xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2008 Ya agree with xinyi...tourism board so what?? Don't tell me everytime there's some big shot coming to ask to host event at the hotel, the hotel will ask its customers to shift their date meh?? They think wedding date is anyhow anyhow can say shift means shift one meh!?!? Where is their business integrity?? I can't believe this.. me too.. even lui pai tan also must fight back.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2008 Phantom.. i feel you should make your stand.. tourism board is not your biz.. wedding is a once lifetime thingy.. they should be customer oriented.. not suka suka push away a wedding event. be firm to them.. at the same time.. check for alternatives in other hotels as backup. threaten to cancel the wedding to take back the deposit.. if ask for compensation... tell them 15 Feb 09 is a auspicious date for both of you. dont give way to them. just came back from oriental hotel.. i never make my coordinator suffer.. instead he pampered us by giving us a treat in The Melt cafe.. so nice of him... i feel my wedding in his safe hands... yeah... i know.. they say will get back to me. I dunno lah.. if really they cancel and don't wanna compensate also no choice.. will discuss with them and see what they say.. other hotels sure expensive also.. in 2009 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2008 Ya agree with xinyi...tourism board so what?? Don't tell me everytime there's some big shot coming to ask to host event at the hotel, the hotel will ask its customers to shift their date meh?? They think wedding date is anyhow anyhow can say shift means shift one meh!?!? Where is their business integrity?? I can't believe this.. i dunno man.. sometimes i guess its like that... thats why i told them i really want my date.. i'm not biggie on holding on another day even if its a saturday.. unless they come with a **** good offer i cannot say no. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 boh pian leh. they say got other events doing so want me to reschedule i also dunno leh.. but its fustrating .. 15 Feb so nice.. 1 day after valentines day wor.. My wedding date also 1 day before V day.. Mine on the 13th Feb, but 2008... Yup, agree with you that's a nice date.. Sigh.. I also thin so but how.. what if they refund me money nia.. then i need to find another hotel.. jialat leh. Tourism board important anot? lol.. i told them to give me options lor.. sigh.. anyway they say charge me same price but shift me to saturday one and 1/2 month later.. but then.. its like no meaning lor.. i don't fancy saturday wedding dinner also.. i dunno man.. sometimes i guess its like that... thats why i told them i really want my date.. i'm not biggie on holding on another day even if its a saturday.. unless they come with a **** good offer i cannot say no. Which hotel is yours? Actually for my case, the hotel also called me up, hoping for me to take another ballroom instead of the one we chose. The reason was, they wanted to carry out renovation of that ballroom 2 weeks earlier.. The last event to be hold in that ballroom is the last day of Feb.. Renovation starts on 1st March.. But even so, they actually offered us $30 bucks off each table if we agreed to changing ballroom.. But same date.. We refused and stick to our original choice of ballroom.. And till date, we did not regret.. I guess, you really gonna be firm, especially if you really like that ballroom and date.. If they die die wanna cancel on you, then ask for compensation.. If rejected, propose sending and email to them and said you WILL cc the media like The Newpaper and Today etc.. They won't want bad publicity.. Public's confidence will drop.. They will know the outcome.. They proposed to you instead to the other party on changing date coz you represent yourself, whereas the other party represent a whole.. Don't give in.. Fight for your rights.. Jiayou!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 morning ppl.. My wedding date also 1 day before V day.. Mine on the 13th Feb, but 2008... Yup, agree with you that's a nice date.. Which hotel is yours? Actually for my case, the hotel also called me up, hoping for me to take another ballroom instead of the one we chose. The reason was, they wanted to carry out renovation of that ballroom 2 weeks earlier.. The last event to be hold in that ballroom is the last day of Feb.. Renovation starts on 1st March.. But even so, they actually offered us $30 bucks off each table if we agreed to changing ballroom.. But same date.. We refused and stick to our original choice of ballroom.. And till date, we did not regret.. I guess, you really gonna be firm, especially if you really like that ballroom and date.. If they die die wanna cancel on you, then ask for compensation.. If rejected, propose sending and email to them and said you WILL cc the media like The Newpaper and Today etc.. They won't want bad publicity.. Public's confidence will drop.. They will know the outcome.. They proposed to you instead to the other party on changing date coz you represent yourself, whereas the other party represent a whole.. Don't give in.. Fight for your rights.. Jiayou!! kat, uncle P's hotel is the one beside zouk.. sorry dunno how to spell ahh.. i agree with what you said.. a wedding banquet can make alot of revenue. last time, when i was working as waitress for 6 mths during sch days.. the manage there said.. they will rather do a banquet.. because involves alot of revenues.. if they dont want loose face.. go ahead and cancel yours lor.. see who wins.. some things really cannot chin chye.. after meeting up with my coordinator, i feel excited and nervous liao.. left 1 mth.. counting down.. hehehe.. gals you have any ideas how to display photos at recep areas.. i want to display hardcopies of my PS photos, unselected ones.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 morning ppl.. kat, uncle P's hotel is the one beside zouk.. sorry dunno how to spell ahh.. i agree with what you said.. a wedding banquet can make alot of revenue. last time, when i was working as waitress for 6 mths during sch days.. the manage there said.. they will rather do a banquet.. because involves alot of revenues.. if they dont want loose face.. go ahead and cancel yours lor.. see who wins.. some things really cannot chin chye.. after meeting up with my coordinator, i feel excited and nervous liao.. left 1 mth.. counting down.. hehehe.. gals you have any ideas how to display photos at recep areas.. i want to display hardcopies of my PS photos, unselected ones.. Whoa.. I know!! That was my initial choice.. Rem I told you guys I nearly sign that? Until I accompanied my friend to Meritus Mandarin for HER own banquet.. Then I fell in love with the ballroom.. Display photos? Hard copies? Abit weird leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 Whoa.. I know!! That was my initial choice.. Rem I told you guys I nearly sign that? Until I accompanied my friend to Meritus Mandarin for HER own banquet.. Then I fell in love with the ballroom.. Display photos? Hard copies? Abit weird leh.. Ya lor..i think it's so ridiculous that the hotel will actually ask the soon-to-be-wed couple to change their date...they tao nao pai ar.....uncle p, geh geh ar with them..... Besides mentioning the media, can mention that you go into forums also...forums is a da mn powerful tool.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 hello gals! ya, phantom, dun give in to them i know that hotel. can say out here? it's Grand Copthorne Waterfront. quite near to my work place Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 Ya lor..i think it's so ridiculous that the hotel will actually ask the soon-to-be-wed couple to change their date...they tao nao pai ar.....uncle p, geh geh ar with them..... Besides mentioning the media, can mention that you go into forums also...forums is a da mn powerful tool.... yaya.. especially sg brides forum.. i believe this is the only wedding forum that is powerful enough.. other wedding forums pretty quiet and cmi.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 yaya.. especially sg brides forum.. i believe this is the only wedding forum that is powerful enough.. other wedding forums pretty quiet and cmi.. My friend contemplating GCW also...i think i shd warn her abt this kind of matter.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 My friend contemplating GCW also...i think i shd warn her abt this kind of matter.... i tink my fren was considering this hotel too dunno if she had signed up coz her date is somewhere in nov this yr boss just called me gotta go look for him now Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 i dunno man.. sometimes i guess its like that... thats why i told them i really want my date.. i'm not biggie on holding on another day even if its a saturday.. unless they come with a **** good offer i cannot say no. yo Phantom, if you had already placed the deposit with them and received confirmation in black and white that the date is for your wedding, then they should not have the cheek to ask you to change your date although probably in the fine print, they reserve the right to. It's plain service courtesy. Corporate functions are held annually. Weddings are once in a lifetime for probably all if not most of us. But I think they have gone through so many wedding events that such events become impersonal or they have become impersonal to wedding events. Hotels is all about service service service. If they can even have the cheek to ask me to change date, goes to show something is very wrong in their corporate DNA already. Thank god I did not get such nonsense from mine, what you are facing is unacceptable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 My friend contemplating GCW also...i think i shd warn her abt this kind of matter.... Ya you should! dont play play.. this hotel is one of the popular hotels for banquets.. they better dont try anything funny. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 yo Phantom, if you had already placed the deposit with them and received confirmation in black and white that the date is for your wedding, then they should not have the cheek to ask you to change your date although probably in the fine print, they reserve the right to. It's plain service courtesy. Corporate functions are held annually. Weddings are once in a lifetime for probably all if not most of us. But I think they have gone through so many wedding events that such events become impersonal or they have become impersonal to wedding events. Hotels is all about service service service. If they can even have the cheek to ask me to change date, goes to show something is very wrong in their corporate DNA already. Thank god I did not get such nonsense from mine, what you are facing is unacceptable. Agree agree! I got to repeat again, this is ridiculous! Simply cannot believe that the hotel had the cheek to ask uncle P to change date.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 Agree agree! I got to repeat again, this is ridiculous! Simply cannot believe that the hotel had the cheek to ask uncle P to change date.... very sian leh.. find something to talk leh.. zz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites