long as the material can last, it is all it matters... very stressed out by this fren of mine... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 i am very grumpy today.. si mi dai ji? Y grumpy?!? Cheer up! seriously, i dun give a da mn abt brands i asked coz i thot it is impt... my fren kept telling me to engage ID blah blah blah... saying contractors give lower quotations but the laminate they use is not branded and so not good but for hubby and i, we do not give a da mn care abt brandings!! as long as the material can last, it is all it matters... very stressed out by this fren of mine... 名牌不一定好,好的不一定名牌. Don't care what your friend said lah....many ppl are too caught up with the brands thingy when it comes to reno....my house laminates, solid surface blah blah all not branded, but still serving me well...you can have a house full of branded laminates, solid surface, tiles blah blah but if you don't maintain, then it would look no better than one that's well-maintained without "branded" items...if you have the budget and really like a particular brand of laminates, then go for it. Otherwise, don't waste money...long term, all that you see is a complete house, not the individual brand of the materials used.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 名牌不一定好,好的不一定名牌. Don't care what your friend said lah....many ppl are too caught up with the brands thingy when it comes to reno....my house laminates, solid surface blah blah all not branded, but still serving me well...you can have a house full of branded laminates, solid surface, tiles blah blah but if you don't maintain, then it would look no better than one that's well-maintained without "branded" items...if you have the budget and really like a particular brand of laminates, then go for it. Otherwise, don't waste money...long term, all that you see is a complete house, not the individual brand of the materials used.... well said!! haizz... it's not that i go and ask her abt such stuff but she will just call me and ask me how's my reno etc etc i know she meant well but to me it's a form of stress coz her method of handling is different from mine... i see it differently as her as well told her yesterday that she is stressing me she said it's best to get HDB licensed contractor. understand her pt. had oso asked hubby abt it yesterday. however, hubby thot little of it. to him, the responsiveness and the responsibility and quotation of the contractor matters more than licensing... it's just purely different views but sometimes i feel dat my fren is enforcing her views on me.. when she was deciding on her wedding banquet venue, i did gave her my suggestion but i didnt enforce my belief on her. she wanted to choose GCW vs. HIPV. i advised her to choose HIPV but she was swaying in between. after i've said my piece, i did not ask her abt the matter again... but still, i'm glad that she made her choice for HIPV not that i dun appreciate her advices etc, but sometimes i feel that those advices given is not within my consideration and not to certain extent, impt to me... now she's telling me to buy the fridge... but i havent settle my contractor yet! placed order for the fridge if after dat find that dimension cannot fit then how?? i oso no mood to buy other things before i settled my contractor.. sorry for the rant here... i'm feeling frustrated too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 si mi dai ji? Y grumpy?!? Cheer up! 名牌不一定好,好的不一定名牌. Don't care what your friend said lah....many ppl are too caught up with the brands thingy when it comes to reno....my house laminates, solid surface blah blah all not branded, but still serving me well...you can have a house full of branded laminates, solid surface, tiles blah blah but if you don't maintain, then it would look no better than one that's well-maintained without "branded" items...if you have the budget and really like a particular brand of laminates, then go for it. Otherwise, don't waste money...long term, all that you see is a complete house, not the individual brand of the materials used.... dunno why grumpy also.. i agree with Air ah.. obivously i cant rem any brand names of my home stuffs.. because i dont care.. except for eletrical stuffs and the famous brand ikea.. and also is the workmanship counts lah.. not the brand.. good brand but contractor anyhow glue the laminates.. also jialat.. once you see your own house slowly build up.. you will feel really satisfied.. even though is ikea stuffs.. last weekend my lazy hubby at last build up our bedside tables.. although is cheap things.. see it slowly build up.. got 'man zhu gan'. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 (edited) well said!! haizz... it's not that i go and ask her abt such stuff but she will just call me and ask me how's my reno etc etc i know she meant well but to me it's a form of stress coz her method of handling is different from mine... i see it differently as her as well told her yesterday that she is stressing me she said it's best to get HDB licensed contractor. understand her pt. had oso asked hubby abt it yesterday. however, hubby thot little of it. to him, the responsiveness and the responsibility and quotation of the contractor matters more than licensing... it's just purely different views but sometimes i feel dat my fren is enforcing her views on me.. when she was deciding on her wedding banquet venue, i did gave her my suggestion but i didnt enforce my belief on her. she wanted to choose GCW vs. HIPV. i advised her to choose HIPV but she was swaying in between. after i've said my piece, i did not ask her abt the matter again... but still, i'm glad that she made her choice for HIPV not that i dun appreciate her advices etc, but sometimes i feel that those advices given is not within my consideration and not to certain extent, impt to me... now she's telling me to buy the fridge... but i havent settle my contractor yet! placed order for the fridge if after dat find that dimension cannot fit then how?? i oso no mood to buy other things before i settled my contractor.. sorry for the rant here... i'm feeling frustrated too No worries...we are all here to share Don't let your friend pressure you. Ultimately, it's your house, not hers. Just tell her that you don't care abt brands, to you, it's just a waste of money. What matters most is quality. Branded doesn't mean good quality. Tell her that....i think i would be very pi ssed off if any of my friends imposed their thinking on me. If everyone thinks like her, then the world would be a very boring place right?? Do what you are comfortable with. The one you should listen to and discuss with is your husband, not an outsider. Actually, I wouldn't even bother with such friend, I would just tell her off even if she's a da mn good friend. dunno why grumpy also.. i agree with Air ah.. obivously i cant rem any brand names of my home stuffs.. because i dont care.. except for eletrical stuffs and the famous brand ikea.. and also is the workmanship counts lah.. not the brand.. good brand but contractor anyhow glue the laminates.. also jialat.. once you see your own house slowly build up.. you will feel really satisfied.. even though is ikea stuffs.. last weekend my lazy hubby at last build up our bedside tables.. although is cheap things.. see it slowly build up.. got 'man zhu gan'. Ya agree! The only brand I remember I have in my house is IKEA! Most branded one Edited May 27, 2008 by Air Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 (edited) well said!! haizz... it's not that i go and ask her abt such stuff but she will just call me and ask me how's my reno etc etc i know she meant well but to me it's a form of stress coz her method of handling is different from mine... i see it differently as her as well told her yesterday that she is stressing me she said it's best to get HDB licensed contractor. understand her pt. had oso asked hubby abt it yesterday. however, hubby thot little of it. to him, the responsiveness and the responsibility and quotation of the contractor matters more than licensing... it's just purely different views but sometimes i feel dat my fren is enforcing her views on me.. when she was deciding on her wedding banquet venue, i did gave her my suggestion but i didnt enforce my belief on her. she wanted to choose GCW vs. HIPV. i advised her to choose HIPV but she was swaying in between. after i've said my piece, i did not ask her abt the matter again... but still, i'm glad that she made her choice for HIPV not that i dun appreciate her advices etc, but sometimes i feel that those advices given is not within my consideration and not to certain extent, impt to me... now she's telling me to buy the fridge... but i havent settle my contractor yet! placed order for the fridge if after dat find that dimension cannot fit then how?? i oso no mood to buy other things before i settled my contractor.. sorry for the rant here... i'm feeling frustrated too dont worry.. just rant at nobody business at here.. my msn is open for you.. maybe dont ask her for advise lor.. you can ask us ah.. Like Air gone through full reno.. she will know things better ya.. still got ppl like Devailz and uncle P.. Ya agree! The only brand I remember I have in my house is IKEA! Most branded one btw, i bought 2 bedside lamps from ikea.. simple and nice.. i feel nicer than the main ceiling light in my MBR.. confirm ikea most branded.. almost every singaporean know this brand! Edited May 27, 2008 by xinyi_reiko Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 dont worry.. just rant at nobody business at here.. my msn is open for you.. maybe dont ask her for advise lor.. you can ask us ah.. Like Air gone through full reno.. she will know things better ya.. still got ppl like Devailz and uncle P.. btw, i bought 2 bedside lamps from ikea.. simple and nice.. i feel nicer than the main ceiling light in my MBR.. confirm ikea most branded.. almost every singaporean know this brand! thanks... really appreciate u gals here i never ask her for advise leh!!!!! serious!!! never at all but she kept con demning contractors this is something that i'm not happy with coz for my house, it's da mn small and i dun see why i need to pay more just to get those designers in and those designers do not guarantee good workmanship!! that was wat i told her the ting i cant stand abt her is that she kept telling me to fork out a bit more $$ to engage an ID not that we cannot afford the $$. it's just that we do not see the need!!! why do i have to spend on something that i have to do?? she said engage ID then no need to go jaga with the schedule etc... but yet she pop down her new house once every 2 days and she asked me if i do that anot... pengzz... it seems to me she is comparing for the sake of comparing... so i asked her since she is still not feeling safe leaving the job to the ID then might as well engage a contractor loh! nowadays, some contractors do provide service as wat ID do! both have their strength of course. but from wat i see, if u need a design in the house, get an ID. coz ID is good in designing and proj mgmt. but if u just need someone to do the house, then get a contractor! btw, she read thru threads in here too... i still treat her as my good fren but i hope if she's reading this thread, please know that u're pressurizing me... i have to jaga with my family and adapt to my new job. i dun have the energy and strength to go get many many quotations and i feel that isnt a need to... to each his own... we're oso tinking of getting certain things from Ikea Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 dont worry.. just rant at nobody business at here.. my msn is open for you.. maybe dont ask her for advise lor.. you can ask us ah.. Like Air gone through full reno.. she will know things better ya.. still got ppl like Devailz and uncle P.. btw, i bought 2 bedside lamps from ikea.. simple and nice.. i feel nicer than the main ceiling light in my MBR.. confirm ikea most branded.. almost every singaporean know this brand! Ehh I got my 2 bedside lamps from IKEA too....they were my most satisfied purchase....cos only $4.90 each Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 ok.. your post very long to quote.. you say you damm free lah.. got plenty of them to coordinate reno works.. there is no right or wrong to have ID or contractor. I rem seeing a forumer in sg brides.. he really self coordinate, using contractor, electrian.. his house is really good. personal preferences lah.. tell her stop forcing you. everyone sure will go to ikea to buy some stuffs.. i love shopping there.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 Morning gers.. Saw many long long replies.. Fifi, hope that you will be able to find the ideal contractor soon.. No need to worry about what your friend had commented.. I also used contractor.. It's about the quality of their work that you should be looking at, not the name or brand.. Jiayou and don't let your friend affects you.. I also wanted to make a trip to Ikea soon.. I love walking around, even if I only end up buying 1 or 2 small items.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 ok.. your post very long to quote.. you say you damm free lah.. got plenty of them to coordinate reno works.. there is no right or wrong to have ID or contractor. I rem seeing a forumer in sg brides.. he really self coordinate, using contractor, electrian.. his house is really good. personal preferences lah.. tell her stop forcing you. everyone sure will go to ikea to buy some stuffs.. i love shopping there.. yup... agreed cannot say i da mn free wait she pull me to get more quotes... assassin is also self coordinating everything on his own... i believe it's how u want the house to be loh to me, just want it to be cosy and simple for maintenance... dun really need designer stuff... probably i'm more practical... me too!! love looking at Ikea stuff!! must go there again with hubby sometime coz he only finished half of the showroom the last time he went there not forgetting still got courts leh!! thanks gals for the consolation... and sorry for the long posts! eh... wanna have some gatherings at Tampines Ikea?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 thanks... really appreciate u gals here i never ask her for advise leh!!!!! serious!!! never at all but she kept con demning contractors this is something that i'm not happy with coz for my house, it's da mn small and i dun see why i need to pay more just to get those designers in and those designers do not guarantee good workmanship!! that was wat i told her the ting i cant stand abt her is that she kept telling me to fork out a bit more $$ to engage an ID not that we cannot afford the $$. it's just that we do not see the need!!! why do i have to spend on something that i have to do?? she said engage ID then no need to go jaga with the schedule etc... but yet she pop down her new house once every 2 days and she asked me if i do that anot... pengzz... it seems to me she is comparing for the sake of comparing... so i asked her since she is still not feeling safe leaving the job to the ID then might as well engage a contractor loh! nowadays, some contractors do provide service as wat ID do! both have their strength of course. but from wat i see, if u need a design in the house, get an ID. coz ID is good in designing and proj mgmt. but if u just need someone to do the house, then get a contractor! btw, she read thru threads in here too... i still treat her as my good fren but i hope if she's reading this thread, please know that u're pressurizing me... i have to jaga with my family and adapt to my new job. i dun have the energy and strength to go get many many quotations and i feel that isnt a need to... to each his own... we're oso tinking of getting certain things from Ikea It's a matter of needs vs wants....hers is obviously wants....while you are more concerned with needs.... Cannot compare... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 i dont like to go ikea with hubby.. he will stop me from buying things.. ah bo we organise a gathering at ikea lah.. Alexander branch one.. that time i go their cafe close down for reno. :~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2008 yup... agreed cannot say i da mn free wait she pull me to get more quotes... assassin is also self coordinating everything on his own... i believe it's how u want the house to be loh to me, just want it to be cosy and simple for maintenance... dun really need designer stuff... probably i'm more practical... me too!! love looking at Ikea stuff!! must go there again with hubby sometime coz he only finished half of the showroom the last time he went there not forgetting still got courts leh!! thanks gals for the consolation... and sorry for the long posts! eh... wanna have some gatherings at Tampines Ikea?? U and kat can go IKEA tampines and gather...me and xinyi go IKEA Alexandra and gather....on Sat at 3pm sharp, let's call each other and erm..gather... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites