Phantom

Housewarming Invite

i agree with you.. is either that they just cant pull themselves away from sch.. or they just anyhow grab jobs... just to test try, earn some money..

1 more thing i also realised.. that nowadays young ppl dont even have part time job experience.. just like my brother, always nua at home during holidays.. :jawdrop::notti:

I rem last time after 'O' levels, all of us are like searching for part-time jobs to do..

Ya lor.. True also leh.. My 1st job is also straight after O'levels..

i agree with you.. is either that they just cant pull themselves away from sch.. or they just anyhow grab jobs... just to test try, earn some money..

1 more thing i also realised.. that nowadays young ppl dont even have part time job experience.. just like my brother, always nua at home during holidays.. :jawdrop::notti:

I rem last time after 'O' levels, all of us are like searching for part-time jobs to do..

Ya lor...i rem when i got my first pay, it felt good to be able to spend my own money....

I haven't gotten any allowance from my parents since after sec sch....only except when i'm really really broke....

Yup.. I totally agree with you.. Entry level jobs, ppl won't attempt to stay long.. Medium level jobs, ppl constantly ask for pay increment.. Tend to job hop.. High posts ppl always seek for better offers outside, hoping for lesser jobs at the same time..

Then did you tell your management about your findings?

Actually, to have certain certs and qualifications is good.. But it also must be complete with an opportunity to land a good job, together with a fabulous salary package..

hmm i like the way you the way you said.. :notti:

no lah.. we nv said... i dont like to say such things one.. today just happen that the juniors nv joined us for lunch.. just the pioneers.. :jawdrop:

I agree education is impt lah....but study all the way to PHD without any working experience is not a very wise decision...cos by the time he comes out to work, already 30 yrs old...then no working experience, who will dare to emply him?? My colleague said he's afraid of coming out to work...what da?!?

Aiyoh he's a man leh...come on....:jawdrop:

I always believed in being street-smart, you can study until doctorate blah blah but come out stupid stupid also no use....:notti:

Ya i major in banking and finance.....which i regret....8|

Why regret? I got many friends dying to work in banks.. Saying that working in banks like very power and classy.. :rofl:

You are from NUS ar?

Maybe still young and just fresh grads...so mind still not settled on having to work for a living yet...

I know many fresh grads come out to work liao then later quite citing wanting to further studies as an excuse to siam work....they just cannot pull themselves away from the comfortable school environment...

I got a coll, her bf is in NUS, 4 years engr course....in dean's list....then he said after that, he want to continute to study till PHD...another 4 years....but come out liao, zero experience who want to hire??

Over-qualified....this kind only govt sector dare to employ...:jawdrop:

sounds like my fren's hubby in terms of work experience and education level

he's now working in govt agencies loh...

Please leh.. Your current job can progress further leh.. To senior, to manager etc.. Recept how to advance?

recept can promote in this way:

entry recept -> junior recept -> senior recept -> staff recept -> senior staff recept -> manager recept -> senior manager recept

:notti::rofl:

Why regret? I got many friends dying to work in banks.. Saying that working in banks like very power and classy.. :jawdrop:

You are from NUS ar?

No lah mine is private dgree...took from SIM...worthless piece of paper :notti:

Haiz...ppl from outside always think that banking jobs are very glam jobs....why got such thinking ah??

Banks inside got alot of sai to pick one leh....it's not power...it's not classy...it's just ****ty....

Ya lor...i rem when i got my first pay, it felt good to be able to spend my own money....

I haven't gotten any allowance from my parents since after sec sch....only except when i'm really really broke....

Ya man.. I remembered shopping with my own $$.. Super shiok.. I also stopped getting $$ from my parents after I started my 1st job.. Felt proud of myself..

hmm i like the way you the way you said.. :notti:

no lah.. we nv said... i dont like to say such things one.. today just happen that the juniors nv joined us for lunch.. just the pioneers.. :jawdrop:

:rofl: But I really felt that way.. Maybe becoz I had been through entry-level positions.. Slowly moving up.. Even though now still in very entry-level jobs, but I agar agar can tell the mindset of people..

And I am really glad that even though I am not as educated as Fifi or Air, I am blessed with a not-so-bad job complete with a ok-ok salary package..

That's why I feel that luck and opportunities play a big part in the career route..

No lah mine is private dgree...took from SIM...worthless piece of paper :jawdrop:

Haiz...ppl from outside always think that banking jobs are very glam jobs....why got such thinking ah??

Banks inside got alot of sai to pick one leh....it's not power...it's not classy...it's just ****ty....

agreed! i part-timed in a bank before after my 'A' levels

i dunno why the officers (deg grad) dun find it boring. everyday sign papers nia...

and banks have much more politics... coz women are bi tch y by nature. more women, more gossips :notti:

I agree education is impt lah....but study all the way to PHD without any working experience is not a very wise decision...cos by the time he comes out to work, already 30 yrs old...then no working experience, who will dare to emply him?? My colleague said he's afraid of coming out to work...what da?!?

Aiyoh he's a man leh...come on....:jawdrop:

I always believed in being street-smart, you can study until doctorate blah blah but come out stupid stupid also no use....:notti:

Ya i major in banking and finance.....which i regret....8|

got such thing one leh.. afraid to work.. he afraid of spending money or not.. 8|

i find banking and finance industry is really rat race... everyday see ppl fighting for this and that.. study this and that.. next week dinner tell you which company that i previously worked for.. :rofl:

Ya man.. I remembered shopping with my own $$.. Super shiok.. I also stopped getting $$ from my parents after I started my 1st job.. Felt proud of myself..

:notti: But I really felt that way.. Maybe becoz I had been through entry-level positions.. Slowly moving up.. Even though now still in very entry-level jobs, but I agar agar can tell the mindset of people..

And I am really glad that even though I am not as educated as Fifi or Air, I am blessed with a not-so-bad job complete with a ok-ok salary package..

That's why I feel that luck and opportunities play a big part in the career route..

u're getting a fabulous package!:jawdrop:

i oso considered abt job experience dat's why i rather study my masters degree part time than to do it full time

at least i can use either one to survive!

sounds like my fren's hubby in terms of work experience and education level

he's now working in govt agencies loh...

entry recept -> junior recept -> senior recept -> staff recept -> senior staff recept -> manager recept -> senior manager recept

:notti::rofl:

Wah lao.. The way it sounds.. Ma chiam being a recept is very glam sia.. But seriously, everyone in the company is doing the same things over the years.. The only thing that is changing is the pay..

Last year in Feb, there is a Manager-level lady who is doing exactly the same thing as what I am doing now.. But her pay is like 6k plus.. Just becoz she worked some time in the company liao..

For me, I don't mind doing the smae old things over a long period of time.. Coz I am afraid of changes.. As long as I am paid well, then ok lor.. 8|

No lah mine is private dgree...took from SIM...worthless piece of paper 8|

Ya lor.. I also used to have this kind of concept.. Coz banks managed to let ppl feel that it is glamorous to be part of the banking industry..

SIM also degree leh.. Still a paper to be proud of..

Btw, you are a banker right? :jawdrop:

:rofl:8|

manager recep?? 8|8| your own company huh? nv hear before lehh..

i agree with you.. i met good mentors but lack of luck and opportunities.. always lagging behind.. :jawdrop::notti:

got such thing one leh.. afraid to work.. he afraid of spending money or not.. 8|

i find banking and finance industry is really rat race... everyday see ppl fighting for this and that.. study this and that.. next week dinner tell you which company that i previously worked for.. :rofl:

You meant you used to work in a bank too?

u're getting a fabulous package!:jawdrop:

i oso considered abt job experience dat's why i rather study my masters degree part time than to do it full time

at least i can use either one to survive!

Ok lar.. nothing much to be joyful about.. My friends who studied higher also got the same pay mah.. I am just being lucky.. Hopefully, will have pay increment in June.. :notti:

SIM also degree leh.. Still a paper to be proud of..

Btw, you are a banker right? :jawdrop:

degree useless one.. is like a baseline there.. ppl wants local grad.. honours somemore.. still got quite a no. of companies whereby they dont accept pte degrees.. :notti::rofl: