Phantom

Housewarming Invite

haiz.. just talk to my friend.. one by one going to continue study, what CFA lah, master lah.. i feel peer pressure leh.. like everyone so kiasu.. then i am still in starting point... stressss...

why need to keep studying ahh.. getting all the certs.. :furious:

Ya lor...ppl around me also taking masters lah..CFA lah...I really don't wish to study anymore...beri tired liao...actually i dun understand why the he ll everybody taking CFA.....it used to be a very specialised qualification but now everybody sees everybody else taking, they also go and take.....what's the use if yoru work has totally no relation to that at all??

Singapore is really a paper-chase country....everybody chasing for that piece of paper....:furious:

:furious:

haiz.. just talk to my friend.. one by one going to continue study, what CFA lah, master lah.. i feel peer pressure leh.. like everyone so kiasu.. then i am still in starting point... stressss...

why need to keep studying ahh.. getting all the certs.. :furious:

hubby was telling me to go take another masters last nite

i told him i rather he kill me :P

i'm actually tinking of continuing my japanese course once i settled down in my new place :notti:

studying is good for the sake of having more knowledge. but dun focus entirely on the certs...

i told him i rather he kill me :furious:

i'm actually tinking of continuing my japanese course once i settled down in my new place :furious:

studying is good for the sake of having more knowledge. but dun focus entirely on the certs...

But unfortunately, employers in singapore focus on qualifications first then experience...quite sad actually....got very high qualification but no experience also no use...

Ya lor...ppl around me also taking masters lah..CFA lah...I really don't wish to study anymore...beri tired liao...actually i dun understand why the he ll everybody taking CFA.....it used to be a very specialised qualification but now everybody sees everybody else taking, they also go and take.....what's the use if yoru work has totally no relation to that at all??

Singapore is really a paper-chase country....everybody chasing for that piece of paper....:furious:

hey Air, i totally agree with you.. my previous company, big boss will keep asking ppl to take cfa at least level 1.. i thinking those ppl already having finance degree, somemore doing backend job.. i tot cfa is suitable for those front end jobs like investment bankers? it seems defeated the purpose of have a cfa.

haiz.. i just told my colleague yesterday that sg ppl really ming ku, not only must excel in job, in career, also have to take part time studies..

i told him i rather he kill me :P

i'm actually tinking of continuing my japanese course once i settled down in my new place :notti:

jap is different thing.. this one is more like enrichment type..

But unfortunately, employers in singapore focus on qualifications first then experience...quite sad actually....got very high qualification but no experience also no use...

ya lor.. my sis bf say want to continue study masters in aussie.. my sis shoot back.. may as well stay there dont come back. keep studying with no experience got what use.. :furious:

hey Air, i totally agree with you.. my previous company, big boss will keep asking ppl to take cfa at least level 1.. i thinking those ppl already having finance degree, somemore doing backend job.. i tot cfa is suitable for those front end jobs like investment bankers? it seems defeated the purpose of have a cfa.

haiz.. i just told my colleague yesterday that sg ppl really ming ku, not only must excel in job, in career, also have to take part time studies..

Ya CFA too specialised....unless you are thinking of moving into front end jobs in investment banking, otherwise CFA is useless....the full course not cheap and not easy to pass....

Language courses are more of interest I would say....I also wana take french....but too lazy...:furious:

ya lor.. my sis bf say want to continue study masters in aussie.. my sis shoot back.. may as well stay there dont come back. keep studying with no experience got what use.. :furious:

Ya my colleague's bf also...he's now in NUS studying degree...and in dean's list kinda student....then he said after uni come out, wana continue masters....eventually wana study until PHD....siao....study so much but zero working experience, who will want to hire you?? got PHD, ppl cannot give u too low pay....but then only fresh grad....employers won't even consider....too over qualified but no experience.....so in his case, i think that piece of paper he's aiming at will be useless unless he accumulates some working experience...

I'm not against aiming for higher education but some ppl just follow it too blindly....they just think that they keep studying and studying.....for what?!

Ya CFA too specialised....unless you are thinking of moving into front end jobs in investment banking, otherwise CFA is useless....the full course not cheap and not easy to pass....

Language courses are more of interest I would say....I also wana take french....but too lazy...:furious:

then my friend replied that inorder to stay in finance line must have CFA.. what kind of logic is that..

french, difficult to find classes eh.. my friend signed up and the incharge say not enough students cannot start.. :furious:

as for me, of coz i am new in shipping line lah.. i giving myself around 6 mths, which is after my wedding.. see if there is any suitable course for me to gain knowledge on shipping line..

then my friend replied that inorder to stay in finance line must have CFA.. what kind of logic is that..

french, difficult to find classes eh.. my friend signed up and the incharge say not enough students cannot start.. :~

as for me, of coz i am new in shipping line lah.. i giving myself around 6 mths, which is after my wedding.. see if there is any suitable course for me to gain knowledge on shipping line..

Har?? in order to stay in finance line must accumulate more working experience and know how the industry works and whole operations works....CFA alone won't be able to provide u with this kinda knowledge....beri shallow thinking leh...

My company can sponsor the french courses for free provided we hv at least 80% attendance....hehe...:P

I procrastinated for 2 yrs liao.....:P

Ya my colleague's bf also...he's now in NUS studying degree...and in dean's list kinda student....then he said after uni come out, wana continue masters....eventually wana study until PHD....siao....study so much but zero working experience, who will want to hire you?? got PHD, ppl cannot give u too low pay....but then only fresh grad....employers won't even consider....too over qualified but no experience.....so in his case, i think that piece of paper he's aiming at will be useless unless he accumulates some working experience...

I'm not against aiming for higher education but some ppl just follow it too blindly....they just think that they keep studying and studying.....for what?!

agree with you.. :P

i actually look high on those really earn big bucks. No need to have power or high status. I think i see money more than education. haha..

My company can sponsor the french courses for free provided we hv at least 80% attendance....hehe...:~

I procrastinated for 2 yrs liao.....:P

80% is how many ppl? quick go find ppl attend.. :P i think i need to go take cooking class lor.. :P

Language courses are more of interest I would say....I also wana take french....but too lazy...:P

my fren's hubby oso after getting PhD then go to work. i tink these grp higher chance is to get a job in the govt sector loh.

my hubby signed up for dunno wat CFA or watever course before oso. no time to study. tink he took the first exam then never continue. coz fail :P

agree with you.. :P

i actually look high on those really earn big bucks. No need to have power or high status. I think i see money more than education. haha..

80% is how many ppl? quick go find ppl attend.. :~ i think i need to go take cooking class lor.. :P

same as me....i admire those ppl who earn big bucks...look at bill gates...he didn't hv much education but he's one of the world's richest....

the class sure got one....i mean out of all the classes, i must attend at least 80% in order to get full refund from company...

Hey ya i wana take cooking class also leh....i dun wana torture my hubby anymore :P

i oso dun mind taking cooking class :P

but i wont fry food next time when i'm staying on my own. most likely will boil or steam. used to eating that already :~

my fren's hubby oso after getting PhD then go to work. i tink these grp higher chance is to get a job in the govt sector loh.

my hubby signed up for dunno wat CFA or watever course before oso. no time to study. tink he took the first exam then never continue. coz fail :deal:

Ya lor...this kind i think private sector don't dare to employ them....

I also took one dealer exam before and nvr continue cos fail also....haha :P

same as me....i admire those ppl who earn big bucks...look at bill gates...he didn't hv much education but he's one of the world's richest....

the class sure got one....i mean out of all the classes, i must attend at least 80% in order to get full refund from company...

:deal: "torture" leh.. what a strong word.. :P

hmm.. maybe we can go togther?? living in the same area.. can go CC learn.. haha

i oso dun mind taking cooking class :P

but i wont fry food next time when i'm staying on my own. most likely will boil or steam. used to eating that already :P

I also won't fry food in my own house cos very oily and very difficult to clean....:notti:

I also prefer steamed food...at most light stir fry....:deal:

Where got hands-on classes? i don't want those pay money attend liao then see teacher cook we copy notes leh....:notti: